Wrapping Up – Random Meals

I wanted to make this post before I left Gainesville, but as most of us know packing, cleaning and moving is incredibly time consuming.  So tonight I write from Lafayette, Louisiana, where we are staying after our first (very long) day of driving.

I didn’t get to eat all the food from my freezer and pantry that I wanted to use up, but I did what I could.  I’m gonna keep this one short, cause it is close to sleepy time.

First, a truly random meal that was composed of everything I could find in the fridge:  herbed tofu, carrots and broccoli w/ tamari and dill, bulgur pilaf and a strawberry jalapeno corn muffin.  Somehow it worked.

A fairly composed meal almost entirely from the pantry – chickpeas rogan josh, instant mashed potatoes w/ peas and turmeric, and steamed broccoli.

I used this canned rogan josh curry sauce, which I had picked up meaning to try with tofu.  It tasted really nice with the chickpeas though, almost like an Indian-flavored baked beans.

If you look in the background you can see the potato buds that I spilled all over the counter.

It’s always a bonus when your meal resembles a smiley face.  (“Good morning, breakfast!” “Good morning, Peewee!”)

Inspired by Caroline at The Broccoli Hut, I made a breakfast parfait with pieces of bran muffin.  This one also had peach soy yogurt, blueberries and flax flakes cereal.

As moving day got closer, I became less and less inclined to prepare food.  One day I picked up some slices from Leo’s By The Slice.  They have a spot labelled “vegan” on the pizza display and make cheeseless pies a couple times a day.  I think the toppings are at the whim of whomever is making it, so it’s always different.  Sometimes they use tofu, chickpeas or even tempeh, but more often than not it’s just all the veggies.  Often, they line the whole pizza with spinach under the other toppings, which is really good.  A couple times I have gone to find no vegan slices available, but their garden salad is great and the pasta marinara is vegan too, not to mention the rolls and delicious marinara.  So if you’re ever in Gainesville, stop by Leo’s for a quick slice.

I think a lot of pets freak out when you start moving stuff out of your home and shuffling things around, but not Jake.  He enjoyed sitting in and laying on all the newly unoccupied spaces.  This is the bottom shelf of a bookcase, in case it’s not obvious.

Lastly, our friend Nate had folks over last weekend to grill and practice black jack.  I made a “throw everything in a bowl” pasta salad with red onion, carrot, cucumber, artichoke hearts, olives, pimientos, chickpeas, parsley and probably a couple other things I’m forgetting.  The dressing was just vegennaise, balsamic, lemon juice, salt and pepper.  It was well received, and made a ton so I had leftovers.

I also made a chocolate pudding pie with a crust from the freezer.  I wanted to try the VWAV chocolate pudding recipe, but I had JUST packed up all my cookbooks.  So I looked it up online, but I’m not going to post a link because A) I’m not sure it’s the exact recipe, and B) it didn’t set up properly.  I’ll try again when I have the book for reference.

The good news was it tasted great, even if it ran everywhere and plated up funny.

It’s bedtime for me here in Louisiana.  We have a couple more loooong days left of driving, then a stop in Las Vegas and possibly a jaunt to Anaheim before we arrive in NorCal.  I’m trying to document as much awesome (read: awful) roadtrip food as possible and will post again when we arrive.  Until then…

11 Comments »

  1. froggylove said

    That pizza looks soooooooooo good. mmmm pizza.

  2. julieannef said

    strawberry jalapeno corn muffin?! tasssty the pizza looks mighty good too!

    i gave you a blog award-check it out 🙂

    -julie
    http://kindkitchen.wordpress.com/

  3. Caroline said

    You never cease to amaze me with your creativity–I would never have thought to jazz up instant mashed potatoes like that!
    That pizza looks fantastic!
    Oh, and I’m so glad you tried the muffin parfait:)

  4. veganverve said

    Good luck on the move! It surely is exhausting! The herbed tofu you mentioned in the first photo, was that tofu that you did yourself or was that the kind of herbed tofu you can get in the package? Just curious cause it looks good and I’m interested in what herbs you used!

  5. VeggieGirl said

    The pudding cake still sounds perfect to me!! :0)

    Aww, Jake :0)

    Good luck with your long day of driving!!

  6. Eric said

    Wow, all this looks great. Good idea with putting turmeric in the mashed potatoes….I’m gonna do that from now on too! I love the Royal Caribbean cup you have your smoothie in…..I saved mine as well, from my trip to Ensenada haha.

    The pie looks awesome…..making me hungry for chocolate….

    Ooh if you pass through Anaheim…..you’ll be right by me! I live about 10 minutes from Disneyland 🙂

  7. Hope the roadtrip food is better than you are anticipating!! Your pantry meals look delicious!

  8. Cyn said

    Oh man, both of those meals and the pasta salad look delicious! I wish my stuff turned out that good when I was just throwing random stuff together.

  9. Erin said

    I’m sad that you’re moving away from FL, but jealous that your destination is NoCal!
    Please tell me you’re planning to stop by Ronald’s Donuts while in Vegas….. 😉

  10. Aw, that sucks that your pie ran all over the place. I recently made the VWAV pudding & I think it came out plenty thick to put into pie form. Must have been a recipe mistake. :o(

  11. anardana said

    Everything looks good! yum!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

