VeganMoFo: OBR Week – (never home)maker

(never home)maker is a blog by Ashley and Stephen, an adorable couple who are currently expecting a baby.  In addition to food and recipes, they post about running, decorating and general life stuff.  They eat vegetarian/pescetarian, but a lot of the recipes they post are vegan.

In looking over their recipes, one in particular stood out – The Vegetarian Juicy Lucy.  It’s a cheese-stuffed tofu burger with sweet potato fries in the sandwich.  It’s a gut bomb, and it’s awesome.

The recipe is vegan except for the cheese, so I subbed in some pepperjack Daiya that I had in the fridge.  You’re supposed to form the mixture into two stuffed burgers but I thought they would be way too huge, so I made three and they were still gigantic!  I baked the sweet potato fries and served my burger with roasted green beans.

The big question is, did the cheese melt?

Why yes, yes it did!  My only complaint about the burgers is that they didn’t seem cooked through in the middle even after browning the outsides well.  Next time I would brown them then bake them in the oven, or vice versa, to make sure the insides are cooked.

I happened to have some chickpeas in the fridge waiting to be used up, so I also tried Ashley’s Hu-Mousse, a dessert hummus.  I didn’t have any real coconut milk, so I used So Delicious Coconut Drink instead.  I really liked this, but I think it would have been better with the extra fat from the coconut milk.  It was only a little sweet, so I would suggest eating it with a sweet dipper, like the banana slices I had, or maybe graham crackers.  I could definitely taste the chickpeas, but they didn’t take away from the dessert-ish nature.

10 Comments »

  1. celyn said

    This looks really good! I like your OBR week.

  2. jessy said

    i’ve never heard of their blog before – totally gonna check it out. i’m fo ‘sho gonna try out those cheeze stuffed tofu burgers and i’ll take your suggestion on baking them to ensure doneness. thanks, Erin! i’ve never thought about dessert hummus before….hrm…..such a tasty idea – i love it!

  3. veganlinda said

    That looks pretty awesome. I have some daiya, I might have to make this soon.

  4. Dawn said

    I started drooling a little at the sight of that burger! And I haven’t seen the hu-mousse. Thanks for the link. Your photos are lovely.

  5. chow vegan said

    The juicy lucy looks awesome! Love the melted cheese in the middle! :-)

  6. Mandee said

    That burger looks amazing! The pattie really is huge, I bet that was quite a filling meal.

    And I don’t know if I could force myself to try sweet hummus but I might… one day ;)

  7. allysiak said

    Oooh, I love the idea of a daiya-stuffed burger! And I think my biggest issue with most veggie burgers I attempt to make is that they tend to be be mushy in the middle. So I probably just need to get Joni’s veggie burger book and learn skillz from the master.

  8. FoodFeud said

    Nice looking burger! Sweet potato and avocado are so good together. I like the site, too. I stumble upon their page every once in a while but don’t pay it enough attention.

  9. […] – four slices pizza with mushrooms, green pepper and extra sauce, sliced banana with dessert Hu-Mousse, 10 oz red […]

  10. Jojo said

    That burger looks so awesome, I made a seitan burger stuffed with cheese from The Best Veggie Burgers on the Planet today. Such a great idea!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 252 other followers

