Clean-Out-The-Fridge Stirfry with Sweet & Sour Peanut Sauce

I don’t want to buy any more food until the farmers market tomorrow, so today I mulled over the assortment of stray veggies in the fridge.  I had an idea for a sauce that I thought could pull together the eggplant, carrot, celery, kale and basil, and it worked out nicely.

First I dragged out the crinkle cutter and got all fancy.

veggies

I served the stirfry over white rice (was out of brown) and topped it with the peanut sauce, basil and toasted peanuts.  Be careful if you try to toast peanuts, people!  They burn quickly.

stirfry

Granted, the flavor combo of this meal was interesting.  I probably wouldn’t make it again unless faced with the same ingredients.  The whole point was to coat everything in the sauce, which was really tasty.

Sweet & Sour Peanut Sauce

1/4 cup peanut butter
3 Tbs peach or apricot jam
2 Tbs rice vinegar
2 tsp soy sauce
1/4 tsp hot sauce
2 Tbs water

Whisk together all ingredients.

Makes 2-3 servings.

 

I almost forgot!  Most of the blogosphere has done the “share 5 things about yourself” taggy thing, so I figure I’ll tell you fine readers a bit about me.  My one passion other than food is music.  I was the highest ranking officer in the high school band (nerd alert!) and I have a bachelor’s degree in music performance.  I’ve sang and played in a few punk and ska bands – trumpet, guitar, bass and even a little drumming.  I took a year of drum lessons in college as my “minor” instrument and that was pretty awesome.  I even performed a four mallet marimba solo in front of the whole percussion studio!

In the past couple years I haven’t done much musically.  I’m the kind of writer that music has to “come to”.  I can’t just sit down and write.  So when it’s not coming, I’m not writing.  It also doesn’t help me musically that I’m in a happy relationship, I’m much more prolific when sad and lonely.  Although that’s a trade I’m willing to take.  I’m technically still in a band, but two members live down in Tampa and have busy adult jobs so we don’t get together very often.

Today while walking home from the bus stop I was reading Diary by Chuck Palahniuk, a part about how artists are inspired and how each piece of work regardless of the subject is a representation of the artist themself.  Being Palahniuk, the inspirations were pain and disease and other weird stuff, but it got me to thinking that I’d like to get creative and put out a representation of myself.  I then decided to try to compose a piece for piano, which is not my standard medium.  I took many years of piano lessons as a child, but am currently a very mediocre player at best.  I stopped reading and just walked for a moment, and a tune popped into my head, so when I got home I sat down, worked out the chords and notated it.  I worked on it a bit more after dinner, and took a picture to commemorate how nice it is to be creative.  I’m not sure what I’ll do with this piece if I finish it, but for now it’s good to have a new project.

piano

9 Comments »

  1. Mandee said

    Looks great! I love that you can whip up something from what you find in your fridge/cupboard!

  2. I admire your musical skills! I’m an avid listener and concert goer, but don’t play and certainly don’t compose. And love the peanut sauce post- I seem to keep trying new versions kind of like new margarita recipes.

  3. Romina said

    That crinkle cutter looks like so much fun!

  4. Wow! I’m a sucker for peanut saucy Asian dishes. Can’t wait to raid my fridge for a no-holds-barred stir-fry attack. Yours looks wonderful.

  5. Mihl said

    I really love peanut sauce.
    I can’t even read notes, what you wrote down there looks very impressive! Have fun with your project.

  6. VeggieGirl said

    I LOVE clean-out-the-fridge meals – your stir-fry looks excellent!

    I too love music, but can’t READ music; yet I’m able to compose songs on the piano, haha :0)

  7. Jennifer said

    I love peanut sauce, especially spicy peanut sauce… But anyways…

    Your musical inclination impresses me, you must be very talented. I understand what you mean though about music just ‘coming to you’, even though I don’t play, it just doesn’t seem like something that can be forced.

    I hope you enjoy your new project, whether its fleeting or turns into a huge project, its nice to have new inspiration every now and again.

  8. How cool that you used to sing in punk and ska bands! And I love me some peanut sauce. Looks yummy!

  9. Liz² said

    congratulations on the inspiration, I love love love that feeling and live for it. and also, crinkle cutter! so cute!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

