First Fall Flavors = Soup

I have good news and bad news.  The bad news is that after only two and a half weeks at my job, I was laid off.  More than not having income, the bad part is that this will hold up our progress on finding a place to live.  We’re tired of being homeless!

The good news is that while I’m looking for a job (again) I’ll have time to cook.  For the past few weeks I’ve started to notice the pumpkins and fall produce in stores, unable to make anything with them.  I feel like I’ve been missing out on a whole season’s worth of produce.  In reality, it’s only been a few weeks and I’m just being dramatic.

I’m sure we’ve all had creamy butternut squash soups, but I was craving it bigtime so soup is what you get.  I think this one was pretty special though, as three certified meat eating boys all agreed that it was quite tasty.

Roasted Garlic, Butternut Squash and Carrot Soup with Caramelized Onions

1 medium butternut squash, seeded, peeled and diced into 1-inch cubes
3/4 lb (12 oz) baby carrots
8 cloves garlic, peeled
olive oil
1 large sweet onion, sliced thinly
3 cups vegetable broth
1/2 tsp curry powder
1/4 tsp coriander
1/4 tsp turmeric
dash cayenne pepper
kosher salt
freshly ground black pepper
paprika

1. Preheat oven to 400F. Place squash, carrots and garlic on a roasting pan covered with aluminum foil. Drizzle on a few Tbs olive oil and stir to coat. Cook for 25 minutes, stirring once after 15 minutes. Let cool.
2. Meanwhile, heat 1 Tbs olive in a large pot. Add sliced onion and turn heat to low. Cook onions, stirring frequently, until soft and caramelized, 30 minutes or more. Remove onions from the pot.
3. Transfer half the roasted vegetables to a blender, add half of the broth and puree. Pour into the pot used to cook the onions. Put the other half of the vegetables and broth in the blender and add most of the caramelized onions, reserving a few for garnish. Puree and pour into the pot.
4. Add the seasonings (curry powder through cayenne pepper), stir, and heat soup until warmed through. Add salt and pepper to taste.
5. Garnish each bowl with caramelized onions, paprika and more black pepper.

Makes 5-6 servings as a side.

While you’re at it, why not roast some brussel sprouts?

18 Comments »

  1. evestirs said

    sorry about the job, i know how stressful that can be 😦

    thanks for the soup recipe, if “three certified meat eating boys all agreed that it was quite tasty” than hopefully it’ll satisfy 1 boy just as well

  2. Megan said

    Love this, especially the carmalized onions!

    Sorry about the job! I hope you find something soon!

  3. melisser said

    Mmm, that looks SO good. I ADORE Brussels Sprouts, we’ve been eating them for weeks already!

  4. VeggieGirl said

    BEST of luck with your job search!!

    FABULOUS FOOD!!! Yum.

  5. I’m so sorry about your bad news. Hopefully you can find a BETTER job! And in the meantime, taking advantage of fall’s amazing veggies sounds like a job in itself… and a fun one at that!

  6. Diann said

    That recipe looks delicious. You got the soup a beautiful color with the carrots and tumeric added – yum!

  7. caramelized onions in a pumpkin soup? let me tell you… you’re a genius!
    I’m also looking for a job again. Good luck for both of us!

  8. jessy said

    sorry about the job! that really stinks. i bet you’ll find something super soon!

    wow, your soup looks awesome! and you know it’s extra awesome when the meat lovers like it so much! yay!

    roasted brussel sprouts are my absolute favorite & yours look perfect!

  9. That is a bummer about the job – but it just means that something better is coming your way!

    The soup looks amazing and I love love love brussel sprouts

  10. So colorful!

  11. Jennifer said

    I would eat soup and brussels sprouts for dinner in a hearbeat! Beautiful food!

  12. chowvegan said

    Sorry to hear about the job, hope you find a new one soon. Awesome looking soup, such a beautiful color! 🙂

  13. Carrie said

    Sorry to hear about your job. But that soup looks amazing…I adore carmelized onions and squash.

  14. Damn, that really sucks about the job. I’m sure it’s really hard living in limbo like that. Hopefully you’ll find something else soon that you like even better. The soup looks great though!

  15. shellyfish said

    I’m so sorry about your job- I hope you find something great quickly. The soup sure does look delicious, though!

  16. Mandee said

    Sorry to hear about the job, I am sure you will find another one v.v.soon.
    And I like the look of those b’sprouts!

  17. […] Notes:  The VWAV tempeh sausage crumbles are pretty heavily spiced, so if you prefer a milder sausage use Gimme Lean or reduce the spices added to the tempeh crumbles.  If you like chunky mashed potatoes then just mash manually instead of processing.  I made this for lunch, so it makes four servings of a smaller sized meal.  For a full meal serve with a soup or salad, perhaps my Roasted Garlic, Butternut Squash and Carrot Soup with Caramelized Onions? […]

  18. […] needs to be peeled before eating, and you can treat it almost exactly the same as pumpkin.  This Roasted Garlic, Butternut Squash and Carrot Soup with Caramelized Onions is really tasty.  I included baby carrots only because that’s what I had in the fridge at […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

