Vegan Cottage Cheez

I’ve been wanting to try a tofu cottage cheese for a while, so for dinner tonight I had some things that will go well in my lunchbox tomorrow.  Cottage cheese seems more like a lunch-y or breakfast-y thing to me.

I made the Creamy Cottage Cheez from the Uncheese Cookbook, subbing plain soy yogurt for the mayonnaise to bring the fat content down.  I also made my Savory Carrot Salad with the last few carrots and some squash and zucchini that were in the fridge.  Throw in some gluten-free crackers, half a pear and a salad with Annie’s Woodstock dressing and you’ve got a nice little TV dinner.

cottage cheez

Verdict:  Like most vegan stand ins, you’re not going to fool anyone into thinking this is real cottage cheese.  The texture is right on, but the flavor is all soy, which is okay with me.  It filled the hole in my heart left by the cheese with the oddest texture.

11 Comments »

  1. Certainly a cute little tv dinner! I can’t say I really miss cottage cheese, but it looks like it was fun to try out!

  2. Lauren said

    Your dinner looks awesome! Cottage cheese seems like something that would be really hard to duplicate anyway..but none the less its always exciting to test to make different foods vegan! 🙂

  3. Carrie said

    Good to know about the cottage cheese…I’ll have to try that recipe out. I was leery of using that much mayo, but the yogurt is a great idea.

  4. Sounds good. I have always been a fan of cottage cheese, but I hate soy cheese…guess I’ll have to do without. May I ask what that is to the left of your “cottage cheese”? It looks tasty…

  5. veganhomemade said

    Ve*ganChick – It’s raw shredded carrot, yellow squash and zucchini, with the dressing from the Savory Carrot Salad recipe in this post – https://veganhomemade.wordpress.com/2008/05/19/birthday-party-foods/

  6. julieannef said

    Cute TV dinner :]

    I was looking through your archives and came across your Fancy Ladies Brunch..this is such an awesome idea! You’ve inspired me to host one in a couple of weeks!!

  7. VeggieGirl said

    looks like authentic cottage cheese to me! :0)

  8. Caroline said

    Ya know, cottage cheese is one of those things that has kept me from trasitioning from lacto-vegetarian to vegan. I might have to give this a try sometime!
    PS I tagged you to fill out a fun survey. Enjoy!

  9. Marni said

    I’m intrigued by the vegan cottage cheese. Think I’ll try to look for that book next time I’m at the book store. The whole meal looks fabulous.

  10. Mmmm….licking my lips! I make tofu cottage cheese a lot by mixing a little soy mayo, crumbled tofu, soy milk, and a pinch of sugar. Then I spread it on toast with Marmite for breakfast. One of my favorite breakfasts, really. It makes me feel very English (probably the Marmite) despite my Southern upbringing.

  11. melanie said

    i need to try some cottage cheese. i bought a german un-cheese cookbook and i think it has a recipe. yours looks good!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

