Nature’s Express

In all my excitement about the 31 before 31 wrap up, I forgot to tell you about my super excellent post-hike meal.  I took a picnic and snack with me on the mountain, but quickly realized when I was driving home that I was famished, almost to the point of being sick.  I decided that a giant meal at Nature’s Express in Berkeley was exactly what I needed!  I had only been to Nature’s Express once just after they opened, so it was high time I tried it again.

Apple, kale and cucumber juice.  I was hoping for a green juice with a hint of apple, but this was quite the other way around.  Still tasty and hydrating!

I chose the Mushroom Cheese Burger with the Chik-Un patty, and air-baked sweet potato fries.  They make their own ketchup and mayo, which is pretty cool.

I know this picture isn’t very appetizing, but you can trust me that the burger was great.  Oddly, I didn’t really like the first few bites, but once I got into it I was very happy.  They grilled the chik-un patty well, so that some parts were charred and a little crispy.

I was definitely full enough that I didn’t need dessert, but…vegan soft serve!  And, the flavor of the day was vanilla-almond, which is right up my alley.  The flavor and texture of this soft serve was fantastic, and the ice cream headache was well worth it.

3 Comments »

  1. Kristen said

    I love Nature’s Express! I still need to try the soft serve though. Looks yum!

  2. Nichole said

    that all looks so amazing!

  3. If there’s vegan soft serve on the menu, that’s a must, if you ask me! Sounds great right about now… Good choices all around, sounds like a solid restaurant option.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

