Chicken n’ Beer

I couldn’t think of a better title for this post, so I’m going with it.

My thinking for this meal went:  I have four tart apples from my CSA that aren’t my favorite type for snacking on, I should make applesauce.  People put applesauce on pork chops, right?  I should put applesauce on some sort of meaty thing.  Seitan cutlets would work, but I really didn’t like the recipe from VCON.  How bout this recipe for chicken-style seitan cutlets?  Okay, and I’ll have baked acorn squash and steamed collards on the side.  That’s a whole lot of sweet in one dinner, what about something bitter to balance it out?  I had good luck with the balsamic reduction for my stromboli, I wonder what a beer reduction would be like?

Thus was born Grilled Chicken-Style Seitan Cutlets with Savory Applesauce and Pale Ale Reduction.

It turned out pretty good, all in all.  You can’t really see the reduction, the color blended into everything else.  The seitan cutlets are great, I would highly recommend them.  Good texture, and rolling them out with a rolling pin is MUCH easier than trying to stretch them by hand.  There are some leftover in my freezer right now, and that makes me happy.  The applesauce ingredients were minced red onion, garlic, ginger, coriander, cumin, cinnamon, lemon juice and peeled apples.  It was very, very tasty.  I loved the fresh ginger flavor that came through.  The beer reduction…well…I wouldn’t recommend anyone make a reduction from beer unless they really like beer flavor to begin with.  I used a pale ale, which was pretty hoppy and might not have been the best choice.  It became very bitter as it reduced, so I added a bit of sugar and salt to help it out.  It was okay.  If I try a beer reduction again I’ll use a lighter, less bitter beer, maybe like a hefeweizen.

Speaking of beer, I was tickled to come home one night and find this selection of beer looking out from our fridge.

I have to admit that we normally keep a pretty decent amount of beers in the fridge, but not this kind of amazing selection.  These were all either gifted to us, left at our house by a friend, bought as a single or the remainder of a six pack.  As Homer would say:  Mmmm, beer…

14 Comments »

  1. Natalie said

    Looks amazing!!

  2. Megan said

    MMMM! Jealous of the beer selection! Dogfish Head = YUM!!

  3. Cyn said

    That’s a great beer selection! You’ve got some good stuff in there, especially the Stone, Dogfishhead, and Bell’s.

    Those seitan cutlets look great too. I’ve made the Yellow Rose Recipe version, and they were fantastic.

  4. VeggieGirl said

    Lovin’ all that foooood!!

  5. Ricki said

    That looks so good! I’m not a huge beer fan myself, but do like it cooked into foods. . . and this would make my honey very happy!

  6. macie said

    I’m definitely trying those cutlets. While I don’t drink beer, that collection is sure impressive! My fiance loves beer and I’m glad that our fridge isn’t the only one overrun with unique beer 😀

  7. aTxVegn said

    That was a very creative meal you thought up! And it looks wonderful. I’m glad to see beer in so many recipes lately.

  8. oooooh what a fabulous collection of beer you have there! dinner sounds great too! gotta have something to wash all that beer down with, right?

  9. I’d love to come home to that! I think I’d immediately grab that Samuel Smith’s Oatmeal Stout as soon as I walked in the door. And your meal idea is lovely. I think I’d like a pale ale reduction, but I love the taste of beer.

  10. Carrie said

    Wowza, look at that beer! My fridge is lucky if it sees TWO types of beer.

    I really need to try those cutlets, they look so good!

  11. CreepyMark said

    dude… I’m making the Dave face thinking of all that beer. Then the sad Creepy Mark face

  12. Very impressive collection of beer- I don’t drink, so that’s quite possibly the greatest selection I’ve ever seen in one place (other than at the store!)

  13. chow vegan said

    Wow, that looks so awesome! I would totally love that for dinner! The food, not the beer, but it is a nice collection. 🙂

  14. Liz² said

    omg, what a carnival of beer! it’s a beautiful sight!!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

