Salads of the Millennium

Wowzers, it’s been a long time!  Turns out blogging is one of those things for me that, the longer I go without doing it, the harder it is to jump back in.  So, here we go!

First, here is a CSA delivery I received in early December.

lettuce, spinach, arugula, bok choy, leeks & romanesco

carrots, apples, butternut squash, oranges, pears & a red onion

I’ve had The MIllennium Cookbook for years, but never cooked out of it because I was under the impression that all of the recipes would be too time consuming.  I’ve seen other bloggers do it though, especially Cooking The Vegan Books, so I gave it a shot.  The greens in my CSA delivery were so salad worthy, and I figured that salads were a good place to start.

This beauty is Bitter Greens, Figs, Butternut Squash, and Beets with Curried Almond Dressing, a great example of a composed salad.  It wasn’t my favorite flavor-wise, but it was certainly fun to put together.  Look at those figs!  I never would’ve thought to present figs like that on my own.  The squash was a little undercooked for my taste, so next time I would roast it at a higher temperature instead of baking at 350 like the recipe calls for.  I looooved the dressing, and it’s low fat/low cal to boot, but when used on the bitter greens it was kind of like bitter on bitter.  I think the dressing would be nicer on mild greens like spinach or butter lettuce, with some sweet components to round out the flavor.  I had some of the leftovers with dried cranberries instead of the figs, which was also a nice option for when figs aren’t in season.

I had these cute little roasted romanescos on the side.

The second salad I tried was the incredible Millennium Warm Spinach Salad.  The combination of red onion, mushrooms, smoked tofu and spinach in the warm balsamic vinaigrette was mouth-watering.  The recipe says it serves six, but I could have eaten the entire pan of it!  It took some extreme self-control to make it last for four meals.  Next time I would double the amount of spinach to extend the recipe a little, and sop of some of the extra dressing in the pan, which turned out to be really good on a baked potato.  This salad is guest worthy, for sure.  Note to self:  Make this for guests!

4 Comments »

  1. chow vegan said

    I have the Millennium cookbooks too and they don’t get as much use as other cookbooks. I really should break them out more often, the salads look great especially the spinach one. Glad to see you’re back to blogging. :-)

  2. Amandah said

    Holy amazing food. I want I want!

  3. jessy said

    those have to be the cutest little romanescos ever, Erin! i’ve seen them at my farmer’s market before, but never thought to pick one up. when it opens again in april i’ll have to snag one when they’re in season. you got the hook up on all the tasty eats from your CSA. that rocks the hardest! i do eventually want to get The MIllennium Cookbook, as i’ve heard so many delicious things about it. i’m sorry the Figgy Bitter Greens salad was a bit disappointing, but it sounds like you could make some of the changes you thought of and bring it to a new level of yum. the Warm Spinach looks colorful and absolutely awesome – and it sounds amazing! doublew00t for the dressing being so tasty on your baked potato as well. score!

    i also wanted to thank you for your kind words about Jasmine. she was such a sweet girl and we all loved her so much. i am grateful she was in our lives for so long and happy she left behind so many wonderful memories.

    looking forward to more of your delicious drool-worthy posts, my friend! wahooooo!

  4. Ma said

    Wowzers, glad you’re back!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 241 other followers

