VeganMoFo: Grilled Garlic & Black Pepper Tofu Lettuce Wraps

It’s a long name for a light, tasty meal.  I wanted to prepare the garlic & black pepper tofu from the farmers market in a very simple way so that the flavor would come through.  First I broke out the grill pan – check out my grill marks, yo.

The tofu was labelled as “firm”, but I would call it more extra-firm.  It held up to the grill very well.

Served with romaine and red bell pepper strips.  The contrast between the crunch of the veggies and warmth and chewy texture of the tofu was fantastic.  And the tofu flavor was great!  I could definitely taste the garlic and black pepper, but it wasn’t overwhelming.  I will definitely be picking up more Tofu Yu products at the farmers market and highly recommend anyone else in the area give them a try.  It’s not cheap by any means – this block was $4, but it’s a good portion of good tofu.

Carrot sticks with quick guacamole rounded out the meal and kept me full for hours.

Last night we stopped by a pumpkin farm that has a huge corn maze and a bunch of other activities, mostly aimed at families.  We walked around the corn maze for a while, which was totally creepy.  There was a petting zoo, which I normally love, but we were kind of in a hurry so I abstained.  I did see a sweet goat and a little piggy through the gate.  Check out all these pumpkins!

There were easily more than 15 times this amount of pumpkins.  So many pumpkins.

10 Comments »

  1. caits said

    rockstar grill marks.

  2. VeggieGirl said

    GUACAMOLE!!!! **swoons**

    Wow, look at all those pumpkins!! 😀

  3. melisser said

    Ooh, those grill marks are perfect!

  4. Cedarblue said

    Hi Erin

    I’m rather late here but thanks for the link to that thrifty site via the dog biscuits – some great ideas there.
    Also thanks for the PPK link – the swap idea sound fun and your box looks lovely indeed.

    I’m contuing to enjoy following your blog.

    Take care

    Cedar

  5. shellyfish said

    Damn, I need to get a grill pan so I can have cool marks like that on my food! What a healthy, yummy looking meal – and I love all those pumpkins!

  6. Carrie said

    I am so unbelievably jealous of your grill marks. Perfect.

  7. Diann said

    Lettuce wraps are always so yummy. Yes, your grill marks are perfection!

  8. jessy said

    your grill marks are perfect! that’s awesome! gotta love a tofu that holds up during a good grilling! glad the tofu was good, too – it looks awesome! we pay about $4.00 a block for the local stuff as well. it’s a bit pricey – but nice to support local yummies. the guac looks rock’n! that’s a LOT of pumpkins – wow! and corn mazes creep me out as well. i think i’ve seen too many horros movies or something – ahhhhahahahaha! looks like some good eats, indeed!

  9. Mandee said

    Amazing looking tofu!

  10. Niiice tofu!!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

