My First Teese – English Muffin Pizzas

Ever since I ordered a log of Teese a couple weeks ago, I’ve been dreaming of the different ways I can use it.  My first choice is pizza, but for whatever reason I didn’t feel like making an entire pizza.  I was considering the options yesterday, and I remembered that my mom used to make us English muffin pizzas sometimes on Sunday afternoons.  I’ve been wanting to try my hand at homemade English muffins for some time, and a search yielded this recipe from The Urban Vegan.  Her pictures look awesome and the recipe seemed sturdy, so last night when I got home I mixed up the starter and let it sit overnight.  I cooked ’em up this afternoon, and check out the nooks and crannies!

english muffins

The recipe made 16, and it’s infinitely cheaper than store-bought muffins, which normally aren’t vegan anyway.  I put most of them in the freezer and can’t wait to eat them toasted with earth balance and jam.

I made the pizza sauce from VWAV, which is a nice, easy recipe, and shredded up a bit of the Teese.  Probably by now everyone has seen the “does it melt?” before and after pictures all over the internet, but just in case you haven’t witnessed the amazingness, here it is.

english muffin pizzasenglish muffin pizzas

I have also successfully answered the question “Does parchment paper turn black under the broiler?”.

Yeah, so maybe my Teese melted a bit too much.  Or maybe I put too much on.  Either way, I call this a total success and Teese has my endorsement.

I enjoyed my pizzas with broccoli dipped in homemade ranch.  This is such a kiddy meal.  Although as I child I would have never eaten raw broccoli trees.

english muffin pizzas

12 Comments »

  1. VeggieGirl said

    I LOVE making homemade English muffin pizzas – definitely brings me back to my childhood :0)

    Wow, that Teese really DOES melt!

  2. Megbot said

    Hi, thanks for the review… how did it go taste wise? The melty seems cool, just want to make sure it doesn’t taste like melted soy milk 🙂

    thanks!

  3. harmonia said

    everything sounds great! Nice pics, too!

  4. Celine said

    you made me want to try them! I started with the starter a few hours ago, woo.

  5. It looks like the perfect meal, I wish I could get my hands on some Teese…

  6. Jennifer said

    I still have never seen Teese at the store. As far as flavor goes, Follow Your Heart’s Vegan Jack is the best, the other stuff tastes like glue.

    Homemade ranch?!?!?!?!?!?! I want some!

  7. Melisser said

    Oh my, that looks SOOOO good! I used to love E.M. pizzas!

  8. ashley 79 said

    Oh that looks excellent! I have some Teese in my freezer that I have yet to use (I’m waiting for a weekend when I have the time to make a really great pizza), but I love being reassured how great it will be!

  9. veganhomemade said

    Megbot, the taste is good, I think. It’s a little salty on its own, but I don’t notice when it’s with something else. The flavor is really mild, when melted it lends more texture than flavor.

    Celine, I hope yours turned out well too. Mine were a little thinner that ideal and delicate to split open, but still quite good. I think with English muffin rings to climb up on they might be tall like the store-bought ones.

    Jennifer, I think for now the only stores that sell Teese are in Chicago and Portland. I ordered mine from veganessentials.com.

    Alice, I’m not sure if they deliver to your area. I hope for your sake that at some point they can!

  10. jessy said

    these look so yummy! i love it! and i also love teese! glad you’re enjoying it, too! w00t!

  11. Dilip said

    Thanks for sharing information about Teese. I enjoyed sampling Chicago SoyDairy’s frozen treats in the past and so have high expectations that Teese must be a good product. My only gripe is that I wish that products other than just soy were so creatively exploited. My prediction is that hemp (hemp milk is a staple for us!) is the next product that we’ll start seeing fabulous new foods from.

  12. […] trip to Rainbow Grocery, I also snagged a tube of Nacho Teese.  Teese!  You may recall from my past experiments with Teese that I think it’s amazing, so I couldn’t wait to try the […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

