Happy New Year!

I hope everyone had a great New Year’s Eve and Day.  Mine was excellent  (were excellent?).  I first set out to attend “Peewee’s Veg Adventure”, a Peewee Herman themed potluck that was the brainchild of the Bay Area PPKers.  We planned the menu in advance, and every dish had a Peewee related name.  Awesome!

My contributions were “Footlongs for Mickey”…

(recipe from Vegan Lunchbox)

…and “Simone’s French Toast Bites”.

(VWAV Fronch Toast)

“Snack Time Popcorn”

“Peewee’s Peepshow Hashbrowns” (gross!)

“King of Stuffed Mushrooms” and “Jambi-laya”

“Fire in the Playhouse Bread with Cheesy White Bean Dip”

The cheesy white bean dip was kind of amazing.  I’m told the recipe is in Eat, Drink & Be Vegan.

“Connect the Dots Quinoa” and Cowvin Cookies from Sticky Fingers Bakery in the back.  Melisser won the cookies in some contest I think.

“Dinosaur Family Kale” and “Cowboy Curtis’ Cookie Sandwiches”

“Bowtie Pasta Salad” and “Pterri’s BBQ Not Wings”

“Globey’s International Speculoos Brownies” and “Ant Farm on a Log”

“Chairy Pie”

My plate – I didn’t get an individual picture of the “Copper Penny Salad”, and I forgot to get some of the bowtie pasta the first time through.  I definitely went back for seconds though.

Dessert plate

To finish up, a “Whacky Tapi-oca Pudding Shooter”.

I unfortunately had to leave the party before midnight to come back to my house and co-host.  There are more pictures from the Peewee party in this thread.

I definitely wanted a hearty brunch when I finally woke up on New Year’s Day, so I made tofu scramble with onions, peppers and mushrooms.  I made toast from the ends of the loaf I used to make the french toast bites, and topped it with leftover strawberry sauce.

For the past couple years I’ve wanted to eat black eyed peas on New Year’s Day, but until now I hadn’t made it happen.  According to Wikipedia, “Black-eyed peas are traditionally eaten on New Year’s Day in the Southern United States and in some other parts of the U.S…The traditional meal also features collard, turnip, or mustard greens, and ham. The peas, since they swell when cooked, symbolize prosperity; the greens symbolize money.”  This time I was determined to have my black eyed peas!

The black eyed peas were sauteed with peppers, onions and garlic.  I cooked the brown rice in my rice cooker with tomatoes and cajun seasoning, and brightened it up with a splash of lemon juice at the end.  For the collards I used the Sauteed Collard Greens recipe from VCON.  This is basically how I like to cook my greens, but following the recipe I think they came out a bit tastier.  Especially because of the four cloves of garlic.  Instead of the stock I used water mixed with chicken broth seasoning, worcestershire sauce and soy sauce.

I wish everyone a happy and prosperous 2009!

13 Comments »

  1. VeggieGirl said

    WOWZA!!! Can I hire you to bring food to my next party??? 😀

    Happy New Year!!

  2. Larissa said

    wow tons of delicious food!

  3. Mandee said

    So much foooood! Looks like a great potluck!

  4. What a spread!! The Peepshow Hashbrowns are so freaky! 🙂

  5. Ricki said

    I should never read blogs before I eat anything!! Now I want to run to the kitchen and whip up–oh, any of those dishes. Everything looks amazing–glad you had such a good time!

  6. Cedarblue said

    Oh my, all that wonderful vegan food!

    num num

  7. chow vegan said

    Wow, that’s an amazing spread! and I love the Pee Wee Herman theme idea! Happy New Year! 🙂

  8. melisser said

    Thanks for coming, it was great to see you & your food rocked! I did a little post about it too: http://theurbanhousewife.blogspot.com/2009/01/pee-wees-veg-adventure-holiday-treats.html

  9. Liz² said

    ooh, what a blow by blow report of the potluck, Ilove how even your plate looks goofy and pee-wee-ish! Wish I could have tasted it!

  10. Lauren said

    oh man, thats soo much amazing food, i dont even know where to start! haha
    the french toast bites are soo adorable though.
    and what a nice way to bring in 2009 with black eyed peas, i didnt get to do that..but hopefully it brings lots of goodness to your year! 🙂

  11. molotess said

    Yay for your awesome blog!! My quinoa and shooters are famous. I don’t know what I love more: your blog or your french toast.
    Happy cooking 🙂
    -Tess

  12. Wow. What a delicious spread. Darn it. I wished I lived in SF.

  13. […] Happy New Year! […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

