100th Post! Sweets Swap

Yep.  I started this little blog just over nine months ago, and this is my 100th post!  I feel like I should’ve done something big for it.  I knew it was coming.  I should’ve, and I didn’t.  But I did go to a PPK-arranged vegan sweets swap, and I have pictures to prove it.  Also check out Melisser’s and Herbstonne’s posts with more pictures.  They got there before I did so they have better photos of the spread.

Everyone brought sweets to share.  There were a lot of people, and WAY too many sweets.  I brought a tupperware container with me, and I immediately put most of this away so I wouldn’t be tempted to eat it all.

I’m not even sure what some of this is, but all of it was delicious.  Melisser made this ridiculous layered trifle thing with custard, brownies, chic-o-sticks and magic.  Everyone quickly went into a sugar coma.

I made speculaas to take.  I’d never heard of speculaas until I saw them on Cupcake Kitteh, and I was immediately interested in trying them out.  According to Wikipedia, “speculaas is a type of shortcrust biscuit, traditionally baked for consumption on St. Nicholas’ Eve (December 5)  in Belgium and the Netherlands”.  They typically have all those wintery spices, like cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and cloves.  I used the same recipe Mandee used, and like her I made them gluten free since that would provide more options for party goers.  I also added black pepper, cause Wikipedia said I could.

Since I changed up the recipe quite a bit, I am going to post it.  My coworker at my fairly new job said of the leftovers “I never would’ve known it was vegan!”.  They have just been introduced to the excellence that is vegan baked goods.

Speculaas

1 Tbs ground flax
3 Tbs hot water
1 c brown rice flour
1/2 c quinoa flour or other gluten free flour
1/4 tsp xantham gum
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp  cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1/4 tsp ground cloves
1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 c earth balance, softened
3/4 c firmly packed light brown sugar
finely grated rind of 1 large lemon
whole almonds, halved, or slivered almonds

In a small bowl, whisk together the ground flax and hot water.  Set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine the next nine ingredients (rice flour through salt).

In the bowl of a stand mixer or with a hand mixer, cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Beat in the flax mixture and lemon zest until well combined.  Add the flour mixture and beat until combined.  Flatten the dough into a round, wrap it in plastic wrap, and refrigerate for at least an hour or overnight.

Preheat the oven to 350 F.  Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

Roll the dough into 1 inch balls and place on the prepared cookie sheet, spacing 2 inches apart.  Using the bottom of a glass dipped in sugar, flatten each ball of dough to 1/4 inch thick.  Press an almond half into the top of the cookie, or sprinkle with slivered almonds.  Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until lightly browned around the edges.  Remove from oven and transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Makes about 3 dozen.

Also attending the party were two very precious dogs.  Molly, who I like to call Snaggletooth.

And Strummer, who is just…small.  And awesome.

So, Happy 100 To Me!  The non-contest I spoke of in my Thanksgiving post is still on.  Whoever posts my 1,000th approved comment will get a package of sweets in the mail.  I was a little premature in announcing…a little further from 1000 than I thought.  But hey, I was in the spirit of thanks and giving and whatnot.  So even if it’s just about how cute Molly and Strummer are, gimme a post!

ETA:  Eep!  I left the xantham gum out of the recipe.  Just added it.  – 12/12

20 Comments »

  1. Vegetation said

    Happy 100th post 🙂 That plate of cookies (well both plates of cookies) look awesomely good. I love spekulaas! Yum!

    And both your puppies are too adorable!

  2. amey said

    Snaggletooth & Strummer are so cute!!!!!
    The sweeties look delicious. What’s all this I’ve been hearing about speculaas? They seem to be getting an awful lot of press! 🙂

  3. Those cookies are so pretty! And congrats on your 100th post.

  4. Ricki said

    Congrats on your 100th! And a sweets swap sounds like heaven to me!

  5. VeggieGirl said

    HAPPY 100TH POST!!

    Mmm, sweets!!

    Cuuuuute pups – Melisser’s little Strummer is a doll, for sure, haha. And Molly is cute too!!

  6. Megan said

    Look at all those yummy sweets and the cute dogs! Congrats on #100!

  7. Kiersten said

    The sweet-swap sounded like fun. It looks like everyone brought lots of yummy treats. Your speculaas sound good. I never heard of these before recently, I will have to try your recipe.

    Congrats on 100 posts!

  8. anardana said

    Cute cookies and dogs and you!

  9. Carrie said

    Congrats on your 100th!

    All those sweets look so good!

  10. Jennifer said

    I almost went into a sugar coma just reading this post! Wow! Congrats on 100 posts, and wahoo for all those amazing looking vegan goodies. I love the sound of the speculaas, I’ve never heard of them, but that doesn’t mean I shouldn’t get familiar.

    Those pups are too cute.

    Have a great weekend!

  11. J said

    Aw, I miss your treats, BUT I’m happy to report I’m wearing the same skinny jeans today that I wore to your Christmas party two years ago (they’ve been in the back of my closet, haunting my fat butt)

    I know when you Dave moved away I’d lose some weight. The infinite quantities of beer, bbq and the baked goods aren’t as accessible.

    But I still miss your treats!

  12. Aimee said

    I keep hearing/reading so much about these cookies lately. I must give them a try. Yours look wonderful!

  13. Happy 100th post!!! Yea! And holy crap, that is a sugar coma waiting to happen. I bet ya’ll all have cavities now. 🙂

  14. Melisser said

    I still hurt from all those cookies. They sent me over the sugary edge. I liked your cookies! I didn’t know they were gluten free. I’ll have to make sometimes since I’m trying to be gluten-light these days. Happy 100!

  15. brandi said

    those cookies look amazing and really make me want some. so awesome.

  16. Liz² said

    happy 100th! nothing like a giant plate full of cookies to celebrate it, too! and thanks for the spekulass recipe, it looks great and I’m bookmarking it for christmas. 🙂

  17. Congrats on your 100th post and I think it was a good post topic, sweet treats!

    I’m also glad you liked the Speculaas as did everyone else, they’re a great holiday biscuit 🙂

  18. I’m totally making your Speculaas cookies for Christmas, they were so yummy! They’re called Spekulatius in German and all my cookies this year are German(-ish). 🙂

  19. Diann said

    That is one great looking plate of cookies. Happy 100th!

  20. veganf said

    That vegan sweet swap looks fantastic! So jealous!!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

