Twice Baked Potatoes & an Experiment

I asked my coworker Lauren today what I could eat on the cheap this week, since I’m kinda low on monies.  She said “potatoes”, and she was right.  I don’t often think to eat potatoes, I think it’s semi-ingrained in me that they’re a “bad” food, but word on the streets is that they can be pretty good for you.

twice baked potatoes

I baked the potatoes, let cool, cut in half and scooped out the flesh, leaving a shell intact.  I mashed the inards with some of my favorite cheesy sauce, steamed kale, kosher salt and pepper.  Stuffed it back in the shells, sprinkled with paprika and baked for another 15 minutes.  Dericious.

I was standing in the produce section this afternoon at the grocery store, searching for inspiration.  Normally I just go for a bunch of produce and figure I’ll eat it, but when I’m broke I just can’t get inspired to buy.  Then all of the sudden I saw the squash and zucchini, thought that I hadn’t eaten squashes in a while, and decided to make squash pickles.  Erin, you might ask, have you made squash pickles before?  No, I haven’t, and that is why this is an experiment.  I’ve made pickled cucumbers before, and cucumbers are kind of like squash…sort of.  So I put it together tonight and put it in the fridge and tomorrow we’ll see what happens.

pickled squash

eta:  Here’s my favorite cheesy sauce recipe.  I’m sure it’s from a cookbook somewhere, but I have no idea which one, as a friend typed it up for me when I first went vegan.  It’s been a fave ever since.

Cheesy Sauce

1 1/2 cups plain soymilk
1/3 cup tamari/soy sauce/bragg’s
1 1/2 cups nutritional yeast
1 Tbs paprika
1 Tbs garlic powder
2 tsp salt
1/2 block tofu (not silken)
1/3 cup vegetable oil
2 Tbs vegan margarine (I use Earth Balance)
2 Tbs yellow mustard

Place all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth.  This is good stirred right into cooked pasta for a Velveeta-y mac.  Or baked in a casserole.  Or with drained salsa for a queso dip.  Or any other way, really.

4 Comments »

  1. Chelsea said

    those baked potatoes look absolutely delicious. i used to love buying those pre-packaged twice baked potatoes with cheese and all that..i don’t know why i haven’t thought about making them vegan.
    what’s the favorite cheesy sauce that you mentioned?

  2. Jennifer said

    Those potatoes look fantastic! Yum!

    I hope your pickled veggies turn out well. I’d like to pickle some peppers (hehe) this summer. 🙂

  3. Ricki said

    Hi Erin,
    Thanks so much for linking to my blog! It is much appreciated. And glad I found your own charming blog here. Welcome to the world of food blogging (it can be rather addicitive)!

    Your stuffed potatoes look delicious. I had a look around your blog and see lots of recipes I’d like to make, so I will definitely visit again.

  4. veganhomemade said

    Chelsea, I added the cheese sauce recipe to the post. And I bet if you whizzed the potatoes and sauce in a blender it’d be nice and whipped like the store-bought kind.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

