Three-Cheese Spinach, Mushroom & Sausage Lasagna

As another use for my ever-shrinking log of Teese, last night I made lasagna.  I layered homemade chunky marinara (with celery and green pepper), uncooked whole wheat lasagna noodles, tofu ricotta from the Unstuffed Shells recipe in Vegan Vittles, frozen thawed spinach, baby bella mushrooms, leftover VWAV tempeh sausage crumbles from last week, almond parmesan and shredded Teese.

Here’s one of the inside layers, I thought it was pretty.

lasagna

Just out of the oven.

lasagna

lasagna

I also made Cauliflower Leek Puree.  I discovered leeks last week and now I want to put them in everything.  For the puree, I boiled a chopped head of cauliflower and the green parts of the leek, sliced, for 15 minutes.  I drained it, whizzed it in the food processor with a dash of rice milk, a couple Tbs Earth Balance, salt, white pepper and a dash of nutmeg.  It was really nice, and easy to make for sure.

Here’s the pan after I ate two pieces for dinner, gave two pieces to bf, and packed a piece for lunch today.

lasagna

After I finally ate dinner last night just after 9PM, I remembered why I rarely make lasagna.  Firstly, it takes so long to make!  Sure, if I used jarred sauce instead of homemade I could shaved off 45 minutes, and also I’m so OCD about equal distribution of ingredients that it took me over a half hour just to assemble.  Then an hour to bake and cool.  Okay, so it takes ME so long to make.  A normal person could probably accomplish it in half the time.

My other problem is that it’s so dang delicious that I want to eat it all up, quick.  I already had another piece after lunch today!

Problems aside, this is the best vegan lasagna I have ever made, so hopefully when I have it in me to make it again in about a year it will be just as good.

5 Comments »

  1. Romina said

    I’m craving lasagna now!!!

  2. VeggieGirl said

    Wow, what a lasagna!! Looks like it’s PACKED with flavor – yum!

    That Cauliflower-Leek puree looks intriguing!

  3. It sure looks great! And three different vegan cheese types? wow, it’s probably a record for a vegan! hehe

  4. Jennifer said

    That lasagna looks gorgeous. I’d happily take any leftovers off your hand.

    I’m a bit OCD about my lasagna too, I rarely make it because I tend to go over board and try to stuff to much into it.

    I really wish we could find Teese around here. It melts!

  5. Carla said

    I love leeks to bits myself. In anything and everything! I find they can be quite expensive here though so are an occasional treat!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

