Arc-tichokes

Does it make anyone else crazy when people say “arc-tichokes”?  To me it’s almost as bad as saying “nuke-you-ler”.  Yes, I’m the one that points out spelling errors, too.

When I saw that I was getting four fresh artichokes in my CSA delivery, I really had no idea what to do with them.  The only forms of artichoke I’ve ever eaten are from a can, and on my plate at Millennium.  And who knows how they do the voodoo that occurs in their kitchen…

So, I knew that more often than not, whole artichokes are boiled or steamed and served with a dip like mayo or a dressing.  To me that seemed like the easy way out, and I’m trying to push my cooking boundaries a little.  So I searched around the internet and my cookbooks and did some hard thinking on artichokes, and in the end I decided to steam them and eat them with mayo.  These were my first real artichokes, so I figures I should cook them up proper.

I have a jar of Vegennaise in the fridge, but I have a hard time using it for anything but a special occasion, i.e. when other people will be eating most of what I’m making.  I remembered that I had seen a lower-cal mayo recipe at My Vegan Cookbook, and so I went with that.  I’ve only made a few of Josh’s recipes so far, but what I have has been really good, so I had no doubt the mayo would be a great complement.

(I must admit that I cheated making the mayo.  I mashed and whisked the tofu instead of blending it smooth, and I microwaved it for three bursts of 30 seconds instead of cooking it on the stovetop.  I was already three dirty pots and pans deep, and I wasn’t going for a fourth.  The mayo still turned out great, and that shows just how good the recipe is.  Oh, and I added chopped fennel frond just because I had some.)

It was much easier to actually eat the artichoke than I expected.  Google “how to eat an artichoke”, read, and that is exactly how it works.

On the side, a quinoa pilaf with onion, carrot, fennel bulb, portobello, white wine and dulse.  I also added some fennel seed, making this a triple-fennel meal.  I really liked the dulse.  I liked the chewy texture and the unique flavor it added.  I had forgotten that I bought a big bag of dulse from the bulk bin last time I was at Rainbow, but I will be using it much more now that I know I like it!

12 Comments »

  1. VeggieGirl said

    That makes me crazy too, haha!! 😀

    I really need to cook more with artichokes!!

  2. Ricki said

    But did you love them??? Fresh steamed arties are one of my very favorite things to eat. Oh, and sorry, but NOTHING is worse than “nuke-you-ler” 😉 !

  3. augh! i hate it when people say nuc-u-lar. i’ve never heard anyone pronounce artichoke wrong, but then again… not many people i know here are discussing artichokes. they’re pretty fabulous, huh? i steamed my first fresh ones as well, and they’re so tasty!

  4. You’ve really been making me want to reconsider fennel. I hate licorice, and I assume I’d hate fennel. But maybe I should give it a go….

    And I tried whole artichoke for the first time last spring! Loved it, except I tried to eat that spiky part in the center and that didn’t go down so well.

  5. Jodye said

    Mmm I love artichoke, and your pilaf looks delicious! I have one just like that nearly every day with lunch or dinner

  6. Cyn said

    I totally grew up eating artichokes like that, with a dipping sauce. Artichokes are like nature’s chips! My favorite part is when you get to the heart and you scrape all the guck out of it and then eat it.

  7. Carrie said

    Thanks for the heads up about the mayo recipe! I love Vegganaise but I don’t love the fat content.

    I’ve never had a real artichoke either (i.e., not from a can), this looks really good!

  8. macie said

    Oooh. I’d never heard of My Vegan Cookbook. I love artichokes, despite how much effort they are to eat. You should try roasting them, too!

  9. Jennifer said

    Ok, first off, I totally agree, I cannot STAND when people say things like “nuke-you-ler” or “warsh”, shit, I get irritated with people call Missouri “Missoura”. I guess think I am the pronunciation police or something.

    I still have never had a fresh artichoke, I think I am intimidated by them.

  10. chowvegan said

    Freshly steamed artichokes are the best! You can also steam them with lemon slices, bay leaf and a garlic clove in the water to give the artichokes a little extra flavor. That way I can eat them plain without a dip. 🙂

  11. That pilaf looks delish! And I have got to break out of my shell and try steaming an artichoke. I haven’t had one since I was a child! Thanks for the link to the low fat vegan may recipe, too.

  12. Melisser said

    I never know what to do with ‘chokes either! I made stuffed ones from Isa’s upcoming book once & they were tasty.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

