Enchiladas Then & Now, Laptop Lunches

I became interested in photographing my food almost two years ago, after discovering The PPK and many vegan food blogs.  The first meal I made that I felt was photo-worthy was Cheesy Bean & Cheese Enchiladas.  When I got a gorgeous bunch of cilantro from my CSA, I immediately wanted to revisit this dish.

THEN:

NOW:

Slightly better, no?  It’s really nice to have evidence of how much my cooking and photography have improved since then.

The recipe I used is here, and I would definitely recommend it.  The only changes I made were to use two cans of beans instead of three, and only one onion.  I found the first time I made it that the onions were still a bit raw and crunchy after baking, so this time I steam-fried them first and it was perfect.  I also added a can of chopped green chiles to the filling.  You could easily get eight to ten enchiladas with all the filling, but I only made six this time because I’m a dummy and only bought six tortillas.  Who sells tortillas in a pack of six?  Whole Foods, that’s who.

I topped the enchiladas with extra cilantro, Tapatio, and guacamole made from very yucky avocados.  I’ve been very unlucky with avocados lately.  Oh, and I think steamed spinach is the perfect accompaniment to the enchiladas, it’s nice to mix it up and get a little spinach in each bite.

On to this week’s lunches!

2-17 white pizza, salad (leaf lettuce, spinach, carrots,
tahini dressing), prunes, dried apricots

2-18 salad (arugula, radicchio, roasted radishes & apples, soy bleu cheese, red onion, pistachios, dried cranberries, balsamic vinaigrette), gf corn muffin, vanilla soy yogurt with blueberries

2-20 whole wheat wrap with radicchio, arugula, tahini dressing, red onion, soy bleu cheese, pistachios & cranberries, two carrots, roasted radishes & apples, snapea crisps, pb cookies.  This wrap was to-die-for.

14 Comments »

  1. VeggieGirl said

    TOO MUCH DELECTABLE FOOD!!!! Love it 🙂

  2. Both enchilada pictures are extremely drool provoking! But I agree, the newest one looks extra cheesy and yummy!

    I love those Back to Nature peanut butter cookies!

  3. Mom said

    Your enchiladas look much better than mine! I just bought a box of Back to Nature peanut butter cookies yesterday, so I am eating one now in your honor.

  4. Carrie said

    I love love LOVE those enchiladas – yours look great!

  5. I want your lunches! Cuuuute! I love the enchilada presentation! You had led me to realize I’ve never had the vegan version…and that newest picture really makes me think I need to fix that!

  6. Ha! I saw that same recipe for enchiladas on vegweb this morning! I was looking for a carrot cake recipe that I needed to link to on my blog, and there was a little picture and link to that on the main Vegweb page….funny! They look really tasty, then and now!

  7. Sophie said

    oh those enchiladas look awesome. the newer ones could kick the other one’s ass. 😉

  8. macie said

    That white pizza looks divine!

  9. Lisa said

    I love when Google Reader recommends blogs… especially when they are as good as yours! I already have a dozen things I want to make just from scrolling through your recent posts!!

  10. Melisser said

    You get the sticker for “Most Improved”, hehe! Laptop, woo!

  11. Kate said

    omg! I am STARVING now haha! I want me some enchiladaaaaas.

  12. Lauren said

    oh wow haha SUCH a difference in the enchiladas!!

  13. Chi-Chi said

    Both pictures are better than anything I could ever imagine doing but the second one is quite lovely–lovely enough that I just printed the recipe for the enchiladas and looked up how to make enchilada sauce. I can’t wait to try it!!

  14. […] calling this Mexi-grits.  It’s just leftover filling from my cheesy bean and cheese enchiladas on […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

