VeganMoFo: Care Package Swap

I signed up a while back to do an October care package swap through The PPK.  I kinda forgot about it until I got the e-mail assigning my partner.  We exchanged some e-mails about what we had available and what we would like, and got to shopping.  The spending limit was $20.

In my partner’s package was two Chinese newspapers (a special request, for gift wrapping), raw almonds, dried fruit, dried sweet potatoes, mesquite maple walnuts, a sample of the best cashew butter ever, gluten free crackers, a 70’s style baking dish, seeds for rainbow chard, mix cd’s, ras el hanout (a spice mix), lip balm and maybe one other thing or two that I’m not remembering.

She asked for things for her pets too, so I made some peanut butter dogbones.  The recipe was incredibly simple, the only ingredients were pb, wheat flour, baking powder and milk – I used rice milk if I remember correctly.  The recipe is here if you want to try.  I cut out bones for the dog and also made cat sized treats, but the cats ended up not liking them, so don’t make them for your kitties.  I tried to find a vegetarian cat treat recipe, but they don’t seem to exist.  At least not on the internet.

My package came in the mail today.  True story:  the mail man knocked on the door when I had just started an exercise video, and I only had a sports bra on on top.  Normally NOBODY gets to see me in this condition, but I was so excited that I didn’t care.

My package was so great!  She decorated it for Halloween inside and out.

I got some edibles – hot chow chow, plum salsa, peach salsa, blue agave nectar, oriental noodles, vanilla beans in the foil, and tea.

Homemade stuff:  energy bars and envelopes from used paper.  Awesome.

Fun stuff!  Stickers, a notebook, petit fours wrappers, gummi bears, coupons, deodorant, a lollipop, a froggy candle, and kids’ bathroom books!

And as if all that wasn’t enough, she sent me a bajillion butterscotch chips.  We can’t get these on the west coast, so most of them are for sharing with other PPKers.

Here’s one of the energy bars, which are very good.  I ate it pretty much immediately after opening the box and taking pictures.  Apart from some sugar and Earth Balance they fall into my plan, the main ingredients are oats and nuts.

I just signed up for another swap happening in late November/mid December.  Hopefully I’ll have a job and some income by then!

13 Comments »

  1. Ricki said

    Looks like you both got an amazing package! But what I find MOST astonishing (apart from those butterscotch chips–MMM!) is that you could get all that for $20!!! Things are obviously still more expensive in Canada. . .!!

  2. Dang, I feel like such a slacker for missing out on the PPK fun! I barely have time to keep up with blogs. 😦

    I guess I gotta make my own butterscotch chips if they aren’t available out here… less plastic packaging I suppose.

  3. sheree said

    What an awesome fun experience. Vegan Butterscotch chips, WoW!!!

  4. melisser said

    Ooh, fun swap! Butterscotch chips!!!

  5. VeggieGirl said

    Love the care-package swap goodies!! So fun.

    Okay, the mailman story is TOO FUNNY – I laughed out loud when I read that, haha 😀

  6. so nice that you made dog bones! And I love the Halloween wrapping in the one you got.

  7. Nicole said

    Woah! This is one fabulous package.

  8. shellyfish said

    I can’t believe you got all that for 20bucks! Good lord, you wouldn’t have been able to get the half of that for 20E! Great haul! And I love your idea of making the doggie bones!

  9. The dogbones are so sweet!

  10. Diann said

    Wow, what nice gifts! You must have made the mailman’s day 🙂

  11. Oh neat! I should really get more involved with the PPK! I’d love to do this…I may head over there now and find out how to sign up for the next swap.

  12. Vegannifer said

    I can’t believe you got all that stuff in a care package and that it totaled less than $20. You had a very thrifty swap partner.

    Great job on the dog biscuits. They look great and I hope your partner’s dog loved them!

  13. Mandee said

    Yay for package swaps, both yours and your partner’s packages sound great! I mailed mine out this morning 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

