VeganMoFo: Halloween Potluck

Yeah, so VeganMoFo technically ended on Friday, but I’m counting this as my last MoFo post cause it happened on Friday and I didn’t have a chance to post until now.

I was very excited to be invited to Melisser’sHalloween potluck party!  I’d seen posts about her parties online before and they looked like fun, so I was looking forward to it all week.  I had a great time, and the food was fantastic!  It was so nice to look at a whole table-full of food and know that I could eat any of it.

(It looks like Melisser just beat me to posting about the party, so go check out her post too!)

I’ll start with what I made:  corn crackers (bats and black cats), wheat crackers (skulls and ghosts), and two kinds of uncheese cut into pumpkins, acorns and leaves.

The corn crackers are from this recipe.  I couldn’t find any blue corn meal anywhereso I used regular corn meal and added black food coloring.  I rolled them out a little bit thick, but they were very tasty.  Kind of like a thick corn chip.  The wheat crackers are from How To Cook Everything (not to be confused with How To Cook Everything Vegetarian), and they need work.  They were lacking in flavor (although the recipe does recommend adding herbs and such), and they puffed up and were chewy instead of crunchy.  Maybe I just didn’t bake them long enough.  The uncheeses are from The Uncheese Cookbook, Gooda and Pepper Jack.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies, recipe here.  These were soooooo good.  BF said they are the best thing I’ve ever baked.  Make them!  I used the cream cheese icing from VCTOTW.

Caramel apples and faux Butterfingers (chocolate covered Chick-O-Stics), made by Melisser.

Buffalo tofu and blue sheese dressing, also by Melisser.  The dressing was out-of-this-world good.

Becca’s favorite baked beans.

Awesome molded mound of rice, tempeh taco meat and avocado, potstickers, and eggplant dip.

Mummy dogs!

My plate.

My bowl, also with pumpkin soup.

More dessert:  Candy Cane Jo Jo’s, faux Butterfingers, chocolate covered pretzels and a pb chocolate chip cookie.

Plateful of caramel apple pieces so we could all share.

There were lots of great costumes, but I think Melisser and her husband Ryan took the prize – they were Peter Pan and Captain Hook, and their itty bitty doggie Strummer was supposed to be the crocodile, but she kept shaking off her outfit.

She’s so ridiculously cute.  And small.  After she shook off her costume again, Melisser put on her hat which was knitted by Kittee herself!

Although I was never on the official participant list since I started late, I’m glad I did VeganMoFo.  It definitely got me back into blogging and cooking.  I started my new job yesterday, so I’m not really sure yet how much time I’ll be able to dedicate.  I’ll probably be back to blogging a couple times a week.  But, the good news is I’m back to packing laptop lunches every day.

P.S. Obama won!  Woohoooooo!!!  Now we’re crossing our fingers, waiting to hear the results of the prop 8 vote.  If it passes it will take away the right of same sex couples to marry, and I will not be happy about it.

15 Comments »

  1. vegyogini said

    How lucky you were to have been at that party! No on prop 8 isn’t looking so great right now, but I’m holding onto hope that it will be defeated and I will wake up to that news. Hooray for President Elect Barack Obama!!!

    Congratulations on your new job!

  2. Mandee said

    Wow, what a great potluck, all the food looks fantastic!

  3. mihl said

    What a spread! Looks like an awesome Halloween party.

  4. melisser said

    Thank you for coming to the party! Those Whoopie Pies were so so so good! You got great shots of the food & I love the Crocodile Strummer one!

  5. Megan said

    Look at all that awesome fun food! Love the crocodile suit and the hat!

  6. VeggieGirl said

    So freaking fun!! And VEGAN CARAMEL APPLES?!??!! You should check out my latest blog post 🙂

  7. KittyPaws said

    OMG…all of that food looks amazing! I am so jealous. Sounds like you had a great party surrounded by great people.

  8. Carrie said

    Wow look at all of that food!! I’m so jealous! Looks like it was a great time though, glad you had a Happy Halloween!

  9. Looks awesome – I just stayed in and worked on finishing the quilt. Last night, however, I went to Eric’s for dinner with him, his sweetie and my sweetie. He asked me to assist in Sunday’s class at the restaurant – there may still be space available for this weekend’s Fall Harvest Cooking Class! I highly recommend – they are fun, and, of course, you’ll get to meet me (and other vegans).

  10. kittee said

    all that food looks insanely good. thanks for linking to the pumpkin whoopie pie recipe too, i saved it to try someday.

    strum strum is the cutest!
    xo
    kittee

  11. Vegetation said

    Mmmm yummy food overload (I would’ve been in heaven!). Plus, Strummer is just too adorable!!!

  12. Diann said

    That’s a lot of great looking food. Thanks for the whoopie pie recipe link. They look wonderful.

    That little dog is too much!

  13. I can’t get the sentence “molded mound of rice, tempeh taco meat and avocado” out of my mind… tempeh and avocado?! why haven’t I tried that?! But everything, really everything looks awesome.

  14. Sucks about prop 8! I really expected that it go the right way and continue with marriage rights, but I guess the dumb conservatives are everywhere…even in California.

    I’m so jealous about the potluck! I’d love to go to a party at Melisser’s….all that food…damn.

    I just attempted making my first brick cheese from the Uncheese book last night and apparently my agar skills are lacking cause it didn’t firm up like yours. I gotta practice. For now, I’ll use the cheese as a spread.

  15. what an awesome looking bunch of yummies! i love that you made ‘cheese’ and crackers… i miss those for appetizers as a vegan, sometimes. so much deliciousness… overload!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

