A Tale of Two Recipes

Well, it’s not really a tale, per say…but I liked the title so I’m sticking with it.  I don’t think I’ve posted a recipe in a while – here’s two!

I mentioned my Salad Stir-fry a few posts ago.  I first came up with it because I had about a ton of baby greens from my CSA that I realized needed to be used the day they needed to be used if I were to save them from going in the trash.  I thought they might wilt down nicely in a stir-fry like spinach does, and I thought it might be interesting to make it salad-like, with a combination of hot and cold components and a thickened salad dressing as the sauce.  It turned out so well that I just had to make it again in order to perfect it and post the recipe!

(The sauce is based on the Asian Miracle Dressing from Vegan Lunchbox.  I tried it pretty much straight up the first time and then tweaked it a bit to better suit the stir-fry.)

Salad Stir-fry

2 Tbs peanut oil
1 white onion, diced
2 bulbs of green garlic, bulb minced and shoots sliced, or 2 cloves of regular garlic, minced, plus 3 green onions, green parts only sliced
2 tsp ginger, minced
2 carrots, thinly sliced on the diagonal
1 red bell pepper, diced
1/2 lb mushrooms (whatever kind you like, quartered or sliced)
1/2 lb frozen shelled edamame, thawed
at least 1/2 lb baby greens or spinach, or a combination

sauce:
2 Tbs balsamic vinegar
1 Tbs rice vinegar
2 Tbs maple syrup
1 Tbs soy sauce
1/2 tsp dijon mustard
1/2-1 tsp sriracha
1 1/2 tsp sesame oil
1 Tbs cornstarch

cooked brown rice
sprouts
sliced cucumber
sesame seeds

Whisk all the sauce ingredients together in a small bowl and set aside.

Heat the peanut oil in a wok over medium-high heat. Carefully add the onion and stir-fry for a few minutes. Add the garlic/green onions and ginger and cook for 30 seconds, being careful not to burn. Add the carrots, bell pepper and mushrooms and stir-fry until mushrooms release their juices. Add the edamame and stir to combine. Add the greens by handfuls, stir-frying each addition and adding more greens as there is room until all the greens are wilted.

Whisk the sauce again and add to the wok. Stir-fry until the sauce coats all the ingredients and thickens.

Serve over brown rice, topped with sprouts, cucumber and sesame seeds.

Serves 3.

Second is a recipe for Swiss Chard Risotto, which I feel like I’ve been working on forever but really have only made three times.  It’s just been very intermitent.  I guess it’s not really chard season anymore, but it should still be available in some areas.

To go with my risotto I made some white bean/corn/red pepper cakes.  To be perfectly honest, this was from a few weeks ago and I have NO idea how I made them.  I know there was flour and breadcrumbs involved, and I baked them, and they didn’t turn out as firm as I wanted but for a thrown together patty accompaniment they were just fine.

This recipe was originally included with my CSA newsletter.  I followed it exactly the first time, but it lacked a little something.  I also had never made risotto, ever, so I was a risotto novice.  Here’s my perfected version!

Chard Risotto

Regular green swiss chard will taste fine, but the risotto will be much prettier with red or rainbow chard.

5 c faux chicken or vegetable broth
2 Tbs olive oil
medium white onion, chopped
1 1/2 c arborio rice
bunch of swiss chard, stems sliced and leaves roughly chopped
1/2 c dry white wine
juice of 1/2 lemon, about 2 Tbs
2-3 Tbs chopped fresh herbs such as dill or parsley, optional
kosher salt
freshly cracked black pepper

In a medium saucepan, bring the broth to a simmer, adding a pinch of salt if the broth is not already salted. Turn down the heat, cover, and keep warm.

Heat the oil in a large, wide pot over medium heat. Add the onion and chard stems and saute until onion is turning translucent, about 6-7 minutes. Add the rice and chard leaves and saute until the chard starts to wilt, about 3 minutes. Add the wine and lemon juice and simmer until absorbed, stirring occasionally, about 2-3 minutes. Add the warm broth one ladle-full at a time, simmering until each addition is completely absorbed and stirring almost constantly. Add the herbs, if using, with the last addition of broth. Cook until the rice is tender and creamy; you may not need to use all of the broth. Add salt and pepper to taste and serve immediately.

Serves 4-6.

Lastly, I mention this only because I think it’s a great tip for those trying to reduce their fat intake.  I ate the leftover white bean patties on a salad, and I had just read a tip that day on Eat’n Veg’n for a great fat-free dressing – mix dijon mustard and apricot jam or preserves.  I’m sure it would be a lot healthier if the preserves were sugar free – mine were not, but I’m at peace with that.  The dressing on it’s own tastes very strong, I was almost worried to put it on my salad.  But combined with the salad ingredients it mellowed and I liked it a lot.  Give it a try!

16 Comments »

  1. Vegetation said

    Mmmm I love them both, but I have a soft spot for both chard and risotto! Yum!

  2. Macie said

    Ohh, looks delicious! Thanks for sharing recipes 🙂

  3. Nicole said

    The presentation of both is so lovely!

  4. Sophie said

    yum! so fantastically delicious. must try these recipes. i have never done a vegan risotto. thanks for sharing the dijon/jam idea! so great.

  5. ooooh! must try that chard risotto asap!

  6. Carrie said

    Yum – risotto! I love the idea for that stir-fry salad and the dressing sounds delicious..I’m always on the lookout for new dressings to try.

  7. Diann said

    I thought I was the only person who enjoys hot stuff on cold salad greens. I make that a lot, usually with beans, and I think it’s great!

    It’s still chard season here, so your risotto sounds like something I need to try. Thanks for trying the dressing. I love mustard sauces, and they do mellow nicely mixed in with whatever.

  8. Jenna said

    That salad is beautiful!

  9. That all looks so good! I love the sound of the dressing too.

  10. Love all the different colorful veggies you’ve got going on here- Everything looks delicious!

  11. Cyn said

    Everything looks so good! I love swiss chard & risotto together, it’s so tasty.

  12. KittyPaws said

    Wow that all looks so amazing!

  13. Hua said

    Hi Erin,

    I love risotto. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

    I’m Hua, the director of Wellsphere’s HealthBlogger Network, a network of over 2,000 of the best health writers on the web (including doctors, nurses, healthy living professionals, and expert patients). I think your blog would be a great addition to the Network, and I’d like to invite you to learn more about it and apply to join at http://www.wellsphere.com/health-blogger. Once approved by our Chief Medical Officer, your posts will be republished on Wellsphere where they will be available to over 5 million monthly visitors who come to the site looking for health information and support. There’s no cost and no extra work for you! The HealthBlogger page provides details about participation, but if you have any questions please feel free to email me at hua@wellsphere.com.

    Best,
    Hua

  14. Bobbi said

    Oooh, thanks, these recipes look great!

  15. […] Salad Stirfry from Vegan […]

  16. Saveur said

    I am loving the salad stir-fry idea! It goes to show that anything can be plated on top of a bed of baby spinach. Yum! 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

