Wednesday Farmers Market

One of the weekly farmers markets here in Gainesville is held downtown on Wednesday afternoons.  I pretty much always want to go but used to forget 98% of the time, plus parking is hard to come by.  It just so happens that the job I’m working at right now is downtown, located right across the street from the market.  I take the bus to work daily, so today after work I purchased some wares then caught the bus that came 30 minutes later than the one I normally take.  It worked out pretty darned perfectly, so I think this is what I will do most every Wednesday for the next couple months.

I have to say, the farmers market is continually just a little bit disappointing.  There are plenty of booths and plenty to choose from at each one, but it seems like most of the booths have the same selection the other ones do.  It makes sense that each farm located near here would do well growing the same stuff, but I guess I wish someone would offer something different or spectacular.

Anywho, I did get some good stuff.  Red swiss chard, cucumber, red bell pepper, blueberries and patty pan squash.  I’ve never had patty pan squash before, so I guess I can’t really complain about the selection at the market.  Aren’t the patty pans adorable?

farmers market

All for $9, and the blueberries alone were $4.  It’s a lot of blueberries though.  Hooray for the start of blueberry season!  Hopefully soon the u-pick farms will start up.

blueberries

The lady at the squash booth suggested grilling the patty pans when I asked about them, so that is what I did.  I sliced them vertically to keep the shape, and once on the grill pan they reminded me of the underside of a manta ray, how they look like they’re smiling at you.

patty pan squash

manta ray

As the squash were grilling I noticed the distinct scent of cooking pepperoni.  I’m not even kidding.  I did put freshly ground black pepper on them, but not more than I normally would have added.

patty pan squash

I tasted one, and it totally tasted like spicy pepperoni mixed with squash.  I’m so confused.  I’ve consulted the internets and nobody else seems to have experienced this phenomenon.  I haven’t used my grill pan in a long time, so maybe there’s residue from something else, but I wouldn’t think residue could impart such a strong flavor onto squash.  Anybody have a theory?  By the way, check out those grill marks.

I also made wheat orzo with red bell pepper, swiss chard ribbons and lemon butter sauce, and topped it with toasted pine nuts and almond parmesan.  Sounds fancy, huh?

orzo & squash

8 Comments »

  1. Romina said

    I just love going on Farmer’s Market trips!! Your orzo looks beautiful. It just screams spring!

  2. Jennifer said

    You are so lucky that your farmer’s market is already producing such yummy looking produce. Don’t feel bad, I feel the same way about the market sometimes – just because we can all grow tomatoes in Missouri doesn’t mean we have to!

    Those patty pan squash are cute! I’ve never had it, but grilled with those beautiful marks? Amazing, I want some right now.

    You know, whenever I cook Anasazi beans, I can swear it smells like poultry, they even taste a little like poultry – even Brett agreed, but I couldn’t find anyone else who felt this way online, so I just thought I was a bit off. 🙂

    Your orzo and squash meal sounds AMAZING, send the leftovers my way.

  3. Ivy said

    Oooh! That looks delish. How do you like living in FL? I currently live in Brooklyn and I am about 99% sure I am moving to St. Pete next spring. I’m a little worried about cultureshock, coming from a youth-centered all hipster all the time hood, but THE BEACH AND THE SUN!!!!

  4. I love blueberries!
    Everything looks great, I wish our farmer’s market were better…
    And the orzo looks better than any other orzo dish I’ve seen before!

  5. Kelleen said

    I work in downtown Gainesville also and sometimes go to the Farmer’s Market on Wednesdays but have noticed the same thing – same items at each table. It must have to do with the soil and climate in this area. I love blueberries and pattypan squash…will have to pick some up next week.

  6. WOW.

    p.s. i didnt like that line in the meatless article either, it made me all crabby!

  7. I wish I could go to your farmer’s market! Look at all that lovely produce—I’m especially envious of the big blueberries. But the squash looks pretty darn great too…

  8. My farmer’s market is the same way: corn, zucchini, tomatoes, corn. Some more zucchini, more corn… But those blueberries, those are fantastic! I’ve never tried patty pan squash either. I do occasionally find it at the market, but had no idea what to do with it!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

