Corn Chowder

I was a little broke last week, and didn’t go to the grocery store for a while.  So I made a trip today and stocked back up on both fresh food and some pantry staples.

groceries

The plastic tub on the left is organic raisins, and the bags on the right are from the bulk bins – nutritional yeast, flax seeds, almonds and pistachios.  I spent more than I wanted to, but this plus what’s in the fridge should last me quite a while.  And the only real splurge is the Tings.  I can’t pass a bag of Tings without buying them, so it’s kind of a good thing that the store rarely stocks them.

I used some of these groceries plus some of the veggie stock I made Sunday to make VWAV Corn Chowder.  It’s really good.  There is a corn chowder recipe in VCON too, but I went with what I saw as the “classic”.  I was worried that the rosemary would be too strong, but everything blended really nicely.  The recipe says it’s even better the next day, so I’m looking forward to tomorrow.

corn chowder

I love that this is so healthy.  Only a tablespoon of oil in the whole thing.  I ate it with Lightlife Fakin’ Bacon strips.

corn chowder

6 Comments »

  1. ashley 79 said

    I’ve been eyeing that corn chowder for awhile. I’m trying to hold out until I can get some fresh sweet corn later in the season (but it feels like it’s sooooo long away!) Do you think it would be good enough to serve omni’s? I’m hoping to get my family to try it if it really is that good!

  2. FOOD TRANCE! << said

    Looks amazing! I have a version as well that I do is pureed.
    Thanks for the post!

    /F/T/

    i also added your site to mine! Hope that is ok?>

  3. veganhomemade said

    Food Trance, thanks for adding me! I’ll add you here too.

    Ashley, I think it would depend. It’s a really good-tasting soup, but it’s not very rich as is. Some might think it tastes “vegan”, if you know what I mean. So if you were making it for people who are used to food with more than 1 Tbs fat in the whole recipe, I might suggest adding coconut milk instead of the soy milk or something like that. That might knock their socks off 🙂

  4. It seems like we vegans go crazy at the grocery store – I always spent more than I want, too! It’s just like eating at a veg restaurant. All the choices are so overwhelming and I just want everything!

    I am kicking myself for discovering Fakin’ Bacon so late in the game… I really, really like that stuff!

    And I’m so glad you enjoyed my Disney guide. I was hoping some people would actually be able to use it instead of the guide being a lot of “show off” posts to make people jealous of the trip, haha.

  5. Jennifer said

    I love seeing what people get from the grocery store!

    That soup looks fantastic!

  6. veganhomemade said

    Ruby Red Vegan – It’s so true! The few times I’ve been to a restaurant with more than one vegan option I’ve been mad that I couldn’t get everything.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

