VeganMoFo: Flavor Bible Week – Scandinavian

When I flipped open the Flavor Bible for my third selection, I was surprised to see Scandinavian cuisine.  I know I like the Norway ride at Epcot, but I don’t know a thing about Scandinavian cuisine.  And, I wouldn’t say I know any more about it having made this recipe!

(not easy to get a good picture of a jar of pickled carrots)

In living up to the nature of Flavor Bible Week, I just put some of the flavor matches together and came up with a recipe.  Four of the flavors listed were cardamom, cinnamon, ginger and juniper berries, and to me they just screamed “Pickle something!”.

Sweet & Spicy Scandinavian-ish Quick Pickled Carrots

These carrots were even more tasty than I expected!  They are a bit sweet and very tangy, and there is an strong underlying flavor of spice without any of the spices overpowering another.  They are best straight out of the brine, with a little still clinging to the carrots.

Equipment needed:  quart-sized mason jar or heat-proof bowl.

1 lb carrots, peeled & cut into sticks no more than 1/2-inch wide
1 cup water
1 cup white vinegar
1/4 cup sugar
1 Tbs salt
3 cardamom pods
1 cinnamon stick
2 whole cloves
4 juniper berries
clove garlic, smashed
1 tsp chopped fresh ginger

1. Place the carrot sticks in the jar or heat-proof bowl.
2. Bring all other ingredients (water through garlic) to a boil in a small saucepan.  Remove from the heat and allow to cool for a few minutes.
3. Carefully and slowly pour the brine over the carrots, and allow to cool to room temperature.  Seal the jar or cover the bowl with plastic wrap, and refrigerate overnight.
4. Eat within a month.

Servings: 8

Amount Per Serving
Calories 57.4
Calories From Fat (3%) 1.65
% Daily Value
Total Fat 0.23g <1%
Saturated Fat 0.04g <1%
Cholesterol 0mg 0%
Sodium 913.33mg 38%
Potassium 216.5mg 6%
Total Carbohydrates 15.08g 5%
Fiber 2.58g 10%
Sugar 8.94g
Protein 0.63g 1%

7 Comments »

  1. Cool! I’m from Sweden, so it’s really fun to see people attempting Scandinavian cooking. It’s pretty weird that cardamom and cinnamon are typical for Scandinavia, since it absolutely not grow here, but it is used quite often in baked goods anyway. Juniper berries on the other hand, grows in abundance and I really love cooking with it!

  2. Mandee said

    I’ve never pickled anything but I’d really like to try so thanks for including your recipe/method

  3. jessy said

    me too, Erin – i don’t know a thing about Scandinavian eats either, but those pickled carrots look really awesome! i picked radishes once and loved them the most – since i adore carrots too i’m gonna give this a go. all i need are juniper berries and cardamom pods. w00t!

  4. Coooool! This sounds way better than the bonus carrots you sometimes get in jars of pickled peppers etc. Thanks for sharing!

  5. […] I used some spelt flour in combination with all purpose because I thought the nutty flavor would go well with the rest of the ingredients.  I was worried about overworking the dough, as can happen with scones, but the consistency turned out great.  They’re soft and a bit crumbly but not heavy or too moist, and you get sweetness from the apples without adding very much sugar to the mix.  The rosemary turns into a background flavor, lacing an herbiness throughout.  One of these babies was hefty enough to stand in as my dinner one night, along with a banana and some carrot pickles. […]

  6. ameyfm said

    what a cool idea, these look and sound wonderful. I’m really interested in Juniper berries. That’s a flavor I’d like to explore some more. Where did you find them?

    • I think I found a little box of juniper berries at Farmer Joe’s in Oakland, any store with a well-stocked spice section should have ’em.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

