Farmer’s Market Green-Wa & My First Meme

I left work a bit early again today to get to the farmer’s market, and boy was it worth it.  The produce is gorgeous this time of year.  Eggplant and squashes abounded, but I’ve been eating a lot of those lately so I went for some different stuff.

farmers market

Tomatoes, fresh field peas, lamb’s quarter, a huge bunch of basil, and okra.  The field peas are very similar to a black-eyed pea, just green, and since they were fresh all I had to do was simmer them for an hour.  The veggies were so pretty today that they each got a glamour shot.

lamb's quarter

Lamb’s quarter is an ancient green that apparently grows wild almost everywhere.  The guy at the booth also called it wild spinach, and handed me a leaf to try.  Raw it was pretty bitter, but once cooked it tastes incredibly similar to spinach.

basil

okra

tomatoes

While I was messing with the tomatoes this little inch worm crawled out.  He was trying desperately to get off the tomato and was hard to photograph.  One of the tomatoes had a hole in it, so I wonder if he was in there nibbling.

inch worm

For dinner I made Green-Wa from Yellow Rose Recipes (another winner), with lots of changes.  Using what I had, I went for a more southern flavor.  I subbed the field peas for green peas, white onion for green, lamb’s quarter for spinach, dill for cilantro, and mustard powder, paprika and white pepper for curry powder.  I added nutritional yeast and a squeeze of lemon juice for oomph.  What I ended up with smelled like spanakopita due to the dill, and tasted delicious.  While I was putting this together I roasted the okra and some of the tomatoes with olive oil spray and grill seasoning.  I don’t know what it is, but even in the heat I keep turning on the oven.  Everything I want is roasted or baked!

green-wa

I like how it looks like the plate is floating.  Out of character for me, I finished cooking before the sun went down and went out on the balcony for the picture.  I topped the green-wa with mashed avocado, purely because it was ready to be eaten.

Miss Caroline at The Broccoli Hut tagged me with this little survey.  I actually like filling these out but I’m changing the U’s to you.  Proper English, people, let’s use it.

1) LAST MOVIE YOU SAW IN A THEATRE?  There Will Be Blood.  I really don’t like seeing movies in the theater because it costs too much and there is inevitably some idiot in there talking on their phone or trying to shush their toddler.  I think we saw this on a weekday afternoon, so it was relatively quiet, and Daniel Day Lewis and Johnny Greenwood are amazing.

2) WHAT BOOK ARE YOU READING?  Today I finished Pygmalion by George Bernard Shaw, and tomorrow I’ll start God Bless You, Dr. Kevorkian by Kurt Vonnegut.

3) FAVOURITE BOARD GAME?  In a group, Cranium or Trivial Pursuit.  Just for two, Scrabble or Boggle.

4) FAVOURITE MAGAZINE?  VegNews or Vegetarian Times

5) FAVOURITE SMELLS?  honeysuckle, roasted garlic, certain men’s colognes

6) FAVOURITE SOUNDS?  A well-performed orchestral piece, the sounds of nature in the forest.
7) WORST FEELING IN THE WORLD?  Heartbreak.  Or a broken bone.
8 ) WHAT IS THE FIRST THING YOU THINK OF WHEN YOU WAKE? “I wish I could go back to sleep.”
9) FAVOURITE FAST FOOD PLACE?  Subway or Moe’s are good for quickie meals.

10) FUTURE CHILD’S NAME?  I haven’t given much though to this, I’ll cross that bridge when I get there.  It will definitely be unique, but no crazy spellings or anything.

11) FINISH THIS STATEMENT—IF I HAD A LOT OF MONEY I’D…Buy a house, give to a lot of charities, load up on specialty foods, start a business.

12) DO YOU DRIVE FAST?  I go with the flow, sometimes it’s a little above the limit.  I’m no speed demon though.

13) DO YOU SLEEP WITH A STUFFED ANIMAL?  No, but bf keeps a couple small ones in the corner of the bed.  Shhhhhhhh…
14) STORMS–COOL OR SCARY?  Cool, unless they’re causing destruction or loss.  I love taking a nap during a good thunder storm.
15) WHAT WAS YOUR FIRST CAR?  Light blue 1988 Toyota Tercel, which served me well in high school then served my brother well for a couple more years.

16) FAVOURITE DRINK?  Beer – a good hefeweizen or 90 minute IPA.  Liquor – vishkey.  Wine – Yellowtail Shiraz.  Juice – OJ.  Soda – Cherry Coke Zero.  Mostly I just drink water.

17) FINISH THIS STATEMENT – IF I HAD THE TIME I WOULD…Volunteer for a couple places, cook everything, call friends and family more often.

18 ) DO YOU EAT THE STEMS ON BROCCOLI?  Sometimes, when I’m feeling the need to use everything, and only cooked.
19) IF YOU COULD DYE YOUR HAIR ANY OTHER COLOUR, WHAT WOULD BE YOUR CHOICE?  Auburn.
20) NAME ALL THE DIFFERENT CITIES/TOWNS U HAVE LIVED IN?  Just Ocala FL and Gainesville FL so far.  Hopefully that will soon change.

21) FAVOURITE SPORTS TO WATCH?  UF football or NFL, and I’ve adopted bf’s teams – Oakland A’s and Golden State Warriors.

22) ONE NICE THING ABOUT THE PERSON WHO SENT THIS TO YOU?  Hmmm, I don’t know Caroline very well, but I can tell that she really loves her family.

23) WHATS UNDER YOUR BED?  A bag of stuffed animals.
24) WOULD U LIKE TO BE BORN AS YOURSELF AGAIN??  I like my life, but I think I’d go for a different one, just to see.
25) MORNING PERSON OR NIGHT OWL?  Afternoontime!

26) OVER EASY OR SUNNY SIDE UP?  The tofu scramble, with veggies.

27) FAVOURITE PLACE TO RELAX?  On my bed just before sleepytime, with a logic puzzle and some tea.

28 ) FAVOURITE PIE?  My mom’s apple pie.29) FAVOURITE ICECREAM FLAVOUR? Mint chocolate chip or chocolate chip cookie dough.

30) OF ALL THE PEOPLE YOU HAVE TAGGED, WHO IS THE MOST LIKELY TO RESPOND FIRST?  I think Alice will reply first.  I’ve got a 33% chance, don’t let me down!
In order to not spread the survey too too much, I’m only tagging three people.
Alice (in Veganland)
Mandee – Cupcake Kitteh
the other FL vegan Erin – Vegan & the City

 

13 Comments »

  1. Romina said

    Oh my goodness, I’m going through tomato withdrawl!! Those look way too good right now!

  2. That produce looks beautiful! And so does your “Green-Wa” I have no idea what Green-Wa is but I want to make it, I obviously need to buy YRR!

    And thanks for the tag, I better get to it! xox

  3. Gosh, you’ve posted so many delicious-looking things since I last visited your blog! I’m envious of that beautiful okra.

    And I loved reading your meme. Your idea of relaxing with a logic puzzle sounds ideal– I play sudoku every night before bed, and it puts me right to sleep :o)

  4. Jennifer said

    My goodness. I want your farmer’s market load so bad. All those tomatoes! And the peas, and basil. I want it all, you’re making me want to move to Florida.

    I LOVE the glamour shots! My favorite is that picture of the tomatoes, ooooh, or the okra, I can’t decide. They look great.

    Isn’t it fun when a critter comes with your produce. We have that all the time with our CSA.

    Your picture of the meal looks fantastic. What presentation and a damn good photograph too! Roasted veggies are so good, it’s hard to resist turning on the oven, even in the heat.

    I actually just recently saw There Will Be Blood.

    Aw, I miss Kurt Vonnegut, at least we still have all his books.

  5. Oh, I feel the pressure to answer fast! hehehe. But not today…. too tired!
    Nice product you bought, I wish I could go to the farmer’s market with you!

  6. jessy said

    the produce looks great! and so does your dish! mmmmmmmmmm! the inchworm is so cute! he made me smile!

    honeysuckle is one of my favorite smells, too! when i was growing up we had about 10 honeysuckle “bushes” growing over our fence in the backyard. every year my dad would say “i’m gonna chop them all down! i hate the smell!” and every year my mom would tell him “i’ll never forgive you if you cut them down!” so each year he would try to trim them back as much as he could, but every year they would grow back bigger than the last year!! ahahahaha! i’m glad my mom wouldn’t let him chop them up – they just smell so wonderful!

  7. VeggieGirl said

    GORGEOUS farmer’s market bounty; that Green-Wa dish looks fabulous (I’ve never had green quinoa, haha); and great answers to the meme!

  8. At first, when you said lamb’s quarter, I thought you meant actual lamb…and I cried a little inside. Thought maybe you’d gone back to the dark side…but I breathed a sigh of relief (and dried my tears) when I saw you were referring to a plant…sigh…

  9. The green-wa is beautiful! I’ve never heard of lamb’s quarter either, but until I saw the photo I was sure it wasn’t vegan, ha!

  10. I love the farmer’s market this time of year too 🙂

    Oh and I like your changes to the green-wa! You plated it so beautifully too. I can’t resist roasting veggies either because it is my absolute favorite way to eat them!

    Enjoyed reading the meme!

  11. sarchan said

    I’ve never encoutered lamb’s quarter before. Interesting! I’m jealous of all this farmer’s market action. There isn’t much in the way of that going on around here.

  12. Your green-wah and roasted tomatoes look to die for!

  13. Lauren said

    your veggies looks so gorgeous!
    mm i love fresh farmer’s market vegetables.. 🙂
    the green-wah looks quite delicious as well..and topped with avocado? doesn’t get better than that…

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

