VeganMoFo: Other Bloggers’ Recipes Week – Peas & Thank You

I had such a great time with Other Bloggers’ Recipes Week during VeganMoFo last year that I brought it back!  I read tons of blogs on a regular basis and save links to recipes that look good, but never seem to get around to making them.  So, this week I’ve chosen five of my favorite bloggers and made one or two of their recipes.

Posts from last year’s OBR Week:

Vegan Crunk
Oh She Glows
HappyVeganFace
Diet, Dessert & Dogs
Choosing Raw

For my first OBR feature this year I chose Peas & Thank You.  Mama Pea’s site is an entertaining and charming blog, documenting life with her family and their delicious meals.  I chose two recipes which caught my eye the day they were published.

First up is Summer Succotash Quesadillas with Nacho Mmmm Sauce.  The Nacho Mmmm sauce is an adaptation of her original Mmmm Sauce, which also sounds delicious.  These quesadillas were just as good as I expected.  The sauteed onion, zucchini, corn and red bell pepper were a great textural addition to the gooey quesadillas, which I made with Daiya Pepperjack.  The Nacho Mmmm sauce on top was like guilding a lily; deliciousness on deliciousness.  I loved how quick and easy this recipe was to make, and I suspect that most of her other recipes are easy to make as well.

I also made Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls to take along to a friend’s house one NFL Sunday.  I made my balls smaller than called for, and ended up with about three dozen.

Out of the oven the centers were a little undercooked, but after cooling the dough balls were perfectly soft set.  The peanut butter/chocolate balance was great, and these dangerous little cookies were all too easy to eat.

Mama Pea recently published a cookbook.  It was already on my to-buy list, but after making these great recipes it’s moving up toward the top!

4 Comments »

  1. chow vegan said

    I’ll have to look for that cookbook, can’t have too many quick and easy recipes. The cookie dough balls look great and I like that you can downsize them too. 🙂

  2. I love that cookbook – I don’t think I’ve ever cooked so many things out of one cookbook in my life and I’m always going back for more. 🙂 I actually haven’t tried the succotash yet (I have the sauce in the fridge and those dough balls are to die for!), still on my “to cook” list. 🙂

  3. Mandee said

    I have bookmarked the Mmmm sauce recipe, it looks really good!

  4. Esther said

    Thanks for sharing the cookie ball link – they look great!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

