My First Sushi

My first homemade sushi, that is.  BF and I have been wanting to try our hand at sushi making for quite a while, so we finally bit the bullet and bought the supplies.  I kept the fillings simple, and tried a few different kinds of sushi.

Overall it wasn’t that difficult.  The rolls came together okay even without the use of a bamboo mat, but it turned out our knives weren’t very sharp.  My rolls got pretty mangled when I tried to cut them, but I kind of squeezed each piece back together, and they held together alright with chopsticks.

Everything tasted good, but I think my favorite was the nigiri in the middle.  I’m a sucker for white rice but try to choose brown more often, so the huge bites of seasoned rice were really good.

The second best part of homemade sushi?  Leftovers = sushi bowl!  Or sushi tupperware, as it were.

We had fun playing with our food, and will definitely attempt sushi again in the near future.

On a side note, I bought a ticket to the VegNews Vegan a Go-Go Book Bash on October 3rd.  I also plan on going to World Veg Festival Weekend on October 4th or 5th.  Anybody else plan on going to either?

On another side note, I got a job!  BF has some second interviews going on, so hopefully soon we’ll be looking for a place to live and I can get back to my regularly scheduled life.  I’m pretty excited, and also pretty overwhelmed.  I have to remember to take everything one step at a time, and getting a job was the first very important step.

17 Comments »

  1. culinarychick said

    I have a question;

    I tried like the devil to make homemade sushi, and it didn’t taste like it does in sushi bars. First, I followed the recipe with the rice, and i found that it didn’t have the clean taste that the sushi bars achieve. I used all of the freshest ingredients, and I still was left wanting. This is what i made

    California roll
    Spider Roll ( soft shell crab)
    Tuna sashimi

    Now I know you are vegan; and can’t attest to the seafood versions but, did your sushi turn out like the restaurant versions? If so, did you vinegar the rice? Can you tell me exactly what you did, so I can try it again?

    Thanks

  2. Nicole said

    Your sushi looks awesome! I love the idea of a sushi bowl, now I can bring sushi to school without the hassle of rolling my own!! I had a really hard time rolling sushi. Good job!!

  3. VeggieGirl said

    That’s your first time making sushi!!?!?!??! My goodness, you’re a pro!!

  4. Megan said

    I am so impressed. Your sushi looks delectable!

  5. shellyfish said

    Your plate is just stunning! I’ve never actually made sushi rolls before -I’ve made nori rolls with veggies & stuff, but not with rice…you have inspired me! I mean it, really, really beautiful! And congrats on the Job!

  6. They’re almost too pretty to eat… almost! We’ve been humoring flying into SF for the VegFest – I miss SF so much!

  7. Jennifer said

    Congrats on the beautiful sushi and your new job!

  8. Carrie said

    Congrats on the job! And congrats on making sushi for the first time!

  9. Such good news that you got a job! I’ve never made sushi. It looks like you had a lot of fun and yours turned out beautifully.

  10. Sadao said

    I like the way the sushi is presented on the plate. Beatiful arrangement. It’s Sunday morning, and I wish I could have this for breakfast.

  11. Mandee said

    Erin, that sushi looks amazing! Well done 🙂

  12. Congrats on the job! Yea! And the sushi looks great. I never have a sharp enough knife either. All mine suck and sushi gets a little squished up.

  13. jessy said

    wow! i would have never thought that was your first time making sushi – it’s AWESOME! and your sushi bowl = gloriously fantastical!

    superw00t!

  14. Impressive round of first sushi!! And yes, a very sharp serrated knofe is key to cutting those suckers.

    Oh I am so bummed I am missing the vegan a go-go book bash and veg fest!! I will be one week late… but to make up for it at least I get to spend two weekend in San Francisco!

    And congrats on the job 🙂

  15. Good job! I still haven’t tackled the inside out rolls yet! I love the variety you guys made.

  16. atxvegn said

    Amazing work for your first sushi, and how in the world did you roll them without a mat?!!!!

    Congratulations on the job!

  17. shah said

    Your blog look similar like my blog ..visit myblog @ Becoming a VegetarianDont forget to add me to your site ..Thanks..

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

