VeganMoFo: Seitan Hot Dog

I love veggie dogs, any brand really, but they’re very much the definition of processed food, which I try to avoid.  I also really like seitan or soy sausages like Field Roast and Tofurky, but they tend to be a little calorie-heavy for what I want in one sandwich.  So when I saw the Seitan Hot Dog recipe on My Vegan Cookbook, I knew I’d be making it for tailgating season.  I really enjoy My Vegan Cookbook’s recipes; he doesn’t post very often, but when he does you can tell he’s put a lot of work into perfecting the recipe.

The dogs steamed up perfectly, with a firm but smooth texture.  The beans and wheat germ make them more tender than sausages made from just wheat gluten, and the nutritional yeast, liquid smoke and other seasonings give it a nice savory flavor.  They don’t taste quite as hot-doggy as the commercial variety, but they do taste great!  When I make them again, my one change will be to leave out the Old Bay.  I love Old Bay in general, but the celery seed flavor didn’t jive with everything else in my opinion.

with ketchup, mustard, relish, and grilled onions & peppers

They grill up beautifully, and freeze very well.  For tailgates I would take one out of the freezer in the morning and put it in the cooler.  By the time it was time to cook it would have thawed just enough.

As suggested in the recipe, I used the rest of the beans to make a chili dog (bowl), scooped up with toast points because we ran out of buns.

4 Comments »

  1. Mihl said

    Those hot dogs look wonderful! Their texture reminds me of store bought sausages and I have never been able to replicate that. Gotta check out the recipe!

  2. Amey said

    Wow! The texture looks totally spot on. I recently fell in love with the new Field Roast Frankfurters though, so until I use up the package of those in my freezer, I can’t be home making more! Ha ha. I love that you are blogging!

  3. These do look ridiculously “hot-doggy”! I’d love to make them, especially as it’s been forever since I’ve made seitan sausages but can’t get the specific beans called for over here 😦

    • I’m sure any type of chili beans would work, or barring that plain white beans maybe with some ketchup and vegan Worcestershire?

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

