Wednesday Farmers Market

I left work a half hour early today to make up for eating lunch at my desk yesterday, so I got to visit the farmers market before catching the bus and still get home at my normal time.  I didn’t have much in mind for dinner ideas, but as the night wore on what probably should have been a simple meal became more complicated.

farmers market

An eggplant, an ear of corn, a red pepper, patty pan squash, the cutest zucchinis, jalapenos and strawberries, all for $7.  Score.

While at work pondering dinner and perusing blogs (this is what they pay me to do), I saw Liz’s corn bread at Food Snobbery is My Hobbery.  Then I saw a corn muffin (can’t remember where)*** with strawberries in it.  Crazy!  I wasn’t planninng on buying any more fruit after my binge yesterday, but when I saw those juicy strawberries I couldn’t help it.  This is my standard corn bread recipe that I haven’t deviated far from in the past, apart from milk and egg subs, but tonight I went all out and healthified it, lowering both the sugar and the fat.  I give you Buttermilk Strawberry Jalapeno Corn Muffins.  I was worried all the extras would make the muffins too chunky, but I kept the pieces small and made sure not to put too much in.  They actually could’ve used more strawberries.  They look darker than normal corn muffins due to the whole wheat flour and molasses, but the taste isn’t heavy or dense at all.

corn muffins

Buttermilk Corn Bread or Muffins

1 1/4 cups cornmeal
1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
2/3 cup sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 Tbs lemon juice
scant cup rice or soy milk
1 Tbs flax meal
3 Tbs warm water
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/4 cup canola oil
1 Tbs molasses
optional additions: 1/2 cup corn kernels, or kernels from one ear of corn
                               2 small or 1 large jalapeno, seeded and finely diced
                               a few strawberries, finely diced, or a handful of blueberries

1. Preheat the oven to 425F. Grease a 9-inch round cake pan or 12 muffin tins.
2. Place lemon juice in a 1 cup measure, then fill with milk. Pour in a medium mixing bowl and set aside.
3. Whisk together the flax and water; set aside.
4. In a large mixing bowl combine the cornmeal, flour, sugar, baking soda and salt.
5. Add the flax mixture, applesauce, canola oil and molasses to the milk mixture and whisk.
6. Add the wet mixture to the dry and stir just until combined. Fold in any optional additions. Pour into the cake pan, or by 1/4 cupfuls into the muffin tins. Bake the bread 20-25 minutes or the muffins 15 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.
7. Let cool in the pan a few minutes, then move to a wire rack to cool.

Yields: 8-10 bread servings or 12 muffins.

I grilled the eggplant simply with olive oil, salt and pepper.  The zucchini and patty pan squash were sauteed with the last of my leeks.  I was originally going to toss the red pepper in there too, but decided to get crazy and make a sauce.  In the blender went the raw red pepper, the last jalapeno, toasted pine nuts and a bit of soy sauce, balsamic vinegar, water, salt and white pepper.  It was pretty good for involving nearly no effort.  And I had parsley in the fridge so I went for the garnish.  I’m starting to think about meals in restaurant mode more automatically.  Whether that’s good or bad, I dunno…

farmers market meal

I definitely had another corn muffin as well.  I think I’m going to try something new for breakfast in the morning, and if it goes well you’ll see my first blog for a weekday breakfast.  I think I’ll set my alarm 15 minutes earlier.

***Edit:  The Strawberry Jalapeno Corn Muffin idea came from this blog, originally from Extraveganza which I don’t have yet.

12 Comments »

  1. The zucchini are SO cute. I’ve had corn bread on the brain recently, and just bought some corn meal with this in mind. Your muffins look great!

  2. Romina said

    Those muffins look like they’re bursting with flavor!!

  3. VeggieGirl said

    A trip to the farmer’s market is always rewarding – looks like you found lots of great produce!

    Oooh, the cornbread muffins look delicious!

    Looking forward to seeing your new breakfast :0)

  4. Liz said

    I LOVE the idea of strawberries and jalapeño in cornbread! Genius!

  5. Farmer’s markets make me smile! And I’ve never heard of strawberries in corn muffins, but it actually sounds great!

  6. Liz² said

    no, restaurant mode is great! It’s like being extra kind to yourself. (and all the food looks delish!)

  7. Jennifer said

    Oh my veggie goodness Erin. Seriously, I’m moving in. I want what your farmer’s market has! I took one look at that gorgeous picture of veggies and was immedietly jealous! I mean, those strawberries, seriously, I mean, ARGH I want to live in Florida!

    I DO THAT TOO! I will leave a half hour early if I need to run an errand or two and still catch my ‘normal’ bus and get home on time.

    Hahaha! I’m not the only one who peruses blogs at work. I wish they paid me to do it, but so long as I get my work done, nobody gets hurt. 😉

    Buttermilk Strawberry Jalapeno Corn Muffins? Vegan fruitaholic pepper freaks rejoice! What a creative idea, and they look amazing. Seriously, you are really creative!

    That meal looks perfect.

    Ooooh, a weekday breakfast, that has my attention, by work week breakfasts are generally fruit and/or granola bars. Boring1

  8. Jennifer said

    I am so jealous of your farmer’s market. I want to move to Florida now! Can you grow avocados there?! I took one look at your farmer’s market booty and immeditely thought ‘Florida sounds like a GREAT place to live.’ 🙂

    I mean those strawberries, seriously, those strawberries.

    I DO THAT TOO! I will leave about a half hour early sometimes so I can run some errands and still catch my ‘normal’ bus and get home at my regular time.

    Those muffins sound perfect. To me, it sounds like a vegan fruitaholic and spice freaks dream. You are so creative, I mean look at these mufffins, they sound amazing. I bet this would go PERFECTLY with a thick Mexican stew or MOLE!

    Your meal looks perfect, so delicious and fresh.

    I hope your weekday breakfast works out, might give me some better ideas, my work week breakfasts consist of tea, fresh fruit and/or granola bars, BORING!

  9. Jennifer said

    Sorry about the double comments – WordPress had appeared to eat my original comment, so I had to try to remember what all I had written so I could repost it, and then THERE WAS THE ORIGINAL, go figure.

  10. veganhomemade said

    Jennifer, I’m leaving them all because they made me smile.

  11. Those strawberries are just beautiful, I would have splurged too!

  12. […] Jalapeno Corn Muffins.  Made from my Buttermilk Cornbread recipe, with added jalapeno, roasted corn from TJ’s (freezer section), and liquid […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

