VeganMoFo: OBR Week – Diet, Dessert & Dogs

I’m checking in late to get this post in on time!  For my fourth OBR feature, I chose Ricki from Diet, Dessert and Dogs.  I’ve been reading Ricki’s blog for quite some time now, and I find it a personal abomination that I don’t have her cookbook Sweet Freedom yet.  Ricki is a master of both baking and cooking, and she details her struggles and triumphs dealing with an anti-candida diet.  She is an eloquent writer with a fun story to go along with every kitchen adventure, and I always look forward to reading her posts.  She makes wheat-, egg-, dairy- and sugar-free look goooooood!

I’d like to say that Ricki’s recipe index made choosing easy, but every dish on the list sounded so fantastic that it was quite difficult.  I went with her Apple and Red Wine Soup and Nut Roast Extraordinaire.

This soup was very easy to prepare, and I had high hopes, as it kind of looked and smelled like apple caramel while it was simmering.  Sadly, it’s not my favorite.  It had a good balance of acid, fat, sweet, and apple flavor, but for some reason it just wasn’t up my alley.  That doesn’t mean you shouldn’t try it!  Sorry Ricki!  It’s not you, it’s me!

It turned out to be okay that I didn’t favor the soup, because this nut roast is one of the best things I’ve ever eaten.  Seriously, I’ve had some good stuff in my days, but Ricki’s nut roast is out-of-this-world delicious.  It’s savory and mushroom-y and soft in the middle and crusty on the outside, and I want to marry it.  I went back for seconds, which is a rarity for me.  Then I added up the calorie count and kind of wished I hadn’t had seconds: 445 calories for a 1/8 loaf slice.  No wonder it tastes so darned good!  Regardless, I will definitely keep this recipe on hand for special occasions.  In fact, I froze two slices to have as my Thanksgiving entree in a few weeks.  Oh, and it was easy to boot.  You saute some stuff, you food process some stuff, then you mix it together and put it in the oven and magic happens.

(Note:  I don’t advocate calorie counting in general, but I’m doing it right now as a measure to keep an eye on portion control.  I definitely do not recommend it as a regular practice!)

You can support Ricki by buying her cookbook (and getting an extra copy for me), her e-books, or helping her get on the Ellen Show.  At the very least, make the nut roast!  You won’t be sorry.

9 Comments »

  1. Ricki said

    Thanks for the links–all of them!! 😉 And too bad you didn’t enjoy the soup. It’s seriously one of my all-time favorites. Did you use wine or cranberry juice? My hubby had the wine and I had the juice, but I’m now thinking mine may have been better anyway. And glad you liked the nut roast! I’d forgotten about that recipe. . . and it’s gluten free, too, so I can even have some! Yes, it’s pretty rich–I think I’ll save it for my holiday, too. :). Thanks for this lovely review and shout-out!

  2. jessy said

    i’m sorry Ricki’s soup was a bit disappointing, Erin. it looks great though, and one would think that it smelling like apple caramel would result in total deliciousness. dan and i attempted a white wine sauce last week and we were not fans. i think for me, i’m not the biggest cook’n with wine kinda gal. i read Ricki’s comment above – if i give this soup a whirl i’ll take her advice and try cranberry juice. yum! isn’t Ricki’s nut roast the yummiest?! i bought her ACD holiday ebook last year and it was the first thing i made. i didn’t last but 2 days – it was sooooo goooooood! the flavors are somethin’ else – absolutely awesome!

    happy friday & i hope your weekend is filled with all kinds of delicious eats!

  3. Kiersten said

    I am saving that Nutroast recipe after hearing you say how good it is. So far I’ve loved every one of Ricki’s recipes that I’ve tried.

  4. chow vegan said

    I’ll have to check out the cookbook, I haven’t heard of it before but that nut roast sure looks yummy! I don’t usually count calories either but I do like to know if I’m eating something high in calories so I don’t go overboard. 🙂

  5. Ari said

    I also made the soup, last year for Christmas, and it was such a disaster! It tasted like hot apple sauce, and was mostly just confusing for everyone. I think the main problem are the measurements, because apples differ in size so much.

  6. amey said

    wow, that’s awesome that your nutroast was such a stand out. Fantastic! I’m still undecided for thanksgiving this year, so I’ll keep it in mind. And, I totally agree with you that Ricki is awesome!

  7. […] entree was the Nut Roast Extraordinaire that I froze a few weeks ago, on the plate with corn and Our Veggie Kitchen’s Turkey Gravy.  […]

  8. […] Crunk Oh She Glows HappyVeganFace Diet, Dessert & Dogs Choosing […]

  9. […] from Vegan Homemade has been busy in the kitchen trying out a whole whack of DDD recipes! First up, she tried out […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

