Nacho Regular Sunday Feast

Can you write a post about nachos without using a bad pun as the title?  I think not.

We tend to make a big deal about Sundays during the NFL season.  This year, Dave and I and a few friends decided to split up hosting duties so that nobody is stuck cooking and cleaning every weekend.  Dave and I took the first week and aimed to set the bar high!  In discussing what to serve, I suggested a nacho bar.  I don’t know where I got such an idea, but I was pretty chuffed with myself.  A make-your-own-plate setup allows for everyone to have exactly what they want.

Not one, but two kinds of salsa.

The bar – cilantro, jalapenos, tomatoes, roasted onions & peppers, olives, etc.  In the warmers are the meat and cheese, and homemade refried beans.  Refried beans are so easy to make, there’s no need to buy the canned kind.

Green toppings on the side.

This is the secret to delicious vegan nachos – Food for Lovers Queso.  I picked up this jar at Vida Vegan Con.  It’s free of fat, soy, nuts and dairy, and low cal to boot.  I’m in love.

In an attempt to keep it on the lighter side, I had a few tostadas instead of nachos.  They were loaded up with beans, roasted onions & peppers, queso, tomatoes, guacamole, salsa, lettuce and cilantro.  The combination of textures, temperatures and flavors was outstanding.

Bad cell phone picture of good friends.  Go Niners!

In other news, I’m participating in VeganMoFo with both this blog AND my other blog The Vegan Weight Watcher.  Because writing about vegan food almost every day in October on one blog isn’t enough of a challenge!  If you don’t know about VeganMoFo, check out the brand new website veganmofo.com!  Here on Vegan Homemade I’ll have a weekly theme, including cookbook reviews, other bloggers’ recipes, Flavor Bible flavor matches and cooking with forgotten pantry items.

8 Comments »

  1. Mihl said

    I wish you were my neighbour. I’d steal that bar.

  2. babette said

    What a feast, indeed! I’m very curious about trying the new Queso dip… everyone seems to rave about it.

  3. Brittany said

    Glad to hear you are going to be blogging in Mofo this year. Those salsa’s look really good!

    Take care!

  4. Ma said

    Great party food idea. Nice looking group of friends…and look who’s looking a little more slender! 🙂

  5. allysiak said

    That’s a really great idea, and I can’t think of anyone who wouldn’t be cool with a nacho bar. I’m going to keep that in mind for my family, because they have football parties all the time. I kinda don’t get the whole football thing, but it’s okay because I like eating, and football parties are also eating parties.

  6. chow vegan said

    You certainly set the bar high for the football parties, actually for any party. That nacho bar is such an awesome idea! Still gotta try that queso dip. 🙂

  7. Mandee said

    Hey Erin! 🙂 I love the idea of a nacho bar and everything you made looks fantastic, you can invite me round any time 😉

  8. Julie said

    Hi! You talk about how easy it is to make our own refried beans. Do you have a favorite recipe? I would very much like to make my own but have been disapointed with the recipes I tried until now.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

