VeganMoFo: Adzuki Beans & Winter Squash Saute

I made my way to Whole Foods today to get the ingredient I couldn’t find in town (adzuki beans), and so I made another recipe from my list – Adzuki Beans & Winter Squash Saute from Vegan Planet.

I had my doubts about how good a recipe like this would be, as there were only six ingredients, one being water.  But I wanted to try adzuki beans, and it seemed like a nice, simple way to introduce myself.  I’m glad I tried this recipe.  The tamari and shallots did something magical to the carnival squash, and the adzuki beans were a nice complement.  I’m not in love with the beans after my first try, but they’re tasty enough.  It was my first time trying a carnival squash too, it tasted kind of like acorn squash.

Plain steamed brussels sprouts on the side.  I normally roast my brussels, but bf and I had like four kitchen projects going on at the same time and the oven was occupied.  I had planned to make brown rice to go along as well but I didn’t remember until it was much too late, so I took a cue from Katie at Chocolate Covered Vegan and made savory oat bran.  It’s good!  I treated it like I do grits, adding a bit of earth balance, nutritional yeast, salt, pepper and parsley.  It kind of tasted like grits.  Oaty grits.

A lot of people say the same thing about Vegan Planet, that it’s such a big cookbook that they rarely actually make anything out of it.  I say take a look and give it a try!  I’ve made six recipes from VP now, and they were all excellent.  I’ll surely be digging through for more recipes to try soon.

11 Comments »

  1. mihl said

    This looks like a nice meal! I love everything beans.

  2. I like Vegan Planet too! I love the Asian Peanut Noodles – the best peanut sauce recipe I’ve tried.

  3. I haven’t made adzuki beans in a while, but I found them quite good last time! The recipe sounds great.

  4. VeggieGirl said

    Simple recipes/meals are the best!! 🙂

  5. Yup. That’s exactly what I was gonna say about Vegan Planet. I love it, but I’m a little intimidated by the size of it. Over the years, I’ve made quite a few recipes from it, but I rarely peruse it for fun like I do the VCon or VwaV. I have seen this adzuki bean recipe though and since I haven’t tried them either, I’ve briefly considered it. Maybe now’s the time for me to finally try it…I do have a few butternut squash waiting to be consumed.

  6. Aimee said

    I recently bought some rice grits (it’s intended as a hot cereal) and I’ve found myself making it as a savory side dish for those times when I don’t have time to make rice. It’s pretty good! I’ll have to try it with the oat bran sometime!

  7. melisser said

    I need to make more from Vegan Planet. I have some dry adzukis.. hmm.

  8. Nikki said

    I’m always thrilled to see brissels sprouts in any meal. And I love adzuki beans. I especially like them in Japanese candy!

  9. Nikki said

    Did I type BRISSELS instead of Brussels? Good heavens.

  10. kate said

    Looks awesome! I have to try making that oat bran.

  11. Aww, thanks for the shout-out. And the Adzuki-bean dish looks superb!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

