Searching for the Perfect Pancake, Part 2

A couple weeks ago I made my first stab at perfecting pancakes.  Jennifer of Give Peas a Chance recommended the recipe from Candle Cafe Cookbook, and so I went to the library and got it.  Or so I thought.  It was definitely on my list of books to grab, but for whatever reason I don’t have it now.  A lot of times the books at our library that are supposed to be on the shelves either aren’t there or are out of order, so I suppose I didn’t see it and didn’t remember that it was imperative to my pancake progress.  If I was thinking this morning, I would have tried this recipe recommended by Vegan Addict.  In the wake of the incedent of the missing cookbook, I was not thinking, and so I just made up a recipe and hoped for the best.

pancakes

These guys tasted okay and are certainly edible, but again not even close to what I’m looking for.  For starters, my batter was way too thick.  I was worried they’d be thin like last time and I guess I went too far in the other direction.  Also, I used water because I’m out of milk, and I think that affected the texture.  They were too heavy and a bit chewy.  Also, I added cinnamon like so many recipes dictate, and I think I just don’t care for cinnamon in pancakes.

Look how thick!

pancakes

I’m not sure what my next step will be.  I can either get the Candle Cafe Cookbook, try Vegan Addict’s recipe, or try to improve on mine.  In the name of science I may just have to do all three.

4 Comments »

  1. *lol*, that’s more like pan-cookies. Have you tried the VWAV one? It’s the first and only pancake recipe that worked out for me.

  2. VeggieGirl said

    Ahh, sorry that the pancakes didn’t exactly turn out the way you wanted them to :0( Have you seen the recipe on the Bittersweet blog, for pancakes?? That recipe is wonderful!!

  3. veganhomemade said

    Haha Steffi, pan-cookies is funny. That’s about what they were. I tried the VWAV pancakes last time, and while they tasted amazing they were really flat. I’m looking for the fluff.

    VeggieGirl, thanks for the recommendation, I don’t think I’ve seen that recipe. Now I have FOUR options for my next pancake attack.

  4. […] quest has come to an end.  You may recall that I’ve been trying in vain to make what I consider the perfect pancake.  Well, I finally did it.  In a stroke of what might […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

