Smoky Maple-Glazed Tempeh

I wanted my next post to be a big, awesome, comprehensive round up of Vida Vegan Con, but that’s just not going to happen for a while.  I haven’t had time to look over my notes, much less to look at others notes or some of the new websites I discovered.  If you’re looking for VVC coverage, search WordPress or Google blogs.  You’ll find much.

While I continue to contemplate Vida Vegan Con, I’ll show you my most excellent spur of the moment dinner last night.

I’m a big tempeh fan, so sauteeing or baking it is usually good enough for me.  Last night though, I was craving a smoky/sweet glazed tempeh.  This may not be the best dish for a tempeh newbie, although I like the toothsome nature of a big slab of soy.  If you’ve never had tempeh and aren’t so sure, try Don’t Eat Off the Sidewalk’s Tempeh Wings.  They are what hooked me for good.

To make this dish, I cut a block of tempeh into six pieces and marinated it in a nonstick saute pan with 2 Tbs maple syrup, 1 Tbs olive oil, 1 Tbs tamari, 1/4 tsp liquid smoke, a little drizzle of balsamic vinegar and water to bring it halfway up the tempeh.  Marinated for about an hour, flipping the tempeh halfway through.  Put the pan with the tempeh and marinade over medium-high heat and bring to a boil.  Turn the heat down to a simmer and let simmer until the liquid is reduced by about half.  Flip the tempeh pieces over and continue to simmer until the liquid is reduced to a glaze.  Flip again to glaze the other side.  Watch the marinade carefully, as the glaze can reduce quickly toward the end of cooking.  Enjoy!

7 Comments »

  1. Yum!! That looks sooooo good. I love Don’t Eat Off the Sidewalk’s wings recipe, and I’m sure I’m love this. Sounds bacon-y!

    Btw, I’m missing you and your navigational skills. Since I’ve been home (and lost around town), I’ve tried to follow the blue dot … but to no avail. 😦

  2. babette said

    I want to make these… I haven’t had tempeh in over a month I think!

  3. Meow said

    Do you steam your tempeh before you cook it?

    • I do sometimes, but I skip that step when I’m short on time. It’s definitely good to steam or simmer tempeh if you want it to be juicy, or to cut back on some of that tempeh flavor.

  4. I can’t find a way to dig tempeh… Brussell sprouts on the other hand… hubba hubba!! Haha.

  5. Wow! This look amazing! 😀
    It’s a pity that Tempeh is sooo hard to find here in Brazil :/ And Brussel Sprouts too…
    I wonder if this recipe works on tofu too!
    I’m following you, ok?
    Wish you the best!
    xx
    ♥♥♥

  6. chow vegan said

    Yum! That looks sooo good! Great idea to marinate in the same pan it’s going to be cooked in, saves washing another dish. 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

