VeganMoFo: Flavor Bible Week – Parsnips

For the final installation of Flavor Bible Week, I landed on pg 249, parsnips.  I’m no stranger to parsnips – I love them in a roasted root vegetable medley, or mashed with potatoes, so I tried to find a new way to use them.  In looking over the flavor matches, I noticed that parsnips pair well with some unexpected flavors, such as allspice, cinnamon, maple syrup, nutmeg and sugar.  This got me wondering if parsnip could be used in a sweet bread, and the answer is yes!

The first result in my google search for “parsnip bread” was this recipe for Spiced Parsnip Bread, so I went with it.  I decided to veganize the recipe into mini muffins so that it would bake faster and be easier to eat.

You honestly would never know there is shredded parsnip in these muffins!  Dave ate one and had no idea.  I think the trick is finely shredding it, and I will tell you that parsnips do not like to be finely shredded.  The fibrous little guys would have preferred to stay in one piece, but I persisted even though I was afraid of shredding one of my knuckles.  A shredder attachment for the food processor would have done the job much easier, but alas, I lost my shredder attachment long ago.

In veganizing the recipe, the only ingredient I had to worry about was the egg.  I planned to mix up an Ener-G egg replacer, and then realized I didn’t have any Ener-G, which lead me to ask “how long have I not had any Ener-G?”.  Crazy.  Then I contemplated a flax egg and decided I was feeling particularly lazy and didn’t add anything in place of the egg.  I subbed applesauce for 3 Tbs of the oil, and otherwise followed the recipe.  I added some extra almond milk to make up for the moisture lost in the egg, but the mixture was still way too dry!  So I added milk and stirred, added milk and stirred, and finally got the batter to a consistency where I could get it in to the muffin pans.

The taste, thankfully, was great!  The spice combination was really nice, and like I said, you couldn’t tell there were parsnips in them at all.  The texture, not so much, but that’s my fault for not putting in the effort of replacing the egg.  They were too dense to be considered a good muffin.  So, I’m not sharing a recipe, but I am here to tell you that you can use parsnip in quick bread recipes with excellent results.

Bonus snooping cat snapshot.  Look for the kitty ears…

6 Comments »

  1. Mandee said

    I love the kitty shot!

    And I’m impressed that you made parsnip muffins! I have to try this, I have 2 in the fridge that we were going to turn into chips but this sounds much better!

    Your flavour bible sounds like a hand book to have.

  2. Babette said

    I don’t like parsnips much, so I guess next time I have some in my CSA share, I’ll try baking muffins. Thanks for the tip!

  3. chow vegan said

    Love the kitty spying on the muffins! Great and inspired idea to use parsnips in muffins! 🙂

  4. jessy said

    never would have thought to use parsnips is something sweet – especially a muffin. brilliant & tasty, Erin! they’re so adorable, how awesome that the parnsip is undetectable, too. i do love me some parsnips and i’m gonna have to try something like this, and make mashed taters with some parnips smashed in as well. mmmmmm!

  5. Jessica said

    That sounds really interesting – I am new to parsnips, but I like them! Good work not shredding your knuckles, too. I only imagine how difficult it must be to shred parsnips.

  6. […] matches for each ingredient.  Last year Flavor Bible Week led to interesting experiments such as Parsnip Spice Muffins, Chestnut-Celeriac Soup, Bean Salad with Herbed Yogurt Dressing, the Lychee-Dori, and Mushroom, […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

