The Search For The Perfect Pancake Ends, & Laptop Lunches

My quest has come to an end.  You may recall that I’ve been trying in vain to make what I consider the perfect pancake.  Well, I finally did it.  In a stroke of what might be called utter genius,  I used the recipe my mom uses.  And since that is what I’ve generally been going for all along, it’s a little disturbing to me that I didn’t just try that in the first place.  Doh!

Look how nice and thick!  And you don’t have to feel guilty at all, because these are relatively good for you.  They stay just a bit moist and almost undercooked in the middle, which is just how I like ’em.  And I bet cooked on a proper griddle they’d look even nicer.  I’m working with a new griddle and still having some griddle issues.

Buttermilk Pancakes

Adapted from The Betty Crocker Cookbook.

1 Tbs lemon juice or vinegar
scant 1 c soy milk
2 Tbs flax meal
3 Tbs warm water
1 Tbs sugar
2 Tbs canola oil
1 c white whole wheat, whole wheat pastry, or all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt

Preheat griddle to medium heat.

Put lemon juice or vinegar in a cup measure. Add soy milk to equal one cup. Stir and set aside to curdle.

Put warm water in a large mixing bowl. Add flax meal and whisk very well. Add sugar and canola oil to flax mixture, and stir to combine. Add the soy milk once it has had some time to curdle, and stir.

Add remaining ingredients (flour through salt) to wet mixture, and stir just until combined. Some lumps are okay.

To test the griddle, sprinkle with a few drops of water. If bubbles jump around before evaporating, the heat is just right. Grease griddle lightly with oil or Earth Balance if necessary.

For each pancake, pour slightly less than 1/4 cup batter onto the hot griddle. Cook until bubbly on top, puffed and dry around the edges. Flip and cook until golden brown.

Yields: 12 small pancakes.

On to the lunches…

2-9 curried noodle, veggie & edamame stirfry, salad (leaf lettuce,
sesame shiitake dressing & sunflower seeds,
and a salted papaya candy that’s waaaaay too salty

2-10 roasted veggie quiche, wheat bread, steamed brussels, orange wedges


2-12 green curry tofu & veggies, brown rice, vanilla soy yogurt with kiwi


2-13 clean-out-the-fridge stew, multigrain everything crackers, steamed brussels, pistachios, an apple & raisins

22 Comments »

  1. VeggieGirl said

    Sooo much deliciousness!! Sorry about the papaya candy though 😦

  2. Sara said

    Those pancakes look scrumptious! Must try that recipe!!

  3. OMG please come make my lunches every day for me. :3 And those pancakes are making me so hungry!

  4. Virginia said

    u have me craving pancakes now!

  5. Mihl said

    Your laptop luches look so delicious! All of them. And thank you for the pancake recipe, I can understand why you call these perfect.

  6. Mom said

    Your pancakes look perfect…congratulations! I don’t think you need to give any credit to Betty Crocker or Mom, because you’ve truly made this recipe your own (and I should know).

  7. i love your lunches so much. they make me want to stop going home for lunch and start bringing mine to work. ‘cept…then i don’t get to go home for lunch. and those pancakes! i’ve not found a pancake recipe that i really love yet, i’ll have to try this one out, thanks!

  8. Sophie said

    ah, thank you!! you rock. this recipe will be my new go-to for pancakes. i’ve just been adding soy milk and egg replacer to bisquick mix….guilty.

    the noodle stir fry looks so good too! i wish my lunch looked like that every day.

    • veganhomemade said

      Hey, for a long while I used a whole wheat boxed pancake mix and added applesauce and soy milk. Whatever works!

  9. tahinitoo said

    I think you ought to be packing me lunches too! I love the creativity in fitting the orange wedges into the container. And pancakes?! Yummy!!!!! The photo with the cut from the stack is my favorite.

  10. Diann said

    Ha! Mom always knows best! The pancakes look perfect.

  11. The pancakes truly are perfection! So thick and fluffy! All your lunches look amazing, the roasted veggie quiche especially!

    Your kitty mug is so cute with the cat’s tail curling up!!

  12. Caroline said

    Your laptop lunches never cease to amaze me–so gourmet!

  13. Melisser said

    Ooh, the pancakes look CRAZY good! I always love your lunches.

  14. Haha watch out Erin; our musical tastes just may rub off on you ;o)

    P.S. I’m coming over to your place for pancakes next Sunday!

    • veganhomemade said

      Haha, come on by!

  15. Liz² said

    ohhhh you’re making me want warm mooshy pancakes so bad!

  16. Oh yum, I think I would always be in the mood for pancakes- Yours look especially good!

  17. Tom said

    I would eat the hell out of those damn pancakes!

  18. Cedarblue said

    All your food is inspirational!

    Yum yum!

  19. Carrie said

    I too have been searching for the perfect pancake – I’ll have to give these ones a go!

  20. rondamkisner said

    Glory Be!! My husband ate these pancakes and wants me to make them again!

    Thank you!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

