All-In-One Scramble

My breakfasts are pretty typical, whatever I’m in the mood for and can throw together in a few minutes – cereal, overnight oats, smoothies, grits or frozen waffles if I’m feeling indulgent.  Every once in a while I get the itch to make a hearty breakfast dish that I can easily reheat throughout the week, and I usually turn to tofu scramble.  Scrambles are good in a wrap or served alongside an English muffin, but this time I wanted to put everything into one pan for an even easier breakfast.  This skillet dish has plenty of protein, a little fat, veggies and carby satisfaction from some potato.

(I can’t take credit for the idea of combining tofu and tempeh.  I was inspired after reading Vegan Crunk’s review of Blissful Bites, which included a Curry Chickenless Salad made of both tofu and tempeh.)

All-In-One Scramble

If you don’t have kala namak, regular salt is fine.  Kala namak provides an eggy flavor.

8 oz tempeh, torn or cut into bite-sized pieces
1/2 lb mushrooms, sliced
1 Tbs coconut oil
medium onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1/2 tsp dried parsley
medium russet potato, shredded and patted dry
bunch kale, rinsed but not dried, stemmed and torn into small pieces
large carrot, shredded
14 oz firm tofu, patted dry and torn or cut into bite-sized pieces
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
1/2 tsp turmeric
1/4 cup unsweetened non-dairy milk
1 1/2 tsp yellow mustard
3/4 tsp kala namak (black salt)
a few dashes black pepper
2 1/2 oz shredded vegan cheddar, such as Vegan Gourmet (optional)

1. Steam the tempeh and mushrooms for 15 minutes.
2. Meanwhile, heat a wide pan over medium heat.  Add the oil and onions and saute for five minutes, until translucent and slightly browned.
3. Add the garlic, thyme and parsley and saute 30 seconds.
4. Add the potatoes, mix well and cook for 3 minutes.  Stir, scraping up the bottom, then cook for 3 more minutes.
5. Turn the heat up to medium-high.  Add the kale and carrots and stir.  If the kale was fairly dry, add a splash of water.  Cover and cook 5 minutes.
6. Add the tofu and mix, scraping up the bottom of the pan.  Cook for a few minutes, until the tofu is heated through.  Turn the heat down to medium.
7. Mix together all remaining ingredients other than the cheese (nutritional yeast through black pepper).  Add this mixture and the cheese to the pan and mix well. Heat until the cheese is melty.  Taste for seasoning and serve hot.

Servings: 4-5

Nutrition Facts for 5 servings

Calories 348.78
Calories From Fat (40%) 138.78
Total Fat 16.27g 25%
Saturated Fat 4.44g 22%
Cholesterol 0mg 0%
Sodium 175.15mg 7%
Potassium 968.55mg 28%
Total Carbohydrates 32.08g 11%
Fiber 7.27g 29%
Sugar 3.06g
Protein 25.75g 52%

9 Comments »

  1. [...] I wanted a tasty and filling reheatable breakfast to eat this week, so I came up with this All-In-One Scramble.  Recipe at my other blog Vegan Homemade. [...]

  2. What a fun idea! I need to jazz up my tofu scrambles with some tempeh next time.

  3. Dawn said

    I agree with Bianca. I don’t know why I haven’t tried it yet, but it seems simple and tasty enough! This recipe looks great.

    And you’re reminding me to track down some black salt! Thanks for that. :]

  4. chow vegan said

    Love the addition of tempeh to tofu scramble and making a batch to last all week. I usually just make enough for one breakfast and then I have to make it again later in the week to use up the rest of the ingredients. :-)

  5. Kelly said

    Never heard of that kind of salt- you learn something new everyday!

  6. What is kala namak? Is it something you’d find at an Indian store? I’d love to get my hands on it. My spice cupboard is bursting and one day they’ll call me the crazy spice lady, but ahh, always room for another.

    • Yeah, I think you could find it at an Indian grocery. I ordered mine online to make sure it was the right kind, not all black salts are kala namak.

  7. Mihl said

    I don’t cook for breakfast. Almost nobody does it here in Germany. BUT you totally had me at tofu, tempeh, and potatoes! So I will have to chnage my mind and my habits.

  8. boychucker said

    I love scrambles! I will have to try this soon.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 251 other followers

