Farmers Market Roasted Veggie Salad

Last weekend I had some free time Saturday morning, so I went to the farmers market.  I don’t think I can say enough how much I love the farmers market.

On a tangent of sorts, bf and I always laugh about how whenever someone is walking with groceries in the movies there are carrot tops or a baguette sticking out the top of the bag.  Always.  Even though in real life you never see it.  So I chuckled when my bag looked like this.

For less than $19 I got all this:

broccoli, swiss chard, carrots, golden beets, fingerling potatoes, salad greens

persimmons, kiwi, navel orange, apples, asian pear, sourdough bread

I’ve been thinking about how I never eat salads anymore because it’s so darned cold all the time.  So I figured, I’ll make a warm salad that’s still healthy and chock full of good stuff.  I roasted the potatoes, beets, broccoli, carrots and some leeks I had in the fridge.  I made a sweet triple mustard dressing from yellow, brown and dijon mustards, agave, and a dash of white wine vinegar.  No oil, salt or pepper in the dressing since the roasted veggies already had them.  Toss the dressing with the warm roasted veggies and serve over greens, and you’ve got a happy tummy.

I also sprinkled chopped carrot tops on the salad.  I found out that they’re totally edible and pretty nutritious.  They taste good – just a little bitter, which was a nice counter to the tangy, sweet dressing.

The next morning, I continued my quest for the perfect pancake.  I picked up some of Bob’s Red Mill buckwheat pancake & waffle mix, and gave it a whirl.

I used egg replacer and subbed applesauce for the oil.  They looked very nice and pretty fluffy, but the texture was a little gummy and they tasted “healthy”.  I’m definitely okay with making these for myself, but they’re not that exact perfect pancake I’m looking for.  On with the search!

10 Comments »

  1. VeggieGirl said

    HAHA!! You’re so right about the grocery bags in the movies 😀

    AMAZING EATS!!!

  2. Larissa said

    gorgeous vegetables, it all looks so fresh!

  3. Mom said

    Hey, you used your Piggly Wiggly bag. Your southern “roots” are showing!

  4. melisser said

    Mmm, that salad sounds great! I love the Farmers Market so much!

  5. Chi-Chi said

    Looks great! I just trued the pancake recipe from You Won’t Believe It’s Vegan with excellent results!

  6. Ha, I was gonna comment on the Piggly Wiggly bag too! Memphis is actually home to the first Piggly Wiggly store ever. Founded in 1916 by Clarence Saunders, who is regarded as a bit of a saint in these parts….even though the modern-day Pig stores in Memphis are kinda nasty. The one by my house smells like rotting produce, but I go there for little quick items and beer.

  7. Mandee said

    Wow, I love the look of that salad, Erin! And I also want some of those blueberries, yum!

  8. Erin said

    Ooooooh persimmons!!! 🙂

  9. Oh my! Look at all the veggie goodness! The roasted veggies look so delicious! And you’re so right about the grocery bags in movies with things sticking out of them!

  10. […] has come to an end.  You may recall that I’ve been trying in vain to make what I consider the perfect pancake.  Well, I finally did it.  In a stroke of what might be called utter genius,  I used the recipe […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

