CSA Dinners

Another glorious CSA delivery, more glorious meals.

broccoli, collards, brussels sprouts, fennel, celery, baby bok choy & leaf lettuce

beets, a yellow onion, apples, oranges & radicchio

I was supposed to get romanesco, and I was really excited because I’ve never had it before, but they ran out and gave me broccoli instead.  Which is fine, because I like broccoli and I was going to use the romanesco to replace broccoli in a recipe anyway.

This is the Cheesy Broccoli & Rice Casserole from The Uncheese Cookbook.  It is super tasty and super easy to make.  You pretty much mix together five things in a casserole dish and stick it in the oven.  Although if you want to use brown rice instead of white you should precook it a bit first, which I kind of knew beforehand but tried to get away with it anyway.

I served the casserole with shredded raw beets over leaf lettuce.  The beets were dressed with orange juice, sesame oil, soy sauce and agave nectar.

I’m still not a huge fan of radicchio, but I’m finding I like it cooked and paired with something sweet.  I was happy to find this recipe for Sausages with Caramelized Red Onions & Radicchio.  I envisioned making it with homemade seitan sausages, but that just wasn’t in the cards for a weeknight meal.

I halved the recipe but followed it almost exactly, subbing Earth Balance for butter and Tofurkey Italian Sausages for sausage  I also added a bit of sesame parmesan.  This dish was very tasty, but the caramelized onions were so good and sweet that they overshadowed the other ingredients.  Which meant I couldn’t taste the radicchio, so I guess it was okay.

The sausages were served atop polenta with beet greens.  The polenta was jut okay.  It’s the first time I’ve made polenta not from a recipe, so hopefully I’ll be better at flavoring it next time.

I used the bok choy, as per usual, in a stirfry.  A fancy, tasty stirfry based on a recipe.  I loosely followed the Curried Udon Stirfry from Veganomicon, and the sauce totally made the stirfry.

I am definitely interested in making the recipe as is sometime.  I was nervous about the roux not working, but it worked perfectly.

Some friends moved into a new house a few weeks ago, and they are now lucky enough to have a lemon tree, flowers, herbs, and among other things, a kaffir lime bush.  With kaffir lime leaves!  They smelled so good that I felt the need to steal some and make green curry.  So I did.

I used this recipe from Food Network, subbing extra firm tofu for the chicken.  I added steamed broccoli, cauliflower & sweet potatoes, and just a bit of sugar toward the end of cooking.  And I couldn’t find Thai basil, so regular basil was a fine stand in.  It doesn’t look like a green curry, but the sauce is under there somewhere, I promise.  The only change I would make next time is to not add the extra 3/4 cup of liquid with the coconut milk, as the sauce wasn’t as thick as I would’ve liked.

And because a new CSA delivery came today, a clean-out-the-fridge stew for dinner tonight.

Ingredients:  onion, leek, carrot, celery, green pepper, jalapeno, garlic, bay leaf, liquid smoke, cooking wine, tomatoes, black eyed peas, lentils, collards and wild rice blend.  Perfect except that I added a wee bit too much liquid smoke.

I’m all caught up on posting!  Finally.  I may try to go back to more singular posts, as opposed to throwing five meals together in one.  Or I’ll get way behind again.  We shall see.

17 Comments »

  1. ggw_bach said

    lovely pics.

    you’re making this vegan here salivate!!

  2. VeggieGirl said

    So much fresh goodness!!

  3. Kiersten said

    Everything sounds good. I really need to get the Uncheese Cookbook so I can try that casserole.

  4. Carrie said

    Look at all of those yummy veggies!

  5. Sophie said

    oh wow, i need to find a local CSA delivery asap! i miss farm fresh veggies since the farmer’s market is closed til april 😦

    looks great!

  6. Cyn said

    I love both that cheesy broccoli casserole and the curried udon stir fry! I haven’t made either in far too long. And yay for tons of fresh produce!

  7. I’m not crazy about radicchio either. I’ve never had it cooked though. I’ll have to try it that because it’s so pretty!

  8. Dana said

    I received romanesco last year in my CSA. You didn’t miss much in my opinion. It tasted like broccoli or cauliflower. Same kind of thing.

    I’m so jealous of all your produce. Our CSA only operates from July to October.

  9. Lauren said

    wow those vegetables looks so fresh and delicious!!
    and the recipe from veganomicon sounds amazing.. yum i need to try it out 😉

  10. Jennifer said

    Score on the kaffir lime leaves, “foraging” in your friends yard, that sounds like a good deal to me.

    Your CSA share is making me wish for spring! And that broccoli! I love broccoli, it is one of my favorite veggies, but for some reason it wasn’t around more than two or three times at the farmer’s market last year. We got a small head of it in our CSA once. Not sure what that was all about.

    Radiccho is not one of my favorite things either, it is just so bitter!

  11. Vegetation said

    Mmmm so many wonderful dinners! I wish they had CSA’s here 😦

  12. macie said

    Wow, you make me want to join a CSA soooo bad! The broccoli casserole looks amazingly good.

  13. I am so behind on reading and commenting too, my Google reader is about to explode!

    Oh the jealousy! I want all your CSA goodies! The Cheesy Broccoli & Rice Casserole looks so super creamy. I don’t know why I haven’t bought that book yet.

    I’ve only had radicchio in salads and it’s not my thing. Your polenta dish looks delicious though, and if you can’t taste the radicchio it’s even better!

    curried udon stirfry, green curry dish and clean-out-the-fridge stew look so darn tasty and healthful. Way to use up all your CSA goodies!

    A lemon tree! My kingdom for a lemon tree! It would be so nice to have one in the back yard, maybe some day.

    YAY for another Gilmore Girls fan! 🙂

  14. Okay, this is the second time I have seen that Cheezy Broccoli Rice Casserole pictured on a blog, so I know I MUST make it soon! That dish was one of my favorites pre-vegan, so I’d love to try out the UnCheese version now!

  15. Kate said

    everything looks fabulous!I’ll try that green curry! I can’t really see the sauce???

  16. Jillian said

    Gorgeous food! I’m totally going to make that casserole now too!

  17. Melisser said

    Damn, that’s a whole lotta greens! Your dinners look delish!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

