Veggies For Dinner

Sometimes all you need for dinner is a whole bunch of veggies.  I had some veggies on the verge of going bad, and we’re leaving for a short trip tomorrow, so dinner time was veggie time!

I started with an artichoke and sweet curried mustard.  The dip was just stone ground mustard, agave nectar, curry powder, turmeric and salt.

On the left is roasted root veggie puree – I roasted some turnips, daikon radishes, carrots and garlic in olive oil at 400 for 30 minutes and blended it in the food processor with some salt, then tossed in some minced parsley to add a fresh note.  I really enjoyed this, but then, I really enjoy radishes.  I think it would also be good with parsnips instead, for any radish-phobes.  The carrots gave it that bit of sweetness that countered the earthy root veggies nicely.  The asparagus was roasted afterwards in the same pan, which was nice because the remaining oil was flavored with garlic.  The mushrooms were simply sauteed in some tamari and water.

Tomorrow I’m off to the land of spring training, where I hopefully will not live on only peanuts and Cracker Jacks!

7 Comments »

  1. I’d love to know how you cook artichokes. I’ve never had anything but the jarred kind (which I only marginally like), and I’d love to try cooking a real one. But I must admit I’m intimidated. I’d love to see a post with your method. Enjoy your trip!

    • veganhomemade said

      I used to be intimidated too, but artichokes are so easy to cook! First, pick off any of the bottom leaves that might be loose. Then, trim the stem a little bit if it’s really long. Then, either steam or boil the whole thing for about 25 minutes, or until an outer leaf is pulled off easily. That’s it! Here’s a more informative description (I don’t bother trimming the leaves, cause you’re not gonna eat the pointy part anyway): http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/how_to_cook_and_eat_an_artichoke/

  2. Megan said

    Have fun!! 😀

  3. That dinner pic made me groan a little. YUM-O! And thanks for the ‘choke tips. I’ve never cooked a fresh one before!

  4. mihl said

    That curried mustard sounds delicious and I wish we already had asparagus season. have a great trip!

  5. chow vegan said

    I love all veggie dinners! It looks great! Hope you have a great trip! 🙂

  6. Melisser said

    I love a good veggie dinner!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

