BBQ Tempeh Two Ways

BF wanted to have a barbecue last weekend.  And I decided I wanted to try my hand at bbq sauce, because really, why not?  Most storebought sauces have hfcs or honey or something else I don’t want in them.  So I poked around some recipes online gathering ideas, and a coworker gave me his recipe with a secret ingredient.  He swore me to secrecy.  But I’m pretty sure he’s never ever going to find this blog.  He’s too busy selling illegally burned DVD’s and tending his 30 pit bulls.

I figured since I was doing the homemade thing, I’d start with homemade ketchup as a base.

It’s no storebought ketchup, but it does just fine when it’s with other food.  Who wants ketchup on its own anyway?

Sauce in the pot, simmering.

Then I marinated tempeh strips in it for a half hour.

I grilled the tempeh for probably 6 or 7 minutes on each side, being careful not to burn.  Seen here with peppers & onions.

And on a hoagie roll with extra sauce.  Corn making a guest appearance.

A couple days later I revamped the leftovers as a pizza.  The crust was premade from Publix.  Toppings were bbq sauce, tempeh chunks, red onion, red pepper, corn, pickled jalapenos, YRR nacho sauce and cilantro.  Quickie garlic snails in the back.

In retrospect I would have marinated the tempeh for the pizza so there were no bare tempeh spots.  It didn’t make that much of a difference though.

In between I had a notable taco salad.  Leaf lettuce, YRR refried black beans, guac, salsa, YRR nacho sauce, cilantro and baked tortilla chips.  For the chips I cut up a multigrain tortilla, sprayed with olive oil and sprinkled with sea salt, baked at 400 for about 15 minutes.  So good, and they didn’t make me feel disgusting like chips out of a bag tend to do.

 

Homemade Ketchup

12 oz can tomato paste
2 Tbs white vinegar
2 Tbs agave nectar
pinch ground cloves
pinch allspice
pinch onion powder
1/4 tsp dry mustard
1/4 tsp kosher salt

Whisk all ingredients together.  Add 1/4-1/2 cup water for desired consistency.

Yields 1 1/2 cups.

 

Sweet & Spicy BBQ Sauce

2 cups ketchup
1/4 cup cider vinegar
1/2 cup agave nectar
1 Tbs molasses
1/3 cup organic grape jelly
1/2 Tbs each onion powder, garlic powder, dry mustard, black pepper & paprika
1 Tbs lemon juice
1/2 Tbs vegetarian worcestershire sauce
3 Tbs hot sauce

Whisk all ingredients together in a medium saucepot.  It’s okay if there are jelly lumps, they will melt.

Simmer over low heat for 30-45 minutes, stirring often.

Yields about 3 cups.

*Note:  Heed my warning to stir often.  Otherwise, bbq volcanos will erupt and get all over your stove and floor.  Oh, and this is approved by non-vegans.  I hear it went well with their brisket.

1 Comment »

  1. Steffi said

    yay! welcome to the world of food blogging. I look forward to your postings!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

