VeganMoFo: Double Pea Soup with Roasted Red Peppers

A quick post about tonight’s dinner.  It was chilly last night and this morning and I was craving soup, so I perused the list of recipes that fall into my plan.  I decided on Double Pea Soup with Roasted Red Peppers from Veganomicon, which I have been wanting to try for a while.

The soup is very good!  It’s nothing blow-your-mind phenomenal, but it’s a nice twist on split pea soup.  The peas, red pepper and ginger lend a fresh flavor that split pea doesn’t normally have.  Although next time I might try it with fresh bell pepper instead of roasted to make it even more fresh.

I thought about making rolls to eat along with the soup, but wasn’t feeling up to making more than one recipe tonight, so I picked up Trader Joe’s harvest multigrain loaf.  It was a perfect complement to the soup.  It’s not 100% whole grain, but it tastes very hearty and healthy.  It has seeds and crunchy grains throughout, and sopped up the soup really well.

13 Comments »

  1. Mandee said

    Mmmm soup, I just made some this evening too, it must be soup-weather everywhere!

  2. I’m making lots of soup these days too. Yours looks so colorful!

  3. VeggieGirl said

    Sensational soup!! And hooray for a perfect accompaniment that didn’t involve tons of kitchen work 🙂

  4. Jennifer said

    Yum, I’ve never had pea soup but it looks really good. I’ll have to check out that recipe. Bread and soup are perfect for each other, but I’m not too sure about making my own bread all the time. That is why I love having a great local bakery on my walk home from work. If I ever need anything – well, I just pop out of my office a few minutes early and stop in and get what I need!

    Sounds like you are doing really well with your plan so far.

  5. Eric said

    Hey that looks quite delicious! Now I’m craving some split pea soup….with fresh bell peppers 🙂

  6. Carrie said

    Yum looks like a nice warm comforting meal!

  7. mihl said

    I love split pea soup and roasted peppers. Can I have a bowl?

  8. Another good tip from Veganomicon! And using fresh peppers instead of roasted sure spares some time…

  9. I’ll have to try that soup! I’m a sucker for anything with roasted red peppers!

  10. hmm, I love anything with peas and this soup looks so hearty & perfect for this weather!

  11. jessy said

    that’s some might-fine look’n soup! mmmmmmmmmmm! and very cool on sticking with the list of awesome yummies that were so healthy! hooray! that bread sounds wonderful, too! gotta love a bread with crunchy grains and seeds – that’s my fav! yay!

  12. Erik said

    Since this is vegan, you obviously won’t be using any meat products to add flavor, but perhaps I can suggest rosemary? I use it in pea soup a lot, and it really matches well. It probably would not pair well with the ginger, but you might try it as a change one time.

  13. Ivy` said

    Hae you ever made the Moosewood’s split pea? Google that shit. It’s incredible.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

