Whirlwind Weekend

Greetings.  I had a great food and friends weekend, and I wanted to write this post Monday morning, but I woke up with a terrible sore throat.  Soon it became the kind of sickness that completely knocks you out, and by nighttime I had a fever.  Yesterday I went to the doctor and found out I have strep throat so I filled her prescriptions, took the pills, and again was knocked out.  Last night I was far too lethargic and nauseous to type anything, so here I am Wednesday morning, pre-med ingestion, to write out this post that’s been hanging over my head then resign myself to another day of boredom and nausea.

When I was in high school, if I spent a Friday night alone I would get really depressed.  Now I find I’m perfectly content to spend an entire Friday night at home cooking, and that is what I did on Friday.  I knew Saturday I was going to have no free time, so I cooked and prepped everything Friday night.  I also made pesto pizza for dinner using farmers market basil and tomatoes and VWAV pizza crust from the freezer.

pesto pizza

Upon taking the crust out of the freezer, I was reminded how awesome I am, because I had included this note to myself on how to bake it, so I wouldn’t have to look it up again.

pizza note

The pesto recipe and tofu ricotta were also from VWAV.  I put the red onion on sparingly, but afterwords wished I had put more on, because it was really yummy.

pesto pizza

Janeen had invited me to brunch Saturday morning, so I got up and finished up the food to take to her place.  I made what I’m calling Monkey Rolls – banana-chocolate-walnut cinnamon rolls.  I made the Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls from the Don’t Eat Off the Sidewalk zine, subbing mashed banana for the pumpkin and adding chocolate chips and chopped toasted walnuts to the filling.  I also subbed canola oil for the margarine in both the rolls and the filling, as Janeen is allergic to soy.  I was most nervous about that substitution, but they turned out great.

monkey rolls

I had intentions of icing them with both vanilla and chocolate and almost skipped the chocolate part for lack of time, but I’m glad I went with both because I think the chocolate icing was the part that really took them over the top.

monkey rolls

I also made what I envisioned to be baked black bean & sweet potato taquitos.  Friday night I made the fillings, which were Refried Black Beans from Yellow Rose Recipes, and a sweet potato mash with lime juice, cilantro and minced chipotles.  Saturday morning I made my first homemade wheat tortillas from this recipe.  I made 12 tortillas instead of the 8 the recipe calls for, to make them smaller.

tortillas

They turned out really well for a first attempt, but they weren’t as pliable as I had hoped.  I wrapped each one around some of the black beans and sweet potato, secured them with a toothpick, and baked for about 15 minutes.  Right around the time I was trying to finish photgraphing and pack up for Janeen’s house, a crazy storm started rolling in and took all my light.  So I skeedaddled to Janeen’s just in time to beat the rain and took the rest of the photos by flash, and candlelight because Janeen is romantic like that.

taquitos

So the taquitos didn’t wrap up as I had hoped, but they tasted really good.  I served them with a quick guacamole and homemade enchilada sauce.  I like the enchilada sauce you can buy at the store (Old El Paso?) but felt like trying homemade.  I figured it couldn’t be too difficult.  I was skeptical about just how much a roux would do for an enchilada sauce, but it really did the trick.  The sauce had a silky mouthfeel that couldn’t have been acheived by just mixing ingredients together.  The only change I made was to add 2 tsp of sugar.  I like a sweet sauce.

Janeen made some excellent potatoes, cooked with a bruschetta mix and mushrooms.  These were really good.

She also put together a pretty fruit plate.

fruit plate

Here’s our candlelit spread.

brunch spread

We had planned a bike ride after brunch, but since it was storming we stayed in and ate like piggies.

brunch

Afterwards we went to watch bf’s band play at an afternoon benefit show, then retired to his house for a bbq.  I came home in between to clean up, and by the time I got there this was the spread on the coffee table.  Normally we’ll have out a bag or two of chips, but apparently that day we were partying like there were 20 of us even though there were only really 8.

chips

And for further exhibit of “how we roll”, here is the top shelf of the beer fridge.  Yes, there are two fridges and one is just for beer.

beer

For the bbq I made Apricot BBQ Sauce from VCon.  I was skeptical about how good this could be with no vinegar and such a small amount of tomato, but this is really good.  Make it now while apricots are in season!

apricot bbq sauce

I used this sauce to baste FatFree Vegan’s Barbecued Seitan Ribz.  So good.

ribz

I also made squash pickles.  You may recall that I first made them a while back, and wasn’t quite happy with the seasoning.  This time I got it right.  Nobody else seems to like these as much as I do, but I do like them.  So if you like squash and pickles, give them a try.

squash pickles

Squash Pickles

2 yellow squash and 1 zucchini, or 4 yellow squash, sliced
1 c vinegar (1/2 c apple cider, 1/2 c white)
1 c sugar
heaping tsp kosher salt
2 c water or enough to cover squash
medium to large shallot, very thinly sliced
1 tsp pickling spice
1/3 tsp red pepper flakes
1 tsp mustard seed
2 tsp celery seed

Put all ingredients in a non-reactive container and stir. Refrigerate overnight, stirring occasionally.

For crisper pickles, salt the squash slices and let sit in a colander for a half hour. Rinse before adding to other ingredients.

My plate, with some grilled asparagus.

bbq

That’s it for now.  I have friends visiting this weekend and am concentrating on getting well before then.  And maybe going back to work, since that’s how I get paid.

26 Comments »

  1. VeggieGirl said

    Too much deliciousness!! Love it :0)

    Ahh, sorry about the sore throat – feel better soon!!

  2. Hope your throat gets better soon!! No fun being sick….

    That is a great idea to add directions with the dough…. I have some pizza dough in the freezer now!

    Oh and I love your changes to the cinnamon roll recipe!!! And the chocolate drizzle, wow.

  3. Sara said

    Oh! I love using mashed potatoes in my cinnamon rolls (among other baked goodies). I never read it in a recipe before – I just thought I had some random stroke of genius, and then I see you did it too! That’s great!! Everything looks so yummy!

  4. jessy said

    strep throat – eek! hope you’re back to feel’n awesome soon!

    those tortillas looks great, the cinnamon rolls look divine, and the ribs look GLORIOUS! i would have eaten like a little piggy, too! that’s a lot of stellar food and i would have put all of it in my face and come back for seconds AND thirds!

    mmmmmmmmmmm!

  5. Jennifer said

    I’m so sorry to hear that you are sick, being sick is no fun, and as you note, can often be quite boring! So here’s to you getting better soon, that’s a threat Missy! 😉

    I love that you left yourself a note on the pizza, that sounds like something I would do. Otherwise, I would be frantically searching for directions.

    Sounds like you had such a fun weekend, I’m having trouble deciding what’s my favorite. Ok, wait, no I’m not, it’s your taquitos, obviously, and I am seriously missing avocados right now. I only have 5 more days left to go until I’ve completed my full 30 days without avocado. It’s been nice to know I can live without ’em, and I won’t eat them nearly as much as I used to, but man, this looks amazing. Isn’t the sweet potato/black bean combination perfect.

    Kudos to you for making your own tortillas, I’ve always wanted to, but am lazy, to be perfectly honest!

    Wow, a beer refrigerator! Hahaha! I don’t drink as alcohol tends to just make me tired and feel icky (I may have a slight allergy), but I always enjoyed wheat beer, even though I would be asleep half way through the first one!

    If my squash plants go crazy, I will definitely have to try your squash pickles. I was intrigued the first time you posted about them, so I’m happy you got the seasoning down.

    You know Erin, I just ate lunch, then came to your blog (yes, I realize I should be working at work, but hey, your blog is more important!), and I could eat everything here!

    (Sorry my comments are always so long on your posts.)

  6. Wow, can I come for brunch next time?
    Sorry about your throat, but if you stay at home and get very bored, it’ll get better 🙂

  7. aTxVegn said

    Sorry you have strep – yuk! Those cinnamon rolls sound fantastic! Actually, the whole brunch looks great. I haven’t made pickles in a while so I may have to give the squash pickles a try.

  8. Sanja said

    O, those cinnamon rolls look delicious. I really like DEOTSW’s rolls and have to try these too…

    Hope you will feel better soon!

  9. KittyPaws said

    Wow that pizza and those buns look amazing! I hope you feel better real soon.

  10. julieannef said

    A brunch a bbq in one weekend-sounds and looks delicious! 🙂

    Feel better!!

  11. Kelleen said

    That is my favorite pizza crust and topping! And those cinnamon rolls look amazing! Hope you feel better soon !!

  12. Janeen said

    The monkey rolls were divine! I want brunch all over again. Oh wait, we are doing brunch again.

    Can’t wait for Sunday!

  13. Samantha said

    I made the basil tofu ricotta from VWAV the other day too! It was my first taste of it, and I’m hooked. Your pizza looks crazy good! FEEL BETTER!

  14. Romina said

    You must be the most popular lady in town with all that yummy food!!!

  15. Caroline said

    I LOVE squash pickles, although I have never made them myself, just purchased them at the farmers’ market. I’ll give them a try for sure.

  16. Theresa said

    Get better! Those monkey rolls look seriously amazing. Care to share the recipe? And I love SusanV’s seitan ribz, they are so good!

  17. FEEL BETTER (& wow – I am so amazed and dazzled by all that marv food! The pizza slice is perfection & those buns!!!!!!!!)

  18. So much tasty-ass food! Those cinnamon rolls are giving me a sugar coma right now…in a good way….I love the way you criss-crossed the icing! So pretty! And you’re pizza looks divine. I also love to stay home and cook on Fridays. Not so much on Saturdays, but Fridays nights are for cookin’.

  19. Ohmigosh, did you know that your pizza looks like a smiley face? Too cute :o)

    And I love the idea of pickled squash.

  20. Everything looks so delicious, I wouldn’t even know where to start!
    I hope you’re feeling better now, too. 🙂

  21. Amanda said

    lol I was about to comment that it was a smiley face too!!!!

    And I too believe the picked squash looks amazing…

    I promise I’m not trying to copy you CCV.. lol.

    Those photos look great by the way–and it’s good your bf has a beer fridge, or else (by experience) he’d end up just having a fridge full of beer and not much in the ways of food.

  22. Meow said

    Your tortillas look super-thick. You should get a tortilla press. You can get them at any Mexican grocery.

  23. Take care of yourself! (And the cinnamon rolls are beautiful!)

  24. Erin said

    I swear to God–everything you make is the picture of perfection!! I can almost SMELL those pumpkin cinnamon rolls! Come cook for me, please? 😀

    Have a GREAT weekend & get better ASAP!!

    ~Erin

  25. emilie said

    Wow, that’s a serious spread!! Totally impressed.

    I’ve heard that the tortilla presses are great for making them at home. I was thinking about getting one to make chapati. I’ll let you know how it works if I do…

  26. Howdy! This blog post could not be written much better! Reading through this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He continually kept talking about this. I will send this information to him. Pretty sure he’ll have a great read. Many thanks for sharing!|

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

