Well hello there.

I’ve wanted to start a food blog for a while now. I didn’t think I was cool enough. Or interesting enough. But it seems like everyone has one nowadays, so I said “Hey! I guess I’ll start one.” and here it is. It’s going to be a food blog. Vegan food. Mostly that I make. If you couldn’t gather that from the title. And I won’t always write in sentence fragments.

I’ve come to find that I really enjoy cooking, as well as eating. I like to keep my food as healthy as possible yet always delicious and interesting. If food isn’t delicious then what’s the point of eating it? I believe in balance – go ahead and eat the decadent stuff on occasion, as long as the largest portion of your diet is the healthy stuff. I also believe in variety, although you wouldn’t know from the amount of wheat and soy I eat. I’ve also come to find lately that I enjoy cooking as much from scratch as possible. Sure, I have some packaged meals in the freezer for emergencies, but homemade usually wins. I like to try to make stuff that people normally buy pre-made without thinking twice, like bbqsauce or pizza crust. Not always though. There are only 24 hours in my day too. So don’t hold me to it.

I’m also thinking that I’d like to “develop” some recipes of my own. I’m a compulsive recipe hoarder with a large collection of cookbooks and recipes pulled from the interweb/magazines/god knows where, but I’d like to come up with some original ideas that haven’t been done my way yet. Internet vegan blog revolutions. Or if I could at least impress like three people, that would be cool too.

I shoot on a cheap-o digi cam. I have a gorgeous 35mm SLR but I couldn’t justify the developing fees for this purpose. I try not to use flash when feasible, but that doesn’t happen often. Someday Sandy Claws will bring me a super nice digicam and I will actually be able to “focus” and have “depth of field”. For now we make do.

So here it is. Check it out. Let me know what you think.

I’ll start by posting some of the best stuff I’ve made so far.

Seitan-roni Pizza
Seitan-roni Pizza
Chicken-Fried Seitan Steak
Chicken-Fried Seitan Steak, Goddess Potatoes, Steamed Broccoli & Chickpea Gravy
Black Forest Cupcakes
Black Forest Cupcakes
Sweet & Sour
Sweet & Sour “Duck”, Veggies & Brown Rice
(The duck-from-a-can was gross.)
Grilled Cheez & Alphabet Soup
Grilled Cheez & Alphabet Soup
Blackened Tofu Caesar Salad
Blackened Tofu Caesar Salad
Christmas Party
Christmas Party Spread:  Sausage Balls, Spinach Artichoke Dip, Assorted Cookies, etc.
Split Pea Soup
Split Pea Soup & Salad with Bleu Scheese
Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls
Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls
Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner:  Tofurkey (compliments of mom), Green Beans
with Caramelized Onions, Stuffed Shells, Fruit Salad
Chickpea Cutlet
Chickpea Cutlet, Mashed Sweet Potatoes, Sauteed Cabbage & Mushrooms
Roasted Okra
Roasted Okra
Braised Tofu
Braised Tofu, Broccoli Polenta, Steamed Kale
Bologna & Cheez
Seitan Bologna & Uncheese on Whole Wheat (all homemade)
Cookie Cake
Superbowl Cookie Cake
Red Beans & Orzo
Cajun-Style Red Beans & Orzo with Roasted Brussels Sprouts
Eggless Salad Sandwich
Eggless Salad Sandwich
“Tuna” Noodle Casserole
Seitan Wingz
Seitan Wingz, Onion Rings, Chopped Salad & Homemade Ranch
Baseball Cake
Baseball Cake for bf’s birthday last year
3 Comments »

  1. BJ said

    Great pics! When you made the “sausages”, did you brown them after steaming them?

  2. veganhomemade said

    I did not brown them. They’d probably be really good that way, but they were fine just plain steamed.

  3. Tofufreak said

    wow, that duck from a can looks so real it’s freaky! thats asian faux foods for ya, though. ^.^ nice pumpkin rolls and baseball cake, btw

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

