August Cleanse: Days 19-21

Day 19

My Wednesday morning smoothie had baby spinach and red chard, banana, strawberries, almond butter, chia seeds and coconut milk, and I took my multi and b complex.  My morning snack was two nectarines, figs and chai tea.  For lunch I had a semi-repeat of the roasted chickpea salad from the days before, except I was out of roasted chickpeas.  This salad contained leaf lettuce, sliced carrot, squash, radish and persian cucumber, chickpeas and an everything-in-the-pantry balsamic vinaigrette, and I took a probiotic supplement.  For an afternoon snack I had carrot sticks, green bell pepper strips and pistachios.  Exciting, I know!

I’d been wanting to make some breakfast for dinner, so I turned to Vegan Brunch and picked out the Sesame Tofu Scramble with Greens and Yams.

Honestly, if you had asked me after my first reading of Vegan Brunch what the first ten recipes I would try would be, this one wouldn’t have even been close.  I thought it fit best in my cleanse though since it has everything in a bowl, and I’m really glad I made this because it’s a spectacular recipe!  It’s less of a tofu scramble, I’d say, and more of a delicious, Asian-inspired, make-your-tummy-super-happy kind of dish.  I served it over savory oat bran which may seem like an odd choice, but the creaminess was actually a perfect texture foil to the scramble, which was soft but chunky.  I should also say that I added baby shiitake mushrooms and dulse, and I’d do it again because they were the perfect complements to round out the meal.  After dinner I had apple cranberry tea.

Day 20

Another fuzzy smoothie picture.  After this was taken, Dave bought and installed a bunch of new lightbulbs in the kitchen and living room, which have bettered my pictures.  I knew we had lightbulbs out and that I was having trouble focusing on some pictures, but hadn’t put two and two together.  Doh!  Anyway, this smoothie was made from baby spinach and red chard, banana, strawberries, berry pomegranate hempshake, udo’s oil and coconut milk, and I took my multi and coQ10.  At work, I had two apricots, a plum and coffee with coconut milk.

Since I had made dinner the night before and didn’t have the energy to prep another whole meal, and I was out of salad fixings, I decided to buy a salad for lunch.  Gasp!  Luckily, there is a restaurant near my office, Smart Alec’s, who claim they are “healthy fast food” and offer a few salad options, as well as a downright decent veggie burger and air-baked fries.

Sorry for the awful photo, I forgot to bring my camera so this is from a cell phone.  I chose their Sesame Tofu Salad, which is kind of funny because I had just had sesame tofu for dinner the night before, and the salad that I was supposed to bring but was too lazy to prep was an Asian-y cabbage salad.  I guess I really wanted sesame and tofu!  This salad had lettuce, a wee bit of red cabbage, baked tofu, crispy rice noodles and sesame dressing.  The tofu was hot when they put it in the container so it wilted the lettuce a little, which I actually like.  My only complaint about this salad is that it could’ve used more veggies, but overeall it was quite good.

The afternoon snack of the day was carrot sticks, cucumber slices and bell pepper strips with White Bean Pesto Dip from Versatile Vegetarian, which sounds uneventful save the fact that while I was slicing the cucumber that morning I sustained my first cooking injury!  I cut my thumb.  Not so bad that it needed stitches, but bad enough that it bled quite a bit and I felt a little woozy.  I was kind of excited to go into cooking school next month never having cut myself (I’m sure it would’ve happened eventually, possibly AT school), but I also kind of feel like I went through some sort of rite of passage into becoming a real chef.  So much so that I felt the need to document my battle scar.  Click here ONLY if you’re a bit morbidly curious and don’t mind the sight of blood.

For dinner I had more sesame tofu scramble over oat bran, and I took another picture because I thought the first one from the night before was too covered in sesame seeds.  For this one I mixed the seeds in first so you can actually see what it looks like.  Before bed, I had camomile tea.

Day 21

I had planned to make Friday morning’s smoothie with some blackberries, but upon taking the berries out of the fridge they had gone moldy.  So I went to plan B and included baby spinach and red chard, banana, frozen mango, mango pomegranate hempshake, udo’s and coconut milk.  This smoothie turned out fantastically, so apart from wasting berries, I was kind of glad I couldn’t use them.  I also took my multi and b complex.  For a morning snack I had a pear, a plum, figs and coffee with coconut milk.

For lunch, I made Napa Cabbage Salad with Spicy Peanut Sauce from Cooking Thin with Chef Kathleen and added cubed, smoked tofu.  I feel this salad wasn’t named appropriately, because there’s no peanut sauce anywhere.  It’s really a sesame-soy dressing over cabbage with chopped peanuts sprinkled on top.  The flavors were good, but it was a whole lot of cabbage to eat at once.  The recipe called for the salad to be dressed just before serving, but I feel like it may have benefitted from the cabbage sitting in the dressing, like a slaw.  My afternoon snack was carrot sticks, squash slices and red bell pepper with white bean pesto dip.

On the way home from work I picked up some black cherry and citrus vodkas and diet tonic water to have some flavored vodka tonics.  I had one of each, and more sesame tofu scramble over oat bran for dinner, then we spontaneously decided to go to Oakland to see a friend’s band play.  I had two beers there, and when we got back home I was starving.  I wanted a crunchy snack and didn’t have much in the way of cleanse-friendly snacks that weren’t nuts, so I popped some popcorn and seasoned it using Bianca’s tip (see the comments of this post).  It worked!  I seasoned with nutritional yeast, dried dill, salt and probably too much black pepper.

You may remember that i was disappointed to gain a bit of weight during the second week.  Well, the good news is that I lost 2.5 pounds this week!  Yay!  That makes 4.7 pounds total in 3 weeks.  Not bad, for me at least.

11 Comments »

  1. Everything looks so fresh and simple.

  2. Carrie said

    I too was shocked at how good that tofu scramble was. It didn’t seem like something I’d even try, but lo and behold I had all of the ingredients handy one day and decided to give it a shot. I’m glad I did!

    Congrats on the weight loss! Sorry to hear about your thumb. Here’s hoping to a speedy recovery!

  3. KTBuns said

    Losing about one pound a week is a very healthy and steady way to do it – an easy rate for the body to handle. 🙂 I love catching up with your cleanse! And I’ve been keeping track of all the cookbooks you mentioned b/c DAMN do some of these recipes look tasty!!

    Power to ya!

  4. jessy said

    your snacks sound so good – white bean pesto dip, fresh fruit ‘n veggies, figs, yummy tea! i never thought to put coconut milk in coffee – i’m gonna have to tell dan – he would absolutely love that combination! mmmmmmmmmmm! i need to get my hands on a copy of vegan brunch. i bet i can make a lot of the recipes that have gluten in the gluten-free. i love the sound & look of the sesame tofu scramble with greens and yams! i love slightly wilty lettuce as well – i like the mouth-feel it give a salad. the cabbage peanut salad looks so delicious – i can see that it is a bunch o’ cabbage to be eating – it sounds delicious though & smoked tofu sounds wonderful!

    that’s great that you lost 2.5 this week! wow! my weight kinda fluctuated each week when i was do’n ACT as well – but in the end it was all good! that stinks that you cut your thumb – ouch!

    black cherry and citrus vodka tonics – i’ll take one of each! yay!

  5. Diann said

    Even though I don’t eat tofu, that sesame dish looks fantastic! I’m still so impressed with your cleanse – great job.

    I have a burn on my knuckle that looks a lot like your cut!

  6. Congrats on the weight loss. As usual, all your cleanse food looks great. I’m glad to know the sesame scramble is really tasty. I’ve been thinking about trying that one, but I’d have to sub sweet taters for yams, as I’ve not been able to find real yams around here.

  7. Nanette said

    How interesting – I never thought about making that sesame tofu scramble either but of course now i have to. I think I read that book Cooking Thin – didn’t she use to have a tv show as well where she’d go to people’s houses?

    Congrats on the weight loss! I’m quite impressed with your efforts as I sit here thinking about having some coconut milk ice cream. LOL

  8. Sophie said

    omg, tofu scramble looks awesome. i’ve been having oats and zucchini for breakfast, and as weird as it sounds it’s really good! glad to hear the good news this week. you rock!

  9. Vegetation said

    Mmmm all of it looks delicious (except maybe that thumb :P). I sympathize. I chopped off 1/3 of my forefinger fingernail (and a fair chunk of the skin underneath) a few months ago. 2 days of throbbing and 3 weeks of not being able to look at it without wanting to pass out and it was feeling mostly better. I’m still knife shy though! Hope it feels better soon!

  10. chow vegan said

    I must admit sometimes I like to eat breakfast for dinner too. That tofu scramble looks great! And welcome to the I-got-an-injury-while-cooking Club! 🙂

  11. Way to stick with that cleanse! Of course, with dishes this tasty, it seems like it wouldn’t be tough at all. 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

