Carrot Raisin Salad & Laptop Lunches

When I was a little kid my family went to a restaurant called Morrison’s.  It was buffet-style, you picked out what you wanted and the servers plated it for you.  It was good ol’ southern food.  They had a little salad section at the start of the line with tossed salads, cottage cheese, carrot raisin salad and jello.  I always thought that jello was an odd thing to include with the salads, but hey, Morrison’s knew what they were doing.  There wasn’t even any fruit embedded in it!  Anywho, my grandma, who passed away when I was still very young, always got the carrot raisin salad.  I tried it a few times but never liked it much, probably because I didn’t like raisins in stuff.  Still don’t care for it now sometimes.  As I grew older I would get a tossed salad (mostly iceberg) and douse it in bleu cheese dressing.  Mmmmm.

I figured all that went into carrot raisin salad was carrots, raisins, mayo & lemon juice, and my Betty Crocker cookbook confirmed this.  Simple, tangy, and good.

carrot raisin salad

I mean really, what doesn’t taste good doused in mayo?

Carrot Raisin Salad
adapted from Betty Crocker Cookbook

3 large carrots, shredded (about 2 1/2 cups)
1/2 cup vegan mayo (I use Vegennaise)
1/2 cup raisins
1 tsp lemon juice

Mix ingredients together.  Serve immediately or refrigerate.

Here are more laptop lunches!  I went longer in between posting them than I meant to…

3-5

orzo w/ marinara, broccoli stems & toasted pine nuts, sauteed broccoli w/ garlic, sliced apple, apple fritter, grapes

3-7

bbq tempeh pizza, garlic snail, broccoli florets, roasted garlic dressing, marinara

3-10

brunch leftovers

3-12

calzone, chocolate tofu pie, grapes

3-13

pb&j, roasted asparagus, “cheddar” crackers, chocolate tofu pie

3-14

cream of asparagus & white bean soup, chickpea cutlet fingers w/ ketchup, pickled mushrooms, mashed potatoes, grapes

3-17

grilled potatoes, grilled mushrooms, corn & smoked tofu, cabbage, apple pie

3-19

mediterranean four bean salad, pita, spinach, avocado, chocolate

3-20

jerk tempeh, jamaican brown rice & peas, steamed kale, baby carrots, lime, dried pineapple, prunes

3-26

samosa tempeh burger on flatbread, mashed cauliflower, dried mango, prunes, chutney & raita

3-27

salad & dressing, sunflower kernels, everything crackers, samosa tempeh patty w/ raita & chutney, strawberries

3-31

applesauce, sliced tofurkey italian sausage, baked beans, cucumber tomato salad, veggies w/ goddess dressing, dried apricots

4-1

lentil bulgur salad w/ lemon, salad, raita, gherkins, edamame, strawberries

4-2

lentil bulgur salad w/ greens & lemon, baked beans w/ sliced tofurkey italian sausage, sushi, cucumber tomato salad, strawberries

4-3

stuffed shells, steamed broccoli w/ esme’s sauce, bran muffin, mini cucumber, strawberries

4-4

multigrain bread, green pepper & mini cucumber, roasted beets, hummus, applesauce

4-9

split pea soup, carrot sticks w/ hummus, dried apricots, squash pickles, tangerine

4-10

and for tomorrow – twice baked potato, squash pickles, carrot salad, corn & rice cereal, half a tangerine left from today

3 Comments »

  1. Jennifer said

    I love those laptop lunches! How creative! You eat such a wide variety of things for lunch, I’d love to steal some of your idea, mine get so boring!

  2. nicole said

    Laptop lunches are so fun! And your meals sound so yummy and diverse.

  3. Stella said

    I have that same experience with Morrison’s except it was my father who loved it and I couldn’t understand why. Now that I am older I have been craving it but could not find it anywhere and did not want to trust every carrot raisin salad recipe I read. Thanks.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

