VeganMoFo: Iron Chef Challenge #2

I found out about the first VeganMoFo Iron Chef Challenge after the fact, since I came in late on VeganMoFo.  I was excited to participate in the second challenge, but I had no idea that the whole thing happened over the weekend!  I already had food and plans set for the weekend.  But the secret ingredients for Don’t Eat Off The Sidwalk’s Iron Chef Challenge #2got inside my head, and I came up with what I thought was a pretty good idea.  So even though I’m way too late to enter the challenge, I give you “Roasted Pears & Brussels Sprouts with Sausage, Mashed Purple Potatoes & Miso Cashew Gravy”.  It’s pretty much fall on a plate.

This was my first time eating purple potatoes, and by golly are they fantastic.  I’m normally a chunky mashed potato type of girl, but I was feeling smooth today, and when whipped in the food processor they took on this gooey texture that worked really well.  And the gravy is kind of amazing, I think at least.  If you’re not up for the whole recipe at least give the gravy a try!  It kind of almost tastes like turkey gravy, I had bf try it to double check.  He says it’s kind of sweet, which I didn’t notice.  I used a mild, sweet miso so I’m sure different misos would yield different results.  Oh, and it’s okay if the pears aren’t completely ripe, they’ll soften up in the oven.

Roasted Pears & Brussels Sprouts with Sausage, Mashed Purple Potatoes & Miso Cashew Gravy

Notes:  The VWAV tempeh sausage crumbles are pretty heavily spiced, so if you prefer a milder sausage use Gimme Lean or reduce the spices added to the tempeh crumbles.  If you like chunky mashed potatoes then just mash manually instead of processing.  I made this for lunch, so it makes four servings of a smaller sized meal.  For a full meal serve with a soup or salad, perhaps my Roasted Garlic, Butternut Squash and Carrot Soup with Caramelized Onions?

1 lb brussels sprouts, trimmed and halved
2 bartlett pears, cored & cut into roughly 1/2 to 1-inch pieces
2 Tbs olive oil
1 lb purple potatoes, washed and cut into chunks
1/2 c almond milk
3/4 tsp kosher salt
1/2 recipe VWAV tempeh sausage crumbles or 1/2 tube Gimme Lean Sausage, prepared
1/2 c cashews
1 c water
1 1/2 c almond milk
2 Tbs miso
1 Tbs nutritional yeast
2 Tbs cornstarch or arrowroot
1/2 tsp white pepper
1/2 tsp onion powder
1/2 tsp kosher salt

1. Preheat oven to 400F. Put brussels sprouts and pears in a bowl, drizzle olive oil over them and stir gently to combine. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil, and pour in the brussels and pears, spreading to a single layer as much as possible. Cook for 40 minutes, stirring once halfway through.
2. Meanwhile, put the potatoes in a large pot and cover with water. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to medium-high and cook for 10 minutes or until done. Drain, put potatoes in a food processor and let sit a few minutes to cool. Add 1/2 c almond milk and 3/4 tsp salt and process until smooth.
3. Place cashews and water in a blender and blend until smooth. Add remaining ingredients (1 1/2 c almond milk through 1/2 tsp salt) and blend to mix. Pour gravy into a medium saucepan, bring to a boil then reduce heat to medium-high. Cook until reduced, whisking often.
4. Transfer brussels, pears and sausage to a bowl and stir to combine. Plate with mashed potatoes and cover everything with gravy.

Serves 4.

13 Comments »

  1. mihl said

    Your idea should win an award! Looks fantastic.
    Yeah, I was also too late for that challenge twice.

  2. what a great creation. And the purple potatoes! I had no idea they would actually remain so purple after cooking.

  3. Ricki said

    Oh my goodness does this sound fantastic! I love the idea of the pears with the brussels sprouts–and that gravy! You’re right, this seems like the perfect fall meal on a plate. And aren’t we lucky you posted anyway, iron chef challenge be damned!

  4. VeggieGirl said

    Those Roasted Pears & Brussels Sprouts sound soooo delectable; and the purple mashed potatoes are quite intriguing!!

  5. Yay for purple food!

  6. Jennifer said

    I am loving the combination of flavors here Erin – this sounds wonderful. I had purple potatoes once this summer – we fried ’em, and they were damn tasty. That gravy sounds great too. Late or not, I think this is a top notch dish!

  7. Vegannifer said

    Great job on this meal! I love brussels and sausage together and think pears would only make those two taste better! Thanks for the gravy idea, too. It all sounds so delicious!

  8. Lauren said

    that looks so deliciously awesome! haha
    and purple potatoes, how pretty. I don’t think i’ve seen those in the stores around here…

  9. Nikki said

    Looks great funny but I made purple potato salad tonight! That’s not something you see everyday!

  10. KarynMC said

    Oooh. I adore purple potatoes! hopefully I can do the next challenge …

  11. melisser said

    Whoooa, yes! When can I come over for dinner? hahaha.

  12. I love purple potatoes! A few years ago I grew them in the garden and couldn’t believe all the fun they were. Delicious!

  13. Dude, late or not, you should win! This looks so good….miso cashew gravy sounds to die for and I love the savory/sweet roasted pears, brussels, and sausage.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment