Hot Dog Sushi

When I opened my rice cooker from Santa Mom, I was immediately excited to try making sushi rice in it.  Not that sushi rice is all that hard to make in a pot – I feel like it allows you more wiggle room (read:  error room) than normal rice.  But I really like the idea of pushing a button and ending up with perfect rice.

So I decided one day that I needed to make sushi for dinner.  The problem was that I didn’t really have any suitable fillings, and I didn’t want to go to the store.  I had carrot and avocado, but that wasn’t enough.  So I rummaged around the fridge and came up with veggie hot dogs left over from a barbeque.  And I thought to myself, why not?  Do you ever wonder if you’re the first person in the world to do something a certain way or say a certain combination of words in a sentence?  I’m fairly sure that I’m the only person in the universe that has put a hot dog in sushi.

I cut the hot dog into thin strips, and in the end its was overpowered by the other ingredients, so the sushi wasn’t too hot dog-tastic.

What’s that in the middle?  Yep, it’s hot dog nigiri.  Because, really, why not?  I’m also particularly proud of the spiral effect on those rice-on-the-outside rolls.  And that’s plain old steamed spinach on the bottom of the plate.

What does any sane person do with leftover sushi ingredients?

Sushi bowl for lunch.

Update:  I am definitely not the first person to put a hot dog in sushi.  Dang.

Also, look at this!

15 Comments »

  1. VeggieGirl said

    Fun/gorgeous sushi rolls and bowl meal!!

  2. Nicole said

    I love the sushi bowl! Much easier than rolling it myself.

  3. Larissa said

    great idea!

  4. Carrie said

    What a great idea – I think that would taste awesome!

  5. Cyn said

    Hotdog sushi sounds Hawaiian to me. 🙂 I’m so jealous you have a rice cooker – I want one, but have no idea where I’d put it with all of my other kitchen gadgets.

  6. Sophie said

    so cute & creative! bet it tastes pretty good too.

    the one thing i miss about being a “regular” eater is sushi…but this reminds me there are still plenty of options.

  7. mihl said

    Those are two really beautiful plates full of good stuff!

  8. Lauren said

    wow! your sushi looks so great!
    and hot dogs, hey why not! haha i’m sure they were scrumptious.
    i always tell people i love sushi and then when we go and get it and i get a cucumber roll they’re like “thats not sushi” lol. oh well..i still love it!

  9. Mom said

    Not a great sushi-lover, but I would definitely eat that!

  10. Hot dog sushi! Genius! The sushi bowl looks perfect for a lazy vegan like myself 🙂

  11. melisser said

    Hahaha! Hot dog sushi might be far too common.

  12. That actually sounds really tasty. I love me some veggie dogs. And your rolls look very nice. I also got a rice cooker for Xmas but I’ve used it twice for brown rice and both times, it burned. 😦

  13. Honestly, if you hadn’t said anything I would’ve thought it was carrot… You made some rocking sushi there!

  14. chowvegan said

    Hot dog sushi! What a great idea, it looks very tasty! 🙂

  15. veganf said

    I’ve got a sushi cookbook with hot dogs in it, so you’re definitely not the first. Looks good though!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

