Good News, Bad News & Laptop Lunches

The good news is that I’m back to work and back to making laptop lunches every day.  The bad news is that my camera died and I had to take pictures of my lunches on my cellphone and I thought it was going to be a while before I got another camera.  The good news is that I got a new camera yesterday, a digital Fujifilm with a good feel and lots of nice features.  Hooray for spending more money I don’t have!

Here are the lunches I took last week, courtesy of my cell phone.

uncheese and crackers leftover from Halloween, spinach salad with apple,
red onion & balsamic vinaigrette, pumpkin cookie

veggie stirfry, wheat spaghetti, cashews for the stirfry, gherkins, grapes

chickpea-uncheese spread, wheat crackers, lettuce, broccoli, red peppers, goddess dressing, grapes

The chickpea-uncheese spread was an idea I had to use up some of the uncheese scraps, kind of like a chickpea no-tuna salad.  I thought it might go horribly wrong, but it was worth a try.  I mashed chickpeas and uncheese together and added dijon mustard and minced celery and red onion.  It wasn’t anything worth raving about, but it was good!  I’m glad I didn’t let all the leftover uncheese go to waste.  Here’s how I served it for dinner.

There are crackers under the lettuce.  I liked this presentation a lot, it was like a nice little bite you’d get for an appetizer at a party.

More good news:  I checked out the other farmers market in San Leandro, the one that purportedly goes year round.  I wasn’t expecting much from a farmers market held in a mall parking lot, but I was so pleasantly surprised!  There was practically every kind of fruit and vegetable you could want, even some things I didn’t recognize.  I think the Saturday farmers market is even better than the Wednesday one that closed down already.  More parking, more vendors, and Saturday is much better for me than the middle of the week.  I got all this for under $18!

Veggies:  zucchini, yams, fingerling potatoes, cauliflower, lettuce, small butternut squash, leeks (huge!), cucumbers, an eggplant, and a daikon radish on the bottom left.  I thought it was a parsnip at first, but I don’t think I’ve ever had a daikon so it suits me just fine.

Fruit:  strawberries, navel oranges, and kiwis!!!!!  These kiwis were the real find.  As much as I love kiwis, I’ve been avoiding buying them in stores since they’re always shipped from New Zealand or somewhere equally far away.  I didn’t even know kiwis grew in California!  Awesome.  I’ll probably try to go back in the next few weeks and stock up so I can freeze a bunch.  I love kiwis in smoothies.

Even with all this amazing produce on hand, I was feeling completely lazy and not up to cooking last night.  In the afternoon I went to going-out-of-business sales at Mervyn’s and Circuit City to hopefully scope out some deals.  These sales are crowded and draining and never as cool as you hope for.  The only thing I bought was my new camera, which is turning out to be great.  By dinner time I was pooped, and embarrassing as it may be, I ordered pizza delivery.

It’s from a local chain called Mountain Mike’s.  It’s so nice to be able to order a pizza and have it delivered sometimes!

And, to prove that I don’t always drink schwag, I decided to take a picture of this tasty beer a la my friend Tom at One Brew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest, a fellow recent FL to CA mover.  Although looking now he seems to have stopped doing the whole beer-bottle-next-to-beer-in-a-glass thing.  Tom, are you taking pictures on the floor?  It’s cool.  I take pictures on the floor too.

I have a thing for seasonal beers.  I love summer ales in the summer and winter ales in the winter.  They’re just so…appropriate.  The Pyramid Snow Cap is a great beer.  It’s got the hoppiness of an ale, with plenty of malt to balance.  It’s darker like a stout but still with the characteristics of an ale.  It has good flavor without being overwhelming.  I like to talk about beer like I know what I’m saying.  The bottom line is, try the Snow Cap winter ale!  Or anything else from Pyramid, which is headquartered in Berkeley.  The Apricot Ale is particularly good too.

I may do an occasional beer review, depending.  This will probably be the only non-cheap beer I’ll drink for a while anyway.

I have plans for my farmers market goods which I will hopefully carry out in the next few days.  I will report back.  Everyone have a great Veteran’s Day!  I have Tuesday off.  Yes.

13 Comments »

  1. Aw, such a cute Halloween lunch- I love the shapes of the uncheese and crackers!

  2. Mandee said

    I love your laptop lunches! And you’ve got me thinking about that Uncheese cookbook too!

  3. Megan said

    Look at all that great produce! Love all the lunches!

  4. VeggieGirl said

    So sorry about your camera dying 😦 But hooray for delectable laptop lunches!!! 🙂

    Sooo lucky you have Tuesday off – enjoy!!

  5. Katy said

    Yay for a new camera and finding a year-round farmer’s market!!!

  6. jessy said

    your lunches look super healthy! sorry your camera died. how frustrating!

    hooray for a tasty use with the remainder of the uncheese. sounds super tasty to me! mmmmmmmmmmmm! i enjoy seasonal beers as well – you’re so right – they’re very appropriate! i just love ’em! yay!

    i’m so jealous you’ve got a year round farmer’s market – that’s glorious! and that’s also one glorious haul you’ve got there, too! can’t wait to see what you make with all of the yummies! wahooooooooooo!

    enjoy your tuesday off!

  7. Jennifer said

    Wahoo for having Tuesday off! I wish we did, but sadly, we do not. 😦

    I’m happy you are back to your laptop lunches. They always make me wish my lunches were as inspired as your are.

    Wahoo for the new camera and that lovely haul from the farmer’s market. Those ARE some big leeks!

  8. Erin said

    OMG everything looks sooooo tasty!! 🙂

  9. Melisser said

    That’s awesome that you found a good, local farmers market! I’d be a bit weary of some of the sellers, some are notorious for buying veggies off a truck, so you may have to do some snooping to figure out who actually grows there.

    For seasonal beer, Ryan loves Samuel Smith Winter Welcome & anything Anchor Steam makes! We should do the Anchor Steam tour sometime, it’s free & you get to drink for free!

  10. Your lunches look great! I’m impressed that you have something different each day – I end up eating the same lunch alllll week long (by Friday I can hardly stand it).

  11. Yay for the return of the laptop lunches! They’re definitely my favorite part of your great blog :o).

  12. Pyramid Apricot is my favorite beer in the whole world ever! But I’ve never seen the Snow Cap. I’ll have to look for that!

  13. Hey, it’s me again! This time I’m tagging you for a meme…go to my blog for the details.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

