Out with School, In with Detox

I’m this close to being done with the Natural Chef program at Bauman College.  Our group final-slash-graduation-ish dinner was last night, and we just have one more wrap up class on Tuesday.  While I’m extremely happy that I took on the five month program and I have greatly increased my cooking skills and knowledge, my personal diet for the past few months has been less than ideal, and I’ve gained a few pounds.  So, now that I have time back on my hands I’m going to embark on a cleanse.  It’s a little more stringent than the last cleanse I did just before school started, and a little less intense than the Adventure Cleanse Tune-up that both Bianca and Jessy did recently.  I didn’t have a juicer when I cleansed back in August, but now I do (thanks again, mom!) and I’m excited to include a green juice as a part of my daily menu.  I also didn’t have the guts to completely knock out coffee and alcohol last time, so this time I’m going to give it a go.  We are going on vacation on the 20th, so I expect the cleanse will last 19 days.

Here are the guidelines:

– NO gluten
– NO sugar (maple, agave and stevia are okay in small amounts)
– NO coffee
– NO alcohol
– Very limited processed foods (I will use almond milk, green powder and hemp protein powder in smoothies)
– Abundant fruits and vegetables, moderate amounts of protein and fat, and limited whole grains
– Increased “booster foods”:  hemp, flax and chia seeds, seaweed, nutritional yeast, sprouts, fermented foods, umeboshi plum, etc.

Menu plan
– first thing in AM:  warm water with chia seeds and lemon juice
– breakfast:  fresh green juice, green or black tea
– mid-morning snack:  smoothie (fruit, omega-3 oil, hemp protein powder or nut butter, and green powder)
– lunch:  salad, mostly raw, with cooked protein optional (beans or soy), OR a totally raw meal of some sort
– afternoon snack:  raw veggies with hummus OR raw energy bar OR trail mix
– dinner:  cooked meal including whole grains or starchy veggies and other vegetables, possibly with protein and/or topped with a sauce
– after dinner: herbal tea

That is the plan, and I intend to stick with it.  Better than last time.  No cheating.  I have thought about the possible cravings and weaknesses I may encounter, and have plans for them.  If I feel like having a beer, I will try either fruit juice mixed with sparkling water or herbal tea instead.  My snack cravings tend to be salty/crunchy, so I have a jar of Bubbie’s dill pickles for emergency snacking.

As to not leave this post picture-less, here are two juices I have made recently.

Orange, apple and ginger.  So tasty.

This one was mostly red cabbage.  I know I put other stuff in too, but I remember it tasting mostly like essence of red cabbage.

4 Comments »

  1. Mom said

    Glad the juicer is working well for you. Congratulations on finishing your program tomorrow. And now, on to life after school! Hopefully a little less time pressure and more focus on taking care of self will be just right.

  2. Congrats on completing your program. Your cleanse sounds great- I’m sure you’ll feel awesome afterwards!

  3. Ooh girl, I wish well on the cleanse!!! You can do it!!! I found, while cleansing, that kombocha tea made a nice stand-in for alcohol. It’s fermented, so it has that alcoholish-mouthfeel (I love using the word “mouthfeel”). And it’s super healthy. I stocked up kombocha but I’d only let myself have them on the weekends when my friends and I were going out … that way it felt like I was getting a special treat when everyone else was drinking. I bet you boyfriend will enjoy having a designated driver for 19 days. I know mine took full advantage of that.

    As for coffee, I never really came to terms without having it. Never found a good stand-in. But if you like tea, that helps. I’m not a huge tea fan, sadly.

    • veganhomemade said

      Thanks, that’s a fantastic idea! I just recently tried kombucha a few times and liked it, so I’ll definitely grab a few bottles. And yes, Dave is going to take full advantage of the soberness 🙂 I’m good with black and green tea, so I don’t think no coffee will be a challenge. I like to drink coffee 2-3 times a week, and lately it’s been more like 5-6, so I wanted to just cut it out for a while.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

