VeganMoFo: A Very Vegan Weekend

I’m still not doing so well with the whole VeganMoFo thing.  I’m sure I’m not the only one though, it’s the thought that counts.  Right?  At any rate, tomorrow we will have internets at the house and I will no longer have to go to the public library to get it!

Last weekend was a very, very vegan weekend.  It started Friday night with the VegNews Vegan a Go-Go party for Sarah Kramer’s new cookbook of the same name.  It was a small party, so I’m glad I got a ticket when I did.  The site was a salon by day, and it was really cool how they opened it up and turned it into a party room.  There were beers on ice in the hair washing sinks, and most everything else was cleared out save a few styling chairs.  I came hungry which was good, because the food was great.  It was the “passed around on trays” kind of party hors dourves, including “rocket dogs” (pigs in blankets), “knuckle sandwiches” (some sort of smooth eggish salad on toast), mushrooms pate and onion dip.  Drinks were “pink ladies” (vodka and lemonade), PBR, and root beer floats made with organic root beer and Maggie Mud ice cream.  Dessert was coconut islands and chocolate chip cookies.  The soundtrack was Sinatra.  There were door prizes (which I won none of), and Sarah Kramer did some Q&A.  She is just as adorable in person as you would think.  I came armed with my camera and intentions of taking food pictures, but the room was so packed I felt it was better not to try.  I did get a picture with Sarah though!

Saturday was the first day of The SF Vegetarian Society’s World Veg Festival Weekend.  I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised.  There was food for sale, samples galore, food demos, talks, music, AR groups and other booths.  There were a few demos and talks I wanted to go too, but I got frustrated during the first demo I attended.  The chef (Jesse Miner) did a great job talking about heirloom beans, but some people in the crowd were asking incredibly basic question, some even completely off topic.  Jesse was extremely kind and patient.  I guess I was in a cranky mood, because I didn’t want to sit through any more talks.  We spend the rest of the time walking around and marveling at all the samples and information.  Oh, and eating.

I started with a taquito and beans, covered in SPICY avocado salsa.

My first treat of the day, a scrumptious brownie from Sugar Beat Sweets, which is run by Melisser of The Urban Housewife.

Miss Melisser, with her lovely assistant-for-the-day Mel, of Veglicious.

One of my favorite discoveries of the day:  Gone Nuts!  They make the most amazing flavored nuts, and had samples out of every kind.  I bought my favorites:  Maple walnuts (ridiculously better than they sound) and cacao almonds and raisins.  Supposedly they’re available in grocery stores around these parts, so I look forward to buying them again.

I ate a big cup of Maggie Mudd ice cream.  It was just as good as I thought it would be.  I forget exactly what the flavor were called, but on top is some sort of rum/caramel flavor which was extremely rummy.  Underneath was “Reversed Tarmack”.  All I remember is there was peanut butter and chocolate, and that’s all that matters.

Done with Veg Fest, we weren’t quite ready to leave.  Luckily the botanical gardens were right next door.  The gardens were large and beautifully layed out with lots of walking paths.  And the squirrels weren’t afraid to say hi.

I have to conclude that these squirrels get fed human food quite a bit, because they were begging the way a dog or a cat would!  A few of them sat up straight on their haunches like prairie dogs do, and one even raised a paw just like a dog begging for table scraps.

I went a little beserk with the plant picture taking, as I tend to do.  A few of my faves:

On the way out of Veg Fest I stopped back by Sugar Beat Sweets for some cupcakes.  I was going to a birthday party that night, so I got one for me, one for the birthday boy, and one for bf.  It was a gesture, really.  He doesn’t like cupcakes, so I knew I’d probably get to eat it…

In the front is PB&J, back is Mint Chocolate, and left is Orange Dreamsicle.  The birthday boy chose PB&J so in the end I ate half of the other two.  They were both great, but I have to say I was impressed with how good the Orange Dreamsicle cupcake was.  I didn’t think that would be a flavor I’d like that much, but it was downright great.

That does it for today!  Tomorrow I will be in possession of internets and then it’s full steam ahead.

12 Comments »

  1. I can’t believe I missed this – yet another year. I went once. I swear I did! It was at Ft Mason and very small and kinda lame… but every time it rolls around, I’m either in some big cooking project (pasta sauce!) or camping or something.

  2. Maureen said

    Oh my gosh, I’m so jealous… I love Sarah Kramer. She’s just so…. relatable!! I also love the t-shirt that Mel (or perhaps its Melisser) is wearing. Sounds like you had a great weekend!

  3. VeggieGirl said

    I commend you for even participating in Vegan MoFo – I simply don’t have the time to do so!! You’re doing great with posting, so no worries 🙂

    I’m SOOOOOO envious that you got to meet Sarah Kramer, Jesse Miner; and ESPECIALLY MELISSER!!! She’s such an awesome blogger 😀

    Gorgeous squirrels and cupcakes!!

  4. Lauren said

    aww such good food! especially the ice cream, i’m soo craving some tasty frozen treats right now!
    dont worry about being behind on vegan mofo, haha i wish i did it but i knew i wouldnt be very committed with all the school and such.. 🙂

  5. shellyfish said

    Wow! All these celebrity pictures! And the food! Geeze, makes me wanna head state-side!

  6. your plant photos are so artsy! very nice.

  7. Carrie said

    What an AWESOME weekend! VegFest looks like such a great time and that’s neat you met Sarah Kramer!

  8. I get so jealous when I read about such events where you get vegan food… but that doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy reading!
    I want a vegan cupcake too!

  9. […] first meal started with these maple walnuts, which I raved about in this post.  They’re a little bit sweet, a little bit spicy, and crunchier than any other walnuts […]

  10. melisser said

    So glad you came to VegFest, it was great seeing you! Thanks for your kind words about the cupcakes, they look like they weren’t too crumpled from travel!

  11. aTxVegn said

    Oh, man, I’m totally jealous. I love that picture of you and Ms. Kramer!

  12. Thanks for coming to my cooking demo at the World Veg Festival. I had a wonderful time presenting some of my favorite heirloom beans! 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

