A Guest Cook, a Parfait, and Some Recognition

Yesterday morning my friend Janeen e-mailed me, wondering if I had any recipes for black bean and sweet potato burritos, which she was craving.  While I’m sure I have at least one in my library, I was at work with no access.  With a quick search she found this recipe, and we both approved.  I then demanded she feed me and she so graciously obliged.

She and I are both used to cooking solo, and it’s always interesting to be in the kitchen with someone new.  Our cooking styles are pretty different – I’m methodical and a bit OCD, while she’s more “let’s throw this stuff in a pan and it’ll be good” (her food always is).  It’s not really a two person recipe anyway, so apart from chopping the onion, she was at the helm.  I didn’t mind letting her wrestle with the filling and the blender.

As usual, I forgot to take my camera, so here is a cell phone shot of my burritos with chips, avocado, cilantro, and a mango salsa that Janeen whipped up.

burritos

We pureed the filling as much as the blender would allow, but I think next time I would mash most of the ingredients instead.  I would still blend the onions though, neither of us are a chunk-of-onion-in-my-burrito kind of girl.

For breakfast this morning I was going to make another carbtastic smoothie, but last night before bed something inside me yelled “parfait!”, which is funny to me because I’ve had a parfait maybe three times in my life.  Normally I just put some yogurt in a bowl and top it with fruit and cereal.  I guess I’m really starting to focus on making food visually pleasing as well as tasty, and some little part of my subconscious was demanding a parfait.

parfait

The morning light is so nice for taking pictures.  This tall drink of breakfast had vanilla soy yogurt, blueberries, strawberries, flax meal and Vanilla Almond Crunch cereal.  There’s a strawberry fan on the top but you can’t really see it as the side I was planning to photograph was less pretty than this side.

I’m still learning about blogging on these here internets.  Today I got a “ping” telling me I should look at this article, and there I was!  I’ve never looked at EcoMetro.com before, but it looks like a really cool site, and if I have time this afternoon after finishing the last Harry Potter book (I’m so close!) then I’ll definitely peruse their articles.  I’m so flattered, the author included me with the likes of Hezbollah Tofu, Vegan.com, Give Peas a Chance, Notes from the Vegan Feast Kitchen, Happy Herbivore, Ruby Red Vegan, The Post Punk Kitchen, Hot Knives, Vegan Dad, and of course, Oprah.  Very exciting.

13 Comments »

  1. VeggieGirl said

    Haha, I too am rather “methodical” when it comes to cooking :0) Looks like a great dish!!

    WOW, that parfait is gorgeous – so vibrant!

    How exciting that you were mentioned on EcoMetro’s website!!

  2. That parfait is just beautiful, and I agree about the morning light being great for food pics! I hate that I’m always photographing dinner when it’s either almost dark or after dark.

    Congrats on the mention!

  3. Romina said

    That parfait looks… PARFAIT (perfect in french, hehe)!

  4. Janeen said

    You didn’t say the burritos were delicious here, but I know we both enjoyed them!

    Thanks for keeping me company and you’re welcome for vegan dinners anytime.

  5. Carrie said

    oh my gosh…I totally want that parfait, it looks amazing!

  6. Congrats! you’re famous! No wonder… the picture of your parfait is absolutely perfect!

  7. Caroline said

    Hey! Just letting you know I changed the name and URL of my blog! Here’s the new address:
    http://broccolihut.blogspot.com

  8. atxvegn said

    Congratulations on being mentioned in the article! Your parfait is beautiful.

  9. Cecilia said

    I’m the same as you when it comes to cooking :0) and gosh, your parfait looks to-die-for!

  10. How cool that you were mentioned in the article! Congrats.

  11. Mihl said

    Yay for parfait (I know, I couldn’t help it.)
    Congratulations on that article, that’s awesome!

  12. Oh my gosh, Erin, oat bran is the most amazing stuff ever! Just cook up some oat bran with soymilk instead of water, add a little salt, and it is soooo creamy (of course, if you don’t like oatmeal, maybe you wouldn’t like oatbran either… but I think it is better than oatmeal). And I think I need to try a parfait– I’ve never had one!

    So here’s what happens at the end of Harry Potter:

    Just kidding (I wouldn’t ruin the ending for ya! I’m not that mean!)

  13. veganhomemade said

    J – Of course they were delicious! Anything we make would be, goes without saying 🙂

    CCV – I finished the last Harry Potter book within five days. Sadly with no HP left, I’m moving on to other books.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

